Find companies:
MeadWestvaco
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

MeadWestvaco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job experience
second man (Former Employee), Caguas, PRJune 20, 2014
Pros: communication, pay rate, benefits.
Cons: n/a
Greet my co-workers and supervisor as soon as I arrived and then check what was scheduled to during my shift. I learned how to be a second press man thanks to my co-workers. All managers were very respectful and easy going. My co-worker were excellent we were like a family. The hardest part of my job was to turn around cart boards by hand. I enjoyed – more... every part of my work, when I was recognize to comply with my work and all the communication with every person that worked with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from the Legal Department
Employee (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 16, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: unfriendly work environment
Very hierarchical environment. Management distant and do not really care about the staff. Especially avoid the litigation area - problematic manager that micromanages and is a bad communicator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Mechanical Engineer (Intern) (Former Employee), Cottonton, ALJune 1, 2014
Mead was a very exciting place to work. Everyday there was something new to do. My co-workers were great and kept the days interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Electronic Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 30, 2014
management not so good but working environment and people are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with senior engineers
General Clerk (Former Employee), Cottonton, ALMay 29, 2014
Document Control Department and Engineering Department, Summer 2012, 2011 & 2010

• Created an excel spreadsheet to calculate thermodynamic parameters for two (2) recovery boilers at the paper mill
• Cataloged blueprints, structural drawings and contracts into the company database
• Incorporated file paths for each company document to enhance business – more... efficiency
• Designed arch flash and lockout/tagout labels for safety precautions

Additional:
• Thorough understanding of OSHA, EPA and other regulations of safe practices – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hierarchical structure
Director, Demand Management (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary
Cons: elitism in management, cold culture
In many ways run like a financial firm with focus on Wall Street and individual incentives.

Culture is kind of funny.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Quality Engineer (Current Employee), Winfield, KSMay 23, 2014
Pros: great at responding to customer issues
Cons: prevention of those issues from reoccuring
Difficulty in getting Second Level Leadership to work with process improvement efforts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Mechanical Assembler (Current Employee), Smyrna, GAApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: poor management
Atypical day is waiting on parts that was not ordered or ordered wrong. I learned a lot on the mechanical aspects of the job. Most of my co workers were great people who had to deal with the same things I did. The hardest part of the job was the lifting of parts. The most enjoyable part of the job was the learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate management lacking but great employees to work side by side with
Attorney (Former Employee), USAApril 1, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: poor guidance and direction from management, disconnect between management and employees
MWV hires great people who are good at what they do. However management under values its employees and has provided poor corporate leadership and a lack of focus which has lead to multiple workforce reduction initiatives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work place
Tax Analyst (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 24, 2014
Good relationship between co-workers. Staff members work as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I learned SAP
Accounts Payable Administrator - SAP Software (Former Employee), Miamisburg, OhMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great people and learning sap
Cons: job moved to virginia
Great place to work, great work environment, great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Senior Pricing & Costing Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: gym
Cons: job security/advancement
Productive and fun place to work that allows for a flex schedule to work around home schedules. Pay is fair but job security/advancement options can be difficult to maneuver.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company leadership is not able to create nor execute its business strategy
Middle Manager, Strategy and Insights (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: attractive office building and furnishings
Cons: lack of leadership; poor quality c-level executives
MWV's strategy to transform itself into a packaging solutions company has failed.

The company announced a 180 degree turn regarding their business strategy in Q1 2014; the focus now is on margin improvement to become a more competitive paperboard commodity supplier versus its direct competitors. Unfortunately that meant 550 employees got laid off.

I – more... would venture a guess that the company is preparing its balance sheet to look attractive as a takeover target. Overall it is my opinion that the company lacks leadership and with it strategic direction and execution. In my opinion, MWV is not a good place for career minded professionals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MWV
Corp Eng Accountant/Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: expand on skills, learn new skills, great people
Cons: company just had a large reduction in forces
Working at MWV has been a learning experience every day. The corporate Engineering Department and CPI (R&D) Departments have allowed me to expand on my Web Design, Database skills as well as motivating employees when needed. Learning the different things MWV is doing to improve environmental impact from industries is fascinating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing Good to Say
Director, HR Operations (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 6, 2014
Nothing good to say about company or culture. Hire to fire in a coupe years. Always restructuring company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity Environment
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Garden Grove, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: company celebrated some holidays wih free lunches.
Cons: working hours and overtime
MeadWestvaco was a very desirable place of employment. Had excellent benefits and good pay. We had 401K, medical, dental and worked in a diverse environment. Enjoyed showing up everyday and earning my pay. Enjoyed a clean lunch room with coffee ad snacks.
Supervisors were fair and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks, needs to clean house
Multiple Positions at sawmill (Current Employee), Cottonton, ALFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, decent benefits
Cons: management
White hats (management) feel like they know everything and the red and green hats (maintenance and regular workers) know nothing. They preach safety first but yet they want you to travel on ice roads in a city that's not equipped to deal with ice. Their only concern is running numbers and they feel like no one has a life outside of mead... I WOULD NOT – more... RECOMMEND THIS JOB TO ANYONE WHO HAS A QUICK TEMPER BECAUSE MANAGEMENT WILL TREAT YOU LIKE A STRAY DOG – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Position (Current Employee), Cottonton, ALDecember 26, 2013
This is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. The care and understanding of being a new employee is heart-felt. The desire to push individuals that are ready to move forward is strong, and comforting. This means that hard effort is rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and good pay
Spray pump manufacturer, General Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Winfield, KSNovember 21, 2013
Pros: good benefits & pay
Cons: standing on concrete and cold working atmosphere
A typical day would be running a spraypump machine that Has 12 hoppers to filled at all times, keep work area clean, make boxes, put out 90 boxes in 8 hrs and sometimes run two of these machines.
I learned team work, and the hardest part of the job is when your machine doesnt like to run correctly. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see if you – more... could beat the goal of 70 boxes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce high quality chemicals.
MeadWestvaco Chemical Operator on shift (Current Employee), N Charleston, SCSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: great salary.
Cons: swing shift.
A typical day at work is very tense, due to the fact that its a very difficult job to maintain three kettles that produce chemicals. I have learn a lot of computer skills. How to trouble shoot and be self sufficient. The management could be better, but due to the fact that most of them or related to the hourly employees, it creates a lot of problems – more... within the company. Most of my co-workers get along great. The hardest part of my job is trying to get use to working the swing shift. The most enjoyable part of my job is making quality chemicals and going home safe. – less

1 2 3 4

About MeadWestvaco

MWV is a global leader in packaging and packaging solutions. Our fresh insights, innovative products, global manufacturing, and – Read more