Meals on Wheels Employee Reviews in United States

Found 150 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Parities
delivery driver (Former Employee) –  san franciscoMarch 23, 2015
deliver meals to home bound clients. Nice people. heavy days on Fridays due to weekend food delivery. Great co workers.
Pros
off early
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job but low pay
RAIN SENIOR OPTIONS- DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 2, 2015
I loved what I used to do but the pay is not practical. It is definitely a temporary job for people who need extra pocket money.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is fun. They play cards and watch tv
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Luling, TXFebruary 8, 2015
Preparing the food to be delivered and served to the elderly. Being able to hear all the stories the elderly tells to each other and to me.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
warehouse/delivery (Former Employee) –  Pompano BeachSeptember 16, 2013
Love meeting older people and delivering food. management was fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job providing meals to the elderly and homebound.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYMay 25, 2012
Arriving promptly to work I would prepare the hot meals along with my co-workers. I would drive a refrigerated hot oven truck to different routes each week. My co-workers were always eager to assist one another. The hardest part of th job was accepting the fact the within life comes death. The most enjoyabe part of the job was the elderly and homebound recipients were always grateful for delivering their meals each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer at Meals on Wheels
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Charter Township of Clinton, MIFebruary 11, 2013
This was a volunteer opportunity that I got in 2007. Everyone was friendly and I was able to meet some wonderful elderly people. The hardest part of the job was waiting for people to come to the door because sometimes it would take a while and I didn't just want to leave the house. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the home bound seniors. A lot of them didn't have visitors and they were elated to see me deliver their meals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest,fun,and love working with the nice elderly people.
Helper/Server (Former Employee) –  Fresno,CADecember 7, 2011
It was a great work experince for me. It wasnt a regular job it was volunteer work. I got to work one on one with the elderly people i served them lunch,played games with them an had great conversations with them. I loved working there for the summer i got along with everyone an everyday i came to work they were always to happy to see me.
Pros
free lunch, voulnteer work
Cons
summer job not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun talking with my old friends
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 8, 2014
It was really nice worked for them.
In a typical day I used to deliver food for elderly people every day. It was really nice to know that they were having their meals on time. I feel happy whenever they started to smile when they saw me at their door. In my time working there I learned how to be patient and how to deal with people.
Pros
making others happy
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meals on wheels
Food Server,Dishwasher and I Also Deliver (Current Employee) –  Needles, CAJuly 31, 2012
I work with the seniors and i also make sure they are doing okay and I have learned to be patiencce and the hardest part of my job is trying to learn how our seniors they have bad days and good days and my favorite part is working with my mother and learing how too be patience and learn about them
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the elderly and playing games
Delivery Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Luling, TXOctober 13, 2014
Being able to go everyday or even once a week just to see the elderly gather around just to talk and to play games.
Pros
eating lunch with the elderly and playing games with them.
Cons
not enough hours in the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help get food to people in need
Volunteer Experience (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 29, 2014
I had to help deliver meals to people who could not get out in the community and get food for themselves.
Pros
helping people in need
Cons
when it was over
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a feeling of self worth and comfortable place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 11, 2014
It was fun and I was proud to part of a team that loved our job. It was easy to get along because sometimes we each run into a problem that requires a helping hand..
Pros
relaxing atmosphere and doing something rewarding
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job.
Delivery Assistant- Delivery (Former Employee) –  San Pablo, CANovember 7, 2014
We worked very well and we made a good team. 5+ stars go to Meals on Wheels for delivering 2 squares to the folks who can't get up and at 'em on a day-to-day basis.
Pros
being an excellent worker
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meals On Wheels
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Martinez, CASeptember 24, 2013
This is a very important program for our communities. For most this will be the only balanced meal they will have all day. So many are lonely and look forward to the visit. The volunteers make sure they are safe and not being abused. I just cannot say enough good things about M.O.W
Pros
everything they do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn how to become a medical assistant
Food Server/Prep (volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 23, 2014
I enjoyed the classes front/back office. I learned high to take vitals and administer medications.
Pros
get a better job
Cons
no longer attending school.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful, positive vibe, great feeling and something I would do again
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 27, 2014
It was a volunteering/community service experience and it was a great feeling helping and feeding others. Making sure they don't have a empty stomach.
Pros
helping out patrons and serving them great food.
Cons
no cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 7, 2014
Meals on Wheels is a wonderful place to volunteer to help those seniors who cannot provide for themselves. I was able to work with other amazing volunteers and staff, as well as meet some of the seniors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and amazing experience helping others
Cook/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMarch 22, 2014
The days were always fun. Cooking and cleaning were not the most fun of the day however. The most fun times were spent delivering the meals to the elderly and getting to engage in great conversation with each person.
Pros
freemeals
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and oragnized place to work.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAOctober 10, 2013
I learned more office skills and was trained in going through particular journals. My day at work included, but not limited to answering phone calls, sending and receiving fax, corresponding to mail, creating client folders electronically and by paper.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giving back to the local community
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSFebruary 25, 2013
Meals on Wheels was a great way to give back to the local community. Throughout the years I have had about 3 different routes, meaning that I met a number of different families while volunteering there. With that being said, I was not paid, and this was strictly voluntary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 180 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.3