Find companies:
Meals on Wheels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

Meals on Wheels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I have ever had!!! Hands down
Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Anderson, SCDecember 16, 2014
Meals on Wheels was an experience that I will never forget, and it has entered my heart and will never let go. The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting the recipients and being repaid in a way that money never could meet the need. My coworkers became friends and I still see them today. The hardest part of the job was walking away for different – more... opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer (Current Employee), Cloverdale, CADecember 16, 2014
Pros: contributing to your fellow man
Aside from managing a site for a year I've been a volunteer for 16 years. Great company with cool people. The best part of the job is helping seniors who are unable to get food themselves stay healthy through nutrition. The hardest part is creating a relationship with people who are close to passing away. Any given year you have to deal with several – more... deaths of people you've gotten to know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help get food to people in need
Volunteer Experience (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 29, 2014
Pros: helping people in need
Cons: when it was over
I had to help deliver meals to people who could not get out in the community and get food for themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job.
Delivery Assistant- Delivery (Former Employee), San Pablo, CANovember 7, 2014
Pros: being an excellent worker
We worked very well and we made a good team. 5+ stars go to Meals on Wheels for delivering 2 squares to the folks who can't get up and at 'em on a day-to-day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Social Worker/ Case Manager for Homebound Seniors (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 4, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches
Cons: dealing with clients with multiple needs, chronic medical problems, and chronic mental health problems, chronic substance abuse issues, finding parking, entering dirty, bug infested, cluttered homes.
Excellent, reliable delivery of meals to clients.
Excellent and caring staff
Home visits and assessment of clients need and eligibility for program
Making phone call to family members, MD's, and other service providers as needed.
Making phone calls to schedule appointments for home visits.
Going into dirty, bug infested, cluttered homes in bad neighborhoods – more... in San francisco,
Allowing clients to maintain independence in home and not be placed in outside facility – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn how to become a medical assistant
Food Server/Prep (volunteer) (Former Employee), Portland, OROctober 23, 2014
Pros: get a better job
Cons: no longer attending school.
I enjoyed the classes front/back office. I learned high to take vitals and administer medications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the elderly and playing games
Delivery Route Driver (Former Employee), Luling, TXOctober 13, 2014
Pros: eating lunch with the elderly and playing games with them.
Cons: not enough hours in the day.
Being able to go everyday or even once a week just to see the elderly gather around just to talk and to play games.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportaion delivery job
DELIVERY DRIVER/MEAL SITE ASSISTANCE (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 4, 2014
Nice People; Good Service Program; Wish it could have been more often
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 7, 2014
Meals on Wheels is a wonderful place to volunteer to help those seniors who cannot provide for themselves. I was able to work with other amazing volunteers and staff, as well as meet some of the seniors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hungry and funny senior citizens
Server (Former Employee), Kincaid, ILAugust 27, 2014
Pros: free lunch. new friends
Cons: no benefits
Serving and delivering meals to my seniors around the surrounding area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a feeling of self worth and comfortable place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: relaxing atmosphere and doing something rewarding
Cons: not enough hours
It was fun and I was proud to part of a team that loved our job. It was easy to get along because sometimes we each run into a problem that requires a helping hand..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile mission
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Sparkill, NYJuly 10, 2014
Pros: feel good job, caring environment, free lunch
Cons: poor pay
Pick up seniors and transport to center
Assist at Senior Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people who can not help themselves is the right thing to do.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Culver City, CaJuly 9, 2014
Pros: doing the right thing
Cons: none at all
Delivered three hot meals to the elderly and disabled.Very clean kitchen and friendly people who really take pride in their work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful, positive vibe, great feeling and something I would do again
Food Prep (Former Employee), Portland, ORJune 27, 2014
Pros: helping out patrons and serving them great food.
Cons: no cons.
It was a volunteering/community service experience and it was a great feeling helping and feeding others. Making sure they don't have a empty stomach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job with friendly benefits
Driver (Current Employee), Lawrence, MAJune 25, 2014
enjoyable because I know I am making a difficult day for others happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen Director
Rainbow Senior Center (Former Employee), Boerne, TXJune 24, 2014
I thought this job was wonderful. We cooked for the senior citizens and provided someone for them to talk to. The Rainbow Senior Center was a great place to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated workers and a positive atmosphere
Volunteer Packer (Former Employee), Millersville, PAJune 16, 2014
Pros: helpful volunteers, free snacks
Cons: only a volunteer position
I loved each and every one of the volunteers and workers at the Millersville Area MOW! They were helpful and I really felt like part of the team. A typical morning consisted of preparing a hot and cold meals and packing them for departure. After the regular volunteers left, I stayed after to sweep and mop. I learned a lot about the Meals on Wheels organization – more... and the increasing need for prepared meals for the elderly and disabled community. My executive director was great and she never hesitated to find extra work for me. They made me feel like a valuable team member and I really felt like I have made a difference. The hardest part was waking up at 7 AM, but as soon as I got there I was excited to work. The most enjoyable part was conversing with the other volunteers and helping them pack food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non profit agency striving to meet nutritional needs in community
Coordinator (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 15, 2014
Pros: flexiblity in schedule and of course community service
Cons: disqualifying meal recipients
Interviewing potential and active recipients of meals including needs, living situations and financial qualifications. Worked under direction of the board of directors in balancing a budget needed to provide services, The hardest part of this job was requesting qualifying clients to contribute to the cost of the meals. The other side was when individuals – more... who most benefited were served. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment with no promise of advancement.
Food prep and other various tasks. (Former Employee), Rutland, VTMay 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: read review
Overall, working here was mediocre. I worked here for a few years going above and beyond, but they did nothing to entice me to stay. The job held no challenge, or promise of advancement or raise. Also the environment was both hostile and unproductive. The supervisors cared more about being friends with certain employees than about a productive kitchen.
In – more... the beginning working there was fun, but the constant joking loses its charm when you want to work and get your job done. In the end the lack of attentive supervisors and lack luster workers as well as a painfully hostile work environment, led to me leaving and searching for a job where the work is taken seriously with light humor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCMay 1, 2014
Pros: the learning opportunities offered by new hanover county.
I enjoy helping people so a typical day at Meals on Wheels is one filled with opportunites to serve, encourage and educate people. I supervised enthusiastic volunteers that would do whatever takes to ensure great customer service for our clients. I learned how to be more flexible and resourceful when it comes to the Senior population. The hardest part – more... of this job was not being able to help everyone, there are policies, procedures and rules that I had to follow which made it hard to really help and be a good resource for a senior in need. What I loved the most is the interaction with the clients and volunteers, the volunteers shared my love for helping and serving in the community and that made my job easier and fulfilling. The clients had alot to share and it was humbling to serve someone that fought in WWI and WWII as well as those that played a part in America's history. The entire company worked as a team to make such a wonderful program run like clockwork. – less

1 2 3 4 5