Find companies:
McRoberts Protective Agency
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

McRoberts Protective Agency Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Hollywood, CAJuly 23, 2014
The first security company in America. It's a nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Professional!!!
Security guard (Former Employee), Baltimore,mdJuly 14, 2014
Worst company ever they still owe me for hours I worked could never get a bathroom relief and my supervisor is a child no supervisory skills what so ever. You will never make over 10.50 if you do over time they don't put it on your check they say they forgot and never pay you. They send emails between each other saying who they don't want working for – more... them. Not professional by far worst security company!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Security Officer (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 18, 2014
Typical day at work would be taking care of all residents and guests needs and complaints, make them feel welcomed every day and handle everything with special care. Co-workers and I always get along to get our job done much quicker and much better together as of working against each other or by each other alone. I like to encourage everyone help each – more... other to make the workplace a better place for everyone to work in, always covering each other in case of emergencies or issues. We always treat each other like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end
Boiler Operator/Security (Current Employee), Fair Lawn, NJJune 2, 2014
Pros: a (little) paycheck
Cons: no advancements, no pay raise, no sick days, rude field supervisors.
Everything they post on their webpage is sugar-coated. Benefits will cost you 1/2 of your paycheck in addition to the Union dues without union benefits.

They don't care about you or family, they just care about the post being covered at any cost, even if it means leaving you there for 16 hours. When you need a day off, they ask you a million questions, – more... like being integrated. Most of their field supervisors are underpaid and when they find out that you make more than them, they become rude to you and try to intimidate you.

$15/hr for covering 2 positions (Boiler Operator & Security) is a joke considering a boiler operator makes 20+/hr.

Besides being a boiler operator and security, you have to answer/forward phone calls and monitor and release freight trucks.

For $15/hr, you are a Boiler Operator, Security, Secretary and shipping/receiving clerk; and if the client is unhappy with your performance, you will be terminated and replaced immediately! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Security Officer (Current Employee), New YorkMay 29, 2014
Great Company Cant Complain the management is great and every one i work with is very respectful and kind and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to get experience
Security Guard (Current Employee), Hollywood, CAMay 22, 2014
not a significant source for income but a great place to start for income. 5 star environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Productive
Pre-Board Screener (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 21, 2014
I feel if you have an active life and love to go to church on Sunday. this is not a job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team atmosphere
security guard (Former Employee), Bricktown, NJMay 12, 2014
very personal company, great promotion from with in , great supervisor to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for an introduction to the field of security
Security Enforcement Officer (Current Employee), Tampa, FLMay 11, 2014
Pros: wonderful people, beautiful sites.
Cons: pay is a little low for my taste.
All of the people I meet through this company are wonderful. The field supervisors really make an effort to show that they care about your employees. All you have to do is your job. If you carry your own weight you'll be happy to work for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Maritime Security officer/Guard (Current Employee), Miami, FLApril 21, 2014
Access control;Controlling embarkation of people, baggage and cargo; Monitoring of restricted areas (including maritime security zones) Provision of security services including patrols,Supervision of cargo and ship stores,Screening passengers, baggage and cargo,Checking of documentation including identity documents
Monitoring of closed circuit television
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Security Screener (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 21, 2014
How to give great customer service. Learning Everyday. Able to work different position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Security Officer (Current Employee), Woodbridge, NJJanuary 20, 2014
This comapny has gave me the chance to build my resume . Also give me the opportunity to finally get the experience I need. In order for me to build my career companies like McRobert's Protective Agency gave me the ability to show them I can do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Field safety Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 15, 2014
Very relaxed, lots of overtime. Great for a student and as second job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work for.
Security Guard (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: paid weekly and good pay
Cons: not guaranteed hours
The only thing is that you are not guaranteed hours since it is only a seasonal job September through May at The Port of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here only as a stepping stone...
Guard/Screener (Former Employee), Cape Canaveral, FloridaJanuary 9, 2014
I worked for McRoberts for three years at the Port Canaveral. Very exhausting due to a lot of standing. The passengers for the most part were great! They were just looking forward to their vacation.

Work atmosphere demands "drama" and hostility. Co-workers thrive on it. It is literally a high school for adults. (THAT IS NOT AN EXAGGERATION). "I don't – more... want to work with that person because he looks at me wrong." Most have no lives outside of work. Supervisors add to the toxicity with being overly critically over small stuff that actually make the job harder than it should be. They also create a fear oriented atmosphere. You are very much under appreciated by the "management" and supervisors. Gossip, gossip, gossip. Very depressing sometimes because you are made to feel you are always screwing up. Too many chiefs, not enough Indians. Bad attitudes are thrown everywhere. It is only when management comes by and if we were being evaluated by a "Big Wig" (a cruise line representative for example) when anyone really cared about their particular duties and when the drama stopped. Very high turn over rate due to people wanting out. I literally saw coworkers belittled and yelled at in front of passengers. I stuck with it for a very long time and was thrilled to finally move forward.

The wrong place to want to make a career out of. I have seen supervisors demoted and thrown under the bus. There was one person there who had only been on the job for three months and the management by passed much more qualified workers to make her a supervisor. And of course cruise lines can decide at anytime if they want to pull their ships out of port to send them elsewhere. One guy was a friend with someone in management and was made a supervisor during his first few weeks! Big mistake that was.

People fight over hours when there aren't enough shifts. Days are very long, usually 6 am- 4 pm. The good things included: They have an open door policy, easy to take time off, it is hard to get fired, and you meet very fascinating people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very sad
Fire Safety Manager /Site Supervisor (Current Employee), Avenel, NJJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: notting
Cons: no lunch breaks
worst security company I have worked for.Very disorganized no undion for supervisors. No room to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McRoberts Review Summary
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Dania Beach, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: emplolyees need to arrive on time, or get penalized
A great place for new prospective dispatchers. A typical day is always busy, fast paste, and constant multitasking. Dispatchers learn to trouble shoot hospital interminable technology equipment along with providing excellent customer service. Nothing was challenging or too hard to learn on this job. The most enjoyable was making daily contact with the – more... police officers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best company in the security field.
Maritime Security Officer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 26, 2013
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: dis14770organized manaement
The company pays every week that is about the only good thing. .During my time working as a security officer have learned the importance of protecting a company/facility, Overall the pay is not enough for me personally and I don't receive any benefits and don't find myself growing much with this company like I could if I was with a better/more professional – more... companyThe management team is disorganized and no one works together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A VERY GOOD PLACE TO WORK FRIENDLY PEOPLE
Fire Guard Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 1, 2013
MY EXPERINCE WITH MCROBERTS IS A VERY GOOD EXPERINCE A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK GOOD CO-WORKERS THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE DAY IS THE PEOPLE I WORK WITH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at McRoberts, but it is only on a part time on call basis, but thus so far I enjoy the staff and sites.
Security Guard/Fire Guard Temp (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 21, 2013
Pros: giving a fellow officer break time when it was truly needed.
Cons: no medical coverage and it is a temp on call basis.
I believe that this company has shown me, that it is a good company that will explore the possibilities of aiding and assisting their workers in any field of endeavor given that the opportunities is there. Though I have not worked for a long period of time, consistently with this prestigious organization, I have a good report with the Human Resource – more... Department Personnel that don't mind showing flexibility where it is really needed or if necessary. They are very open minded to their workers, as I have experienced.

When I show up for duty, I am greeted with professional kindness and support from my co-workers if I ever needed any assistance to handle a problem. I have not had any negative experiences with my co-workers, for I am very good with people for the most part.

The most difficult part of the job was when there was a lack of walkie talkies, making it difficult to communicate at NYU hospital, while conducting fireguard duties. Being that the facility is so huge, I would have to leave from one area to got to let my co-worker know to relay the message to the Supervisor that all is ok hourly. However, the most enjoyable part is that we would all finish a safe, sound, secured shift and had opportunities to get over time pay fairly when available.

All of this taught me to be versatile and flexible under pressure when radio equipment was not available to all staff members. It taught me not to abuse a meal relief or personal breaks, because of the lack of walkie talkies; ensuring professional honesty with my cohorts. It just one of my many instances that has molded and shaped my professional experiences throughout the years, strengthening me even more how to be even more of a team player when these type of circumstances can occur at any workplace, at any given moment. – less

McRoberts Protective Agency Photos