McLendon Hardware Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Cashier/Garden Associate (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAOctober 9, 2015
You would think being a local business that started out as a mom and pop that it would be a good place to work but it's not. Management is extremely rude and caters to the McLendons who work there, it's as if they can do no wrong which is extremely frustrating. There's an extremely high turnover rate for cashiers. Many people quit because of how they were treated and there's next to no opportunities for advancement. My direct manager seemed to have a personal vendetta out against me so that just generally made my experience pretty negative. They move you schedule around with little to no notice and get upset if you say anything about it. It's just not a great place to work.
Cons
bad management, cater to family members, inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WASeptember 25, 2015
Enjoyable and supportive work environment. Managers are responsive and the corporation makes a good effort to do right by their employees. Co-workers are fun to work with.
Pros
Great management, great co-workers, socially responsible company
Cons
low wages, not enough full time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Staff, Great people
Certified Stock Picker Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 21, 2015
I worked for McLendon Hardware and it was an overall great experience. Friendly staff, great management. Plenty of room for advancement within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative place to work
Visual Merchandiser II (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAApril 7, 2015
I have no comment on this company at this time, due in part to me being laid off without notice and or compensation. But I will say this my typical day was great, I've learned not to trust others on the job, management could improve on being honest and straight forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed both the employees and the Customers
Inventory Control/Receiving Lead (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAMarch 20, 2015
As a lead, I had all the responsibility with little authority.
I was responsible for not only the receiving staff but the accuracy of the incoming orders and paperwork.
I also had the responsibility to make sure all department staff knew how to manage their inventory and had to train them on how to use the equipment needed to do so.
I facilitated the yearly physical inventory and sometimes had to put in 18 hour days to do so.
This was a family owned and managed company which has it's challenges.
Often management would set employees up to fire them and replace them with family members.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
family drama
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very pleasant.
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Renton, WA (warehouse)October 10, 2014
The job used to fun, energetic place to work. The company and management has changed for the worst. Its almost like working for a concentration camp. With no advancement possibility. I have moved up in every position I have ever been at except here. They would rather bring in temporary employee's that do not know anything about the job then promote someone within.
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 7, 2014
family enviroment always taking care of the customer. pleasant place to work. The management takes care of their employees at all cost.
Pros
peaceful
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Environment
Yard Worker/Loader (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WaJune 26, 2014
Co-Workers make you feel like you're a family
Management was great
A working team atmosphere at its finest
Pros
co-workers feel like family
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here is ok
Sales Assocatie (Current Employee) –  Kent, WAApril 8, 2014
Need to have better benifts more hours

less fighting among the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers but rules are weird
Front End (Former Employee) –  Woodinville, WAFebruary 12, 2014
I loved working here but they have some odd rules about sick days. Pay was fine, and they are honest about not letting you work more than 35hrs a week which was also fine.
Cons
breaks are also weird.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Want to know more about McLendon Hardware?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WADecember 2, 2013
I loved working here but had to move and the commute was just too much.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated, fun place to be able to advance
Zone Manager (Current Employee) –  Puyallup, WASeptember 17, 2013
Mclendon Hardware is a place to grow. They teach you the retail skills to advance in the company. They are constantly teaching to help you better grow with the company. They are caring and dedicated to their employees. I started out as a cashier and within 6 months I was put into their Management Training Program. I have worked in several departments throughout the store, gaining knowledge everyday. Although rewarding at times, I feel the hardest part of the job was handling difficult situations with customers. At the same time, the most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers and other team members.
Pros
advancment, customers, knowledge
Cons
long hours, at times, commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 years at Mclendon Hardware
Visual Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAJuly 1, 2013
I learned many things working at Mclendon Hardware. It was a great 9 years working their. I wish I didn't have to leave but do to a change in the company, I could see it was time for me to move on and search for other career opportunities.
Pros
the ability to be your own boss
Cons
bad loyalty to good hard workers
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment. Great people.
Zone Manager (Current Employee) –  Renton, WAApril 17, 2013
I love the people that I work with and the family members that run the company are amazing. The benefits are decent, but the pay is pretty low from top to bottom. They are at risk of losing very valuable people because of not compensating them for what they are worth.
Pros
great people.
Cons
low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR are not Qualified for Job
sales (Former Employee) –  Renton WashFebruary 16, 2013
Interview to hiring was of best poor. No job turns laid out late for interview. More interested in personal then Job
Pros
maybe other box stores can exsorbe them
Was this review helpful?Yes9No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mclendon Hardware
cashier (Former Employee) –  WADecember 28, 2012
It was a job not a career. The wages low but the staff and customers made the job.
Pros
staff
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for a first job
Sales Clerk- Garden Department (Former Employee) –  Renton, WADecember 18, 2011
This is a great place to start off you working career. This company is flexible with school and personal life, but that's about it. Don't plan on staying there for a lifetime though. The pay is okay, but it's nowhere competitive to other home improvement stores such as Lowes or Home Depot.
Pros
free lunches during sales
Cons
short breaks, miserable co-workers, vacations are limited
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture