Find companies:
Meals on Wheels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

Meals on Wheels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place and nice people
Volunteer (Current Employee), Bozrah, CTNovember 14, 2012
was and is a volunteer position. love to work in kitchens and with food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to meet people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Arlington, MASeptember 26, 2012
Pros: met new friends, had free lunch and had good hours
Cons: would have liked better benefits(healthcare, dental, etc.)
I would arrive at about 11:00am and shoot the breeze with my fellow workers and talk with the manager about any changes in my route.I would then pack the boxes and bags of food in my car and head out on my route.With a few changes in the clientele over the years,I had the same customers day in and day out and got to know them pretty well,mostly on a – more... first name basis.I would chat with most of them and some were not as talkative as the others but were always friendly none the less.After I dropped off the food to the last person I would head back to base and have lunch with other drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt like I have making a deference in the community
Customer Service/ Dietary Assistant (Former Employee), Merrillville, INSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: free lunch and great co workers
I would walk into work and start getting ready for the trap line to get the food ready. me and my co-workers would put food in the tray and push them down the line to be sealed. after that someone at the end would count out for the volunteers for the different places the food needed to go. The hardest part of the job was standing but we would have a – more... good long break before we would start the other job. The most enjoyable thing was that I was doing some thing good for others who couldn't get out for there house to get a meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meals on wheels
Volunteer (Former Employee), college park, mdAugust 20, 2012
I help feed children from low income neighborhoods. also provided them with mentorships to help guide then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Marina, CAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: meeting people
Cons: used my car
just something to help the elderly and disabled. It was rewarding when I see there faces brighten up because they have a guest, I love it always look forward to the holidays to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Delivery / Food Preparation (Former Employee), Linden, NJAugust 6, 2012
Pros: making sure the elderly and tge sick ate.
Loved this job.. I enjoyed prepping food and delivering to the sick and elderly and the clients were nice and felt like the depended on me everyday for there meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meals on wheels
Food Server,Dishwasher and I Also Deliver (Current Employee), Needles, CAJuly 31, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
I work with the seniors and i also make sure they are doing okay and I have learned to be patiencce and the hardest part of my job is trying to learn how our seniors they have bad days and good days and my favorite part is working with my mother and learing how too be patience and learn about them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Driver (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: nothing
i enjoyed delivering meals to clients in the home. my coworkers were really nice. it wasnt anything that i disliked about this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cats
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Portage, INJuly 17, 2012
pet the cats, give them some company, enjoy your time with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Food Prep/Delivery (Former Employee), Canton, OHJuly 12, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: delivering in bad weather
Great place to work, learned how to manage time well, serve quality meals, how to work as a team, deal with complaints, and enjoyed being around the best working team in the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Volunteer - Visited (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAJuly 10, 2012
Meals on Wheels is a great place to work and the people are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Food Handler (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 9, 2012
Pros: helping people
Cons: n/a
There wasn't a paycheck because it was voluntary and it was for my church everyone was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job providing meals to the elderly and homebound.
Driver (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYMay 25, 2012
Arriving promptly to work I would prepare the hot meals along with my co-workers. I would drive a refrigerated hot oven truck to different routes each week. My co-workers were always eager to assist one another. The hardest part of th job was accepting the fact the within life comes death. The most enjoyabe part of the job was the elderly and homebound – more... recipients were always grateful for delivering their meals each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with elderly
Restaurant (Former Employee), Peekskill, NYMay 19, 2012
daily route setting up tables washing dishes kind co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 16, 2012
Pros: good atmosphere, professional, non-profit work
The volunteers are amazing and the staff is supportive. It's good to be a part of an organization that does good for the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like to travel
Driver/office receptionist (Former Employee), Clarksdale, MSMay 1, 2012
good company got to meet different people. people were ok but worked at your own pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun work place
Server (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 29, 2012
Pros: easy work place
Cons: short breaks
I love working here its fun i love to help others and see them happy , i like to do for the homeless i enjoy cooking the food and serving them .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace,family sitting,team working atmosphere.
Assist Site Manager (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAApril 26, 2012
Pros: feeding the elderly, handycap the best meals, i can provide for them
Cons: long unexpected hours, the unexspected emergency's
My day starts by checking the phone messages to see if we had any employees called in are coming in late,
. Heating up the ovens and steam tables, filling it with water. Commuicating with the head manager and director about supply orders and menus for the following week,
I learn something every day to improve my work ethics and time and things not to – more... do also,
My coworkers were great people,working hard together to get the jobs done. We also had some great voluteers working with too
I believe that are management team worked well and complimented each other.
The hardest part of this job was stopping what I was doing to go home because I wanted everything to be easier for the next shift
so I'm always trying to make sure that all is in order before leaving

The most enjoyable part of this job is making sure the seniors are
getting the best meals and service possible from the food to the delivery's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there
Food Prep (Former Employee), Reading, PAApril 18, 2012
Pros: good work environment
Cons: just short hours
The other workers were easy to get along with. The manager was nice and freindly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Worker
Van Driver (Former Employee), 515 Haven StreetMarch 1, 2012
Flexible hours, great working environment, team-building. Must be willing to work in all weather conditions.