Find companies:
McLane
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

McLane Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishonest company to work for
selector (Former Employee), Fredericksburg VirginiaOctober 13, 2014
Pros: work with dishonest people
Cons: the job
You think your getting into a great company but realize in the 1st couple of days that you were lied to or should I say weren't given the truth about requirements. After going through a hair strand drug test, beating what they call a strength test (I refer to it as the death chair) and criminal backround you start your job. They start you with a orientation – more... and then come back that night to begin your job. Thats when the bsll drops! You find out you have a quota to make. Nowhere in the posted job description, interviews or orientation is this mentioned. Now it wouldn't be bad except you are working with people that are dishonest and steal the big tickets making it impossible to make your quota. The best part you have 90 days to make it or your fired. All this I formation would have been nice to have when making my decision to leave my job to come work for mclane. I asked the warehouse manager why they don't tell you about the quota and his response was they were trying to figure out how to include it in the interview. They tell you to come to them with any concerns or problems but I highly suggest not doing that. You will end up with a target on your back. Even the trainer the give you steals tickets and they certainly have there favorites. I said something about the ticket stealing and they terminated me before my 90 days. They don't care what goes on as long as the quota is made. They will defend the Thieves to get their numbers. I would never hsve left my job to go there if I knew there was a quota. Also you never get 40 hours a week. The working conditions are like being in s chicken house. And your treated as if your on s chain gang. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Drivers ORLANDO, FL
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 1, 2014
Pros: time off (however you don't get paid for it)
Cons: job and pay is not what employer represents during the hiring process.
Will promise you the world when you are in the hiring process. Don't believe what they (HR Mgr and Transportation Mgr) tell you regarding pay structure and hours you will work.......COMPLETELY untrue. GET YOUR JOB OFFER IN WRITING or else you will regret your choice to work here. I left once I discovered there were people there for longer than I have – more... that are still not making the money they were originally promised and not working the hours they should be. Disappointed. No ethics. Horrible, expensive benefits. HIGH deductibles to meet and EXPENSIVE payroll deductions. I got them and couldn't afford them based on what little pay I was making so I found a new job quick. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment and everyone is a number
Diesel Technician 3 (Current Employee), Jessup, PASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: company picnics, saftey lunches and prize give-aways, clean shop
Cons: sabotaged equipment by other techs, work all holidays at normal rate, supervisors had favorites, raises were the same % no matter if you greased a truck or rebuilt a engine, lots of tension and jealousy
Had equipment sabotaged by other techs, locker broken into and nothing done about either. 2 holidays a year, no training, saw 7 techs leave in 3 yrs., and 2 parts people. supervisors had favorites. no performance raises everyone in shop got same percentage raise.
Shop was clean, work was ok.
more cons then pros
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and enjoyable
Forklift Operator/Order Puller (Former Employee), Northfield, MNSeptember 9, 2014
This place you can make good money and move up quickly. Just don't ticked off the management, once you get on their bad side, it's all over from there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great over all company
Qc/Loader (Former Employee), Athens GaAugust 25, 2014
Work days could be long. The thing I didn't like is you really didn't know what time your getting off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Selector 2 (Former Employee), Battleboro, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: saftey luncheons, good door prizes
Cons: people above you are unprofessional, unorganized, disrespectful
This is one of the worst companies I've worked for! You don't have a set time to get off. If you have to be there all day to finish your work then you will. You are not guaranteed 40 hours every week, so sometimes you will have a short check. Supervisor and DC Manager think they are god. They feel like they cant talk to you any kind of way. They make – more... up rules as they go along. The pay is ok but you have to work like a slave for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Selector (Former Employee), Battleboro, NCJuly 10, 2014
great place for development. a vareity of differents jobs to choose from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy environment
worker (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 11, 2014
Pros: okay pay
Cons: poor management decisions
Honestly it is ridiculous there and management plays their favorites based on how willing you are to suck up to them. They take advantage and they treated great hard working employees below the belt . Firing people or claiming they quit when they didn't. John Williams should NOT be in management or a super visor position at all. He is sneaky, faulty – more... and will only use you to get higher up in life. He has no loyal to anyone, even if they had been closer then family since child hood years. It makes me sick to see someone like him getting benefits while others who really deserved that position are suffering from a situation that was taken completely out of context. Management and cooperate needs to get it together and pay closer attention to their workers character and skills and stop acting like this is high school listening to drama. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disbacthers have there favorites!
driver (Former Employee), DanvilleApril 7, 2014
Pros: good pay but you earned it
Cons: long hours and hard work
On extra board when you start out and senior drivers pick and choose what loads they want and leave the low paying loads for the new guys. Constantly switching people you run with while on extra board. I was lucky enough to end up getting a route when I started after a few months. But after the six months was up time to rebid and ended up on extra board. – more... Main disbacther had his favorites and would give guys below you better runs then offered to you. Benefits and pay was good. But when in sleeper berth on the elog you still had to help co driver unload at stops. I would not recommend this place to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Merced, CAMarch 31, 2014
liked working days home in evening with family and weekend off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Selector (Former Employee), battleboro, ncMarch 6, 2014
Love working for the company yet management has an overall control problem and like to fire and hire people when ever they please.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Ciggerette stamper (Former Employee), Republic, MOFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: favoritism, long hours, hr is useless!
Long hours no family time works you to death at times 17-21 hour days worked 7 days a week w/no choice. Got fired due to inclined weather they don't care - if it was a tornado outside you don't show your fired! Bullied by other workers and HR didn't do a thing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company could be soo much better with very little work
maint tech 3 (Former Employee), vaFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: they have decent events /appreciation and decent benefits and pay scales are alright for area
Cons: they will treat you like a leper if you arent part of the "click" and force you out.
as former employee of this company I may seem jaded . the work is very physical and management has absolutely no clue as to how any of the work is done as all the low lvl managers are just out of college and come and go very frequently and it seems there only purpose is to be a buffer of blame for the upper lvl managers when something doesn't go right – more... . The company has an innate desire to micro manage everything the employees are doing and seem to only want to nitpick about what they think will improve production and donot want to listen to more experienced individuals who have been around and have already tried those same attempts .
the departments show extreme favoritism to the point where they will lie about what actually happened to cover for a favorite in there department but if you have no such status you will be written up for sneezing in the wrong place and when you bring up these inequalities in discussion upper management treats you like you are a troublemaker and its your fault that other teammates will not work with you .
the review process is a joke at the end of the year when someone who couldn't possibly do your job tells you with a straight face that you don't know enough about what you are doing and dings you for it and when you ask for examples of such things they cannot do so . nor do they appreciate when you go out of your way to get something done that your teammates have not been able to do for days they don't even say thank you for getting that done . \

But there are a lot of good people there that go to work every day and bust there butts to get the work done and I feel that the company doesn't really appreciate there hard work when they get walked over regularly by other teammates that do half the work and get away with it because there managers cover for them . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great oppurtunity for young drivers
Driver (Current Employee), Temple, TXFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: 7-11's will feed u most of the time
Cons: long hrs.
it's not a bad company. i live an hour away and its hard to make it to meetings sometimes. Its hard work and long hours and if your knees can hold up there is good money to be made...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work, no time for yourself, management has own agenda
Warehouse Specialist (Current Employee), Hebron, KYJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: no life out of work, long hours, poorly managed, very very physical
very physical work, usually long hours
is a secure job, unless you can't meet requirements
good pay but not for the hours and the life you no longer have
management is not what it should be they do whatever just to please bosses above them and not to make it an easier day on yourself or other team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced place to work
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAJanuary 26, 2014
Very fun and fast paced place to work . Excellent teamwork and pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared to work extensive holiday hours, have alot of overtime, and be near perfect with attendance no excuses.
Selector (Former Employee), Jessup, PADecember 11, 2013
Long hours, can never find management, no sympathy for things that are out of your control, (i.e. flat tire, car troubles, child illness, car accident), people are great to work with, pay is great, hours arent worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked McLane
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee), Syracuse,NYDecember 9, 2013
I enjoyed my job at McLane. I worked from home, had a company car & Phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was not a good fit for me.
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Jessup, PADecember 6, 2013
I would rather not say anything negative about a company I have worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is fun work place
driver (Former Employee), kissimmee floridaNovember 6, 2013
Pros: no lunch
Cons: no break
this is a good company but the only problems is the dispatcher carlos he don't know how talk to people he think he is a boss is only a dispatcher he don't know how to talk to the driver is think he know everything he need to jump in the truck with 20 stop and do something is hart after 20 hours working you have to drive back to Orlando you tired is – more... no safety job is you licenses clean is no good place to you go and scree you license – less

1 2 3

About McLane

You might say this company makes it convenient for stores and restaurants to get food. McLane Company is one of the largest wholesale – Read more