Find companies:
McLaughlin Body Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

McLaughlin Body Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Materials Manager (Current Employee), Anderson, SCOctober 31, 2014
See resume. Total materials and production responsibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembler
assembler (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILJune 20, 2014
Pros: pay, insurance
Cons: union, cheats you out of rates
depending on what you do , the pay can be good if you make the rates. I wouldnt want to be a weilder, you can never make the rate the company wants. The union is useless, and so is the management. Not a stable job. If you know someone and in good ties with the management youll do ok, otherwise good luck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad employer
welder (Former Employee), molineJanuary 2, 2014
Cons: low pay high layoff rate
company is awful supervisor are promoted not for what they know but who they drink with company does not care about your home life only numbers no quality results in lost contracts and employee turnover union is non horrible in bed with company executives worked there 4 years make up pay is all you get make rate they change your rate human resources – more... only purpose is to fire not help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a sweat shop
paint dept (Current Employee), Rock IslandMay 7, 2013
There is no regard for your family life .They expect more and more and no incentive but a paycheck. They want you to work unlimited overtime. They have no respect for our union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Welder (Current Employee), Rock Island, ILMarch 2, 2013
Pros: the company
Cons: negative co-workers
I have welded here for 16+ year and enjoy what I do. Even though some jobs can be challenging, I can really count on the company to help me through the problems/issues. I also get paid well with my incentive and profit sharing. The benefits are also a plus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
fork truck operator (Current Employee), entireFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: terrific team enviroment
Cons: co-workers that are here just for quick cash not a long career
Upper level management has a good grasp on the direction of the company. I have received a yearly profit sharing bonus every year I have worked here. Not bad concidering the economy. The production supervisors are GREAT people to work for and have supurb leadership abilities. I have worked for most of them, and can say they really care about the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human resources terrible with employee relations. Poor quality and managment
assembler (Current Employee), rock islandFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: health and dental good
Cons: human resources, managment, quality, saftey, engineering, sales, re work
No union representation when needed. Company doesn't take care of employees, niether does our union. I work as an assembler, and I've seen the quality that we put out and I wouldn't buy anything this company produces. "We make it work" should be the company's motto. We also have 3 plant managers for 250 people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Machinist (Current Employee), Moline, ILJanuary 28, 2013
Unfortunately, there are a lot of lay offs and uncertainty about work. Co-workers are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end for engineers. High turnover, overbearing management.
Project Lead Engineer (Former Employee), Moline, IlJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: interesting problems, challenging projects, good customers
Cons: management. family run old boy network. not what you know, who you ...
The family places too much authority with too few employees. Decisions are second guessed by family / management on whims rather than logic. No chance for advancement. Little recognition. Working there was the biggest mistake in my career path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor public relations between management and workers,low morale among employees
Inspector (Current Employee), Moline IlJanuary 5, 2013
Cons: low wages, poor managers.
No leadership,plant in desperate need of repair,machines break down on daily bases, assemblers cant make a good rate on piece work, their always running out of parts,low wages,12 hour days and high turn over of employees, this business has lost many contracts because of poor quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Needs Leadership
former employee (Former Employee), quad cities, illinoisAugust 13, 2012
Pros: not enough to offset the cons, but good benefits
Cons: too many family and freinds of the family, creates factionalism.
The company is in disarray. Retention of new factory workers is only 15% after three months. The Industrial Engineers spend too much of their time justifying bonus rates rather than fixing fundamental flaws in the processes. Too much reliance on tribal knowledge. Quality is an after thought, so many aspects of the company as crisis management is the – more... rule of the day.

Lots of drama in this company... – less

August 21, 2012

I used to work there too. Nobody I know that actually "works" or has "worked" there has much good to say about the place. I'd hate to think what it would be like there without the UAW, if a Union was ever needed it's there!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive workplace with constantly changing challenges
Accounting Intern (Current Employee), Moline, ILApril 25, 2012
Throughout the week I will prepare a weekly budget that is sent out to top level managers, excess and obsolete reports on inventory, aging reports for payments past due, KPI reports, and many other key statements/updates.

One of the most important things that i've learned is that communication is crucial in a good working team.

My superiors genuinely – more... care about each employee and always do their best to thank them on a regular basis.

The most challenging part of the job is determining where and who to contact when information is needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee has good relationship with the supervisor and HR personel
Assembly/ Laser Operator (Former Employee), East Moline, ILMarch 23, 2012
Pros: we did have good pay
Cons: boring, without a part
We do work from monday to saturday; i worked in 2nd shift due to my school schedule; we did pretty much 10 hours and sometimes 12 hours; i have learned many things such as how to assemble a header with different part. i also know how properly adjust the hydraulic to the setup requirement.everything was fine except that we usually have down time due – more... to missing part and that was the reason why we got lay off. in my opinion the job was not hard but we need to be very fast as possible.The most enjoyable part of the job is when we have everything we need te get the job done properly and that time the job seems to be a peace of cake for everyone. – less