McLaren Greater Lansing Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Dir of environmental services (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 14, 2016
It was a great opportunity to work with McLaren. The people throughout the organization were very supportive and engaged.
Also, I believe the organization is moving in an upward/forward direction.

The person I reported to was excellent!

I would return to McLaren in a minute!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payroll Clerk / Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 21, 2016
I worked here several years ago. I cannot say anything negative about them. I began in switchboard and transferred to HR. Everyone was competent and pretty much "lifers" at the time. I worked on payroll/Data Entry. I've worked in Admitting too.
Pros
Room to advance.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 6, 2016
Good environment to work in. Great Hours, co workers are easy going, learning my surrounding's, learning in to clean in detail, enjoyed the pay per hour and hours
Pros
insurance, Pay rate, Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIOctober 3, 2016
Loved the work I was doing, but being understaffed takes away from the quality of work and care performed. After a while staff morale was low and team work became more difficult for some.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, great teamwork
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIAugust 12, 2016
McLaren is a wonderful place to work and allows me to see many diverse needs of patient care. In a typical day I am exposed to several types of injury, pathology and patient personalities. Our team at McLaren is a well oiled machine, providing excellent patient care with our "every patient, every time" attitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIAugust 9, 2016
Good workflow and hours, always lots to do. Job includes fluoroscopy, surgery, and general x-ray with use of CR machines
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor moral and leadership
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIApril 6, 2016
Survey and collect data for quality control for 4 years

Follow up by management was poor. Problems were frequently not corrected.

Leadership was marginal at best

Goals were primarily based on the bottom line. Management did not seem to care about fixing things that would cost money

Poor moral among employees. Many people felt their jobs were on the line.

Employees felt that management did not care about their concerns. Managers were so worried about budgets that true issues did not get addressed
Pros
pay rate ok
Cons
Poor moral and poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for my Dr. and working with my patients. I learned so much working at Mclaren by applying my skills and learning more hands on.
Assisting the doctor (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 7, 2016
Management was great. Staff was great. The hardest part of my job was there was not enough time to get ever thing done in a day. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping my patients and their families with whatever they needed.
Pros
Helping your patients
Cons
Work load was full with not enough staff to get stuff done for patients in a quickly matter.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
MRI Technologist Per Diem (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 6, 2016
Difficult cases working with patients in pain or that are claustrophobic and need a quality MRI exam to get answers and a diagnosis to help aide the doctor in treating the medical concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Radiology Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 14, 2015
• Performing a variety of departmental functions directly related to greeting patients, enter and retrieving computer data, answer phones, call and send out call reports, transporting patients to interdepartmental areas, and assist the technologists.
• Knowledge of PACS
• Abide by HIPPA guidelines
• Insure that all patients receive a prompt and efficient experience within the Radiology Department.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Holt, MIJuly 28, 2015
McLaren Greater Lansing Holt Family Practice is a good place to work. They have great hours and I know my job is secure. I enjoy my interaction between not only the patients, but with my co-workers and the providers too.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Place to Work
Certified Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lansing MiFebruary 2, 2015
My typical Day of work starts out as cleaning up the patients, picking up trays after meals, Chart, Do vital signs. Check blood sugars, take patients to the bathroom, make beds.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Medical Receptionist/Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 22, 2015
It starts at 730am. I have learned different programs which is wonderful. It is nice to meet, talk, and be able to assist our patients. I do not like when a patient passes. After getting to know them it tugs at your heart.
Pros
Being able to do what I love
Cons
Short breaks, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Radiology Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 8, 2015
Busy office and transporting team. I learned team work and dedication, my co-workers were the best in the business! The hardest part of the job was trying not to get emotionally attached to some long term patients. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing patients get progressively better and eventually leave the hospital.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Not a very good managerial support system
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people to work with
RN telemetry flex float (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 3, 2014
Busy medical surgical, tele float RN. Great nurses to work with, makes it a good place to work.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
short staffing and busy some days more than others
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McLaren provided a very good learning experience.
Leadership clinical placement (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIOctober 7, 2014
McLaren provided a very good learning experience. I worked with a highly qualified nursing staff in a pleasant atmosphere. We provided good patient care and are well thought of in the community.
Pros
Good patient care
Cons
Fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy all aspects of healthcare
Unit Coordinator/Nurse Aid (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 21, 2014
Hired and remained in the float pool as a nurse aid. Have worked all the units and I have really enjoyed that. Was asked to cross train to Unit Coordinator on nights. In this position I wear a pager and admit all patients throughout the hospital. Really enjoy this position, as well.
Pros
Culture, diversity, pace, all levels of education
Cons
Not going to be a nurse
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work with great people
Radiology Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 11, 2014
Manager was someone very personable to talk to. Coworkers were great to work with and offered help when needed. Was some heavy lifting and transferring of patients. Hours varied between coworkers.
Pros
great dept
Cons
per diem
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of strong leadership
Data administrator, Quality Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 10, 2014
Lack of strong leadership
Little support from management
Great co-workers
Increasing job responsibilities, less compensation
Pros
Wonderful co-workers
Cons
Lack of strong leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun group of people
Tech (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJuly 21, 2014
Great group of people to work with. They like to hang out outside of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McLaren Greater Lansing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

McLaren Greater Lansing Reviews by Location