Find companies:
Meals on Wheels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

Meals on Wheels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviornment
Development/ Special Events Intern (Former Employee), Merrillville, INMarch 21, 2013
Great Place! Everyone is friendly! It is like one big happy family!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cook/Cleaner (Current Employee), Canton, OHMarch 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Fun and fast paste I like woring in places that help others. It's a great place to learn and grow with lots of faces that depend on you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giving back to the local community
Volunteer (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSFebruary 25, 2013
Meals on Wheels was a great way to give back to the local community. Throughout the years I have had about 3 different routes, meaning that I met a number of different families while volunteering there. With that being said, I was not paid, and this was strictly voluntary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer at Meals on Wheels
Volunteer (Former Employee), Charter Township of Clinton, MIFebruary 11, 2013
This was a volunteer opportunity that I got in 2007. Everyone was friendly and I was able to meet some wonderful elderly people. The hardest part of the job was waiting for people to come to the door because sometimes it would take a while and I didn't just want to leave the house. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the home bound seniors. – more... A lot of them didn't have visitors and they were elated to see me deliver their meals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work with lots of friendly employees.
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Massillon, OHFebruary 1, 2013
I have learned many things working with the Meals on Wheels staff. They keep me busy with filing, answering phone lines, assisting with billing, volunteers, and helping to keep track of the meal counts for each month. I enjoy working with the staff because they are friendly and assist with any questions that I may have about the work I need to do. The – more... hardest part of the job is trying to understand the elderly clients that call in to report days they will not be home. The best part of working at Meals on Wheels is the feeling of being able to help get food to those who are in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment, great community involvement, and professional organization.
Nutrition Intern (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: a work environment where one can excel as an individual as well as a member of a team.
As a nutrition intern for Meals on Wheels of Tarrant County I was able to further my experience in nutrition education and community involvement. I attended monthly board meeting discussing issues such as controlling food costs,the monthly budget, and the capital campaign for the new building. I was able to gain field experience in food safety as well – more... as quality and control. I was also a project manager for a national nutrition assessment survey. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very well managed place and a great chance to meet people who are actually important.
cook (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 12, 2013
it was a productive work place where the people actually cre about the needs of others. my typical day of work i would get the meals together and start the day off right. i learned everyone needs help so why not offer help if it is really needed. the hardest part of the job was the hours were nott enough an at the time i had transportation issues but – more... now i do not i am capable of working to my ability and more. the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing i was apart of helping someone to be able to enjoy a hot meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Meals on Wheels
Lead Field Site Associate (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: flexiblilty
Cons: part-time
It is a great experience to work for Meals On Wheels. I have the opportunity to work with so many people and that is what I love to do. My work day consisted of coordinating volunteers for the daily delivers. I sorted and packed coolers for delivers to our clients. The hardest part of the day was the last minute call outs. I was have seconds to find – more... someone to find someone to fill the spot. That was a rush but it was always rewarding. Our goal was to ensure that no one went hungry. Awesome! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel good about what you do.
Senior Resource Connection (Former Employee), Dayton, OHDecember 27, 2012
Pros: working for a company that cares.
Cons: low pay, no benifits.
I think that one of the largest problems today is that people are unhappy at work, Senior Resource Connection allowed me to learn what serving the community really means. At SRC I saw first hand the teamwork it takes to ensure hot meals to thousands of people in need. No other job did I receive so many "thank you's" every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant - Receptionist (Former Employee), Merrillville, IN. 46410November 19, 2012
Pros: free lunch, great caring people.
Cons: low pay through aarp
Working 18 hours per week as an Admin. Assistant. Answering phones and taking applications for service. Calling customers if there is going to be time delay for the delivery and checking on clients making sure that are okay and seeing that there are no problems when delivering food.

Co-workers are all nice and get along. We all work together to take – more... care of customer problems and concerns. Everyone will go above the call to get the food out to the customer Monday through Friday and truly are concerned about the welfare of clients.

Hardest part of job is that sometimes we don't have control over
the elements.

The most enjoyable part of the job is time flys, I like data entry and pride myself on accuracy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place and nice people
Volunteer (Current Employee), Bozrah, CTNovember 14, 2012
was and is a volunteer position. love to work in kitchens and with food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to meet people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Arlington, MASeptember 26, 2012
Pros: met new friends, had free lunch and had good hours
Cons: would have liked better benefits(healthcare, dental, etc.)
I would arrive at about 11:00am and shoot the breeze with my fellow workers and talk with the manager about any changes in my route.I would then pack the boxes and bags of food in my car and head out on my route.With a few changes in the clientele over the years,I had the same customers day in and day out and got to know them pretty well,mostly on a – more... first name basis.I would chat with most of them and some were not as talkative as the others but were always friendly none the less.After I dropped off the food to the last person I would head back to base and have lunch with other drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt like I have making a deference in the community
Customer Service/ Dietary Assistant (Former Employee), Merrillville, INSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: free lunch and great co workers
I would walk into work and start getting ready for the trap line to get the food ready. me and my co-workers would put food in the tray and push them down the line to be sealed. after that someone at the end would count out for the volunteers for the different places the food needed to go. The hardest part of the job was standing but we would have a – more... good long break before we would start the other job. The most enjoyable thing was that I was doing some thing good for others who couldn't get out for there house to get a meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meals on wheels
Volunteer (Former Employee), college park, mdAugust 20, 2012
I help feed children from low income neighborhoods. also provided them with mentorships to help guide then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Marina, CAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: meeting people
Cons: used my car
just something to help the elderly and disabled. It was rewarding when I see there faces brighten up because they have a guest, I love it always look forward to the holidays to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Delivery / Food Preparation (Former Employee), Linden, NJAugust 6, 2012
Pros: making sure the elderly and tge sick ate.
Loved this job.. I enjoyed prepping food and delivering to the sick and elderly and the clients were nice and felt like the depended on me everyday for there meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meals on wheels
Food Server,Dishwasher and I Also Deliver (Current Employee), Needles, CAJuly 31, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
I work with the seniors and i also make sure they are doing okay and I have learned to be patiencce and the hardest part of my job is trying to learn how our seniors they have bad days and good days and my favorite part is working with my mother and learing how too be patience and learn about them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Driver (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: nothing
i enjoyed delivering meals to clients in the home. my coworkers were really nice. it wasnt anything that i disliked about this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cats
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Portage, INJuly 17, 2012
pet the cats, give them some company, enjoy your time with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Food Prep/Delivery (Former Employee), Canton, OHJuly 12, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: delivering in bad weather
Great place to work, learned how to manage time well, serve quality meals, how to work as a team, deal with complaints, and enjoyed being around the best working team in the business.

About Meals on Wheels

We are Meals on Wheels.