Find companies:
Meals on Wheels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

Meals on Wheels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for and the rewards was endless!
Community Resource Coordinator (Former Employee), Rapid City, SDFebruary 22, 2014
I would not change anything about working for Meals on Wheels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN TALKING WITH MY OLD FRIENDS
Driver (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: making others happy
IT WAS REALLY NICE WORKED FOR THEM.
IN A TYPICAL DAY I USED TO DELIVER FOOD FOR ELDERLY PEOPLE EVERY DAY. IT WAS REALLY NICE TO KNOW THAT THEY WERE HAVING THEIR MEALS ON TIME. I FEEL HAPPY WHENEVER THEY STARTED TO SMILE WHEN THEY SAW ME AT THEIR DOOR. IN MY TIME WORKING THERE I LEARNED HOW TO BE PATIENT AND HOW TO DEAL WITH PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Senior Center (Former Employee), Shelby, NCJanuary 26, 2014
Easy job, but man the rewards make it wonderful! You meet and interact with so many sweet seniors and make older, wiser friends!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding part time or temp job
Relief Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: feel good helping others
Cons: only temporary
4-5 hour days
great coworkers
rewarding
fun
meet a lot of interesting people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful organization that helps many in need.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 5, 2013
Pros: helping the community
Cons: gas/mileage on your vehicle
Meals on Wheels is one of the best non-profit organizations to work for. They help an endless amount of people who rely upon them and their volunteers. A typical day consists of obtaining your route and list of clients for the run, picking up the hot and cold meals at your designated hospital cafeteria, and then delivering the meals to each individuals – more... place of residence to drop off and engage in friendly conversation for a few minutes. I usually worked alone, but the hospital staff was always friendly and my supervisor was always accommodating with my shift schedule. The hardest part of the job was not being able to stay longer to chat with the people you delivered meals to. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know these individuals and seeing how much of a difference you were making in their lives by simply interacting and caring about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian Icon Agency for Community Health Care
Member of Board for Private Recipes (Former Employee), Warden Woods Community Centre, Scarborough, ONNovember 6, 2013
Having various positions over the years afforded very different day to day experiences. In general, would respond to any queries re. challenges/problems/scheduling/difficult clients and families(caregivers)/challenges with volunteers and planned/organized calendar to meet these issues while sustaining the regular demands of the day - appointments already – more... booked, assessments, meals on wheels operations for day. Everything was fast paced. Many of above resolutions happened very quickly. Also, completed functions for stakeholders with reports, forecasts for delivery of services. Spent time training new volunteers and placed in appropriate programs. Followed up with billing issues with phone calls, verbal contact and letter documentation. Participated in staff meetings usually 2 per week and prepared reports as required.

Learned that professional co-workers want to be valued and appreciated as employees. With incredible stresses in an organization facing many changes with restructuring, this caused huge uncertainty for many, much speculation re. positions/employment and some co-workers "lashed" out at others. I learned that all employees want to be recognized and valued and often are not. I also learned that I needed to separate myself from some situations, in order for me to perform to my maximum and to always encourage my co-workers and management with positive words that I meant. I also learned my opinions mattered and shared constructively with stakeholders.

Sometimes I found the political instability the most difficult. Office gossip and talk added to the instability and I tried to separate myself from this in simple ways, like taking my lunch in later shift to avoid individuals who could not "break" from the job or environment. Difficult working in an environment in which management did not agree and this translated into an unstable team and teamwork. This was a growing concern and issue.

The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfaction from knowing my efforts translated into helping many clients and families with daily issues. My smile, I was continually told, was very warm, kind and several co-workers stated I was the kindest always asking concerning questions about them, they expressed appreciation for this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a great friendly work place
kitchen hand (Former Employee), Caboolture, QLDOctober 24, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: i dont get paid for the work i do
my daily responsibilities included preparing of food and organizing of selected runs for food transport, the hardest part of the day was making sure that there was enough to go around and to make sure everyone was pleased and had received the correct order. I enjoy everyday as I am helping people in need of support with basic living and healthy eating. – more... every day is a new day and I learn new things within the company everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Public Relations (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 16, 2013
My children and I liked the mid week brake, and we had the joy of serving the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Takoma Park, MDOctober 15, 2013
Pros: nice place to do charitable work
Cons: no pay at all.
Great place to volunteer and contribute to your community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to give back
Volunteer/ Volunteer coordinator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: i help people
Cons: i don't get paid
Meals on wheels is an opportunity for me to assist those who are less fortunate. Providing food for someone who can't provide for themselves give me a great feeling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and oragnized place to work.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Macon, GAOctober 10, 2013
I learned more office skills and was trained in going through particular journals. My day at work included, but not limited to answering phone calls, sending and receiving fax, corresponding to mail, creating client folders electronically and by paper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting Seniors
Office Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 10, 2013
I enjoyed working with seniors, providing information concerning thir meals. the time they would like their meals to be delvered. The time and date they would not be availabe to receive their meals because they would be at the doctor
or not home that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meals On Wheels
Volunteer (Former Employee), Martinez, CASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: everything they do.
This is a very important program for our communities. For most this will be the only balanced meal they will have all day. So many are lonely and look forward to the visit. The volunteers make sure they are safe and not being abused. I just cannot say enough good things about M.O.W
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
warehouse/delivery (Former Employee), Pompano BeachSeptember 16, 2013
Love meeting older people and delivering food. management was fine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer Family Readiness (Former Employee), Miramar, CAAugust 30, 2013
Pros: self achieve, love to give back to the community
Cons: shortage of help and supply
Helping the community with their needs. Whether it be a simply meal for dinner to providing support. A group of individuals who get together and help the those in needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fullfiling
Volenteer (Former Employee), caAugust 13, 2013
Pros: helping others
Cons: seeing those who ar less fortunate
Provided meals to those in need.

Worked individually with no pay as it was volunteer work.

Hardest part of my job was seeing those hungry.

Most enjoyable was being able to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LET ME SEE
Volunteer (Former Employee), Richmond, CAAugust 5, 2013
I REMEMBER MEETING A ONE HUNDRED AND ELEVEN YEAR OLD MAN. I WOULDNT FORGET MY FIRST TIME MEETING ONE OF THE OLDEST MAN IN MY LIFE TIME. I HAD A LOT OF FUN HELPING EVERYONE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Stocker/Inventory (Former Employee), Abilene, TXJuly 31, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I basically washed dishes and stocked shelves. It was a great thing to experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun To Be Around
Meal Handler (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 19, 2013
Pros: high pay
Cons: no breaks
Fun Employees To Be Around With. Loved The Elderly and Disabled
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluteer work
Volunteer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 16, 2013
Great volunteer experience. Independent and flexible schedule. Meeting new people and knowing the community better is a plus.