McLaughlin Body Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no stability. lacking quality leadership
Operations Manager/ Continuous Improvement Manager (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCDecember 8, 2015
Focus is misguided. No culture, nor is there a management relationship with hourly employees. There is no loyalty to employees. Hours are too long to sustain productive environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way to make money
Metal Finisher (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCOctober 11, 2015
New company trying to become profitable, by innovative techniques to get the product out the door to satify customers. The hardest part of the job was the work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups and downs
utility operator (Former Employee) –  East Moline, ILJune 26, 2015
not very stable rite now and I worked there for 15 years. im no longer working there. quit to better myself, mcglaughlin body co is a company that is very hard to figure out sometimes but it definitely needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, but great co-workers
Cab Sealer/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Moline, ILApril 18, 2015
A day at work could be anywhere from 8- 12 hours depending on how the line runs. Hardest part of the job is being there long hours and not having enough time with family. I get long with the people I work with.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a sweat shop
paint dept (Current Employee) –  Rock IslandMay 7, 2013
There is no regard for your family life .They expect more and more and no incentive but a paycheck. They want you to work unlimited overtime. They have no respect for our union.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Welder (Current Employee) –  Rock Island, ILMarch 2, 2013
I have welded here for 16+ year and enjoy what I do. Even though some jobs can be challenging, I can really count on the company to help me through the problems/issues. I also get paid well with my incentive and profit sharing. The benefits are also a plus.
Pros
the company
Cons
negative co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes7No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!!!!!!!!!!!
fork truck operator (Current Employee) –  entireFebruary 26, 2013
Upper level management has a good grasp on the direction of the company. I have received a yearly profit sharing bonus every year I have worked here. Not bad concidering the economy. The production supervisors are GREAT people to work for and have supurb leadership abilities. I have worked for most of them, and can say they really care about the employees.
Pros
terrific team enviroment
Cons
co-workers that are here just for quick cash not a long career
Was this review helpful?Yes12No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human resources terrible with employee relations. Poor quality and managment
assembler (Current Employee) –  rock islandFebruary 15, 2013
No union representation when needed. Company doesn't take care of employees, niether does our union. I work as an assembler, and I've seen the quality that we put out and I wouldn't buy anything this company produces. "We make it work" should be the company's motto. We also have 3 plant managers for 250 people.
Pros
health and dental good
Cons
human resources, managment, quality, saftey, engineering, sales, re work
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Machinist (Current Employee) –  Moline, ILJanuary 28, 2013
Unfortunately, there are a lot of lay offs and uncertainty about work. Co-workers are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor public relations between management and workers,low morale among employees
Inspector (Current Employee) –  Moline IlJanuary 5, 2013
No leadership,plant in desperate need of repair,machines break down on daily bases, assemblers cant make a good rate on piece work, their always running out of parts,low wages,12 hour days and high turn over of employees, this business has lost many contracts because of poor quality.
Cons
low wages, poor managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Needs Leadership
former employee (Former Employee) –  quad cities, illinoisAugust 13, 2012
The company is in disarray. Retention of new factory workers is only 15% after three months. The Industrial Engineers spend too much of their time justifying bonus rates rather than fixing fundamental flaws in the processes. Too much reliance on tribal knowledge. Quality is an after thought, so many aspects of the company as crisis management is the rule of the day.

Lots of drama in this company...
Pros
not enough to offset the cons, but good benefits
Cons
too many family and freinds of the family, creates factionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive workplace with constantly changing challenges
Accounting Intern (Current Employee) –  Moline, ILApril 25, 2012
Throughout the week I will prepare a weekly budget that is sent out to top level managers, excess and obsolete reports on inventory, aging reports for payments past due, KPI reports, and many other key statements/updates.

One of the most important things that i've learned is that communication is crucial in a good working team.

My superiors genuinely care about each employee and always do their best to thank them on a regular basis.

The most challenging part of the job is determining where and who to contact when information is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee has good relationship with the supervisor and HR personel
Assembly/ Laser Operator (Former Employee) –  East Moline, ILMarch 23, 2012
We do work from monday to saturday; i worked in 2nd shift due to my school schedule; we did pretty much 10 hours and sometimes 12 hours; i have learned many things such as how to assemble a header with different part. i also know how properly adjust the hydraulic to the setup requirement.everything was fine except that we usually have down time due to missing part and that was the reason why we got lay off. in my opinion the job was not hard but we need to be very fast as possible.The most enjoyable part of the job is when we have everything we need te get the job done properly and that time the job seems to be a peace of cake for everyone.
Pros
we did have good pay
Cons
boring, without a part
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McLaughlin Body Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8

McLaughlin Body Company Reviews by Location