Meals on Wheels Employee Reviews

Found 138 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Food Expeditor (Former Employee) –  San Pedro, CAJuly 25, 2015
A typical day at work includes rinsing off fruits and vegetables and utensils and preparing meals for the elderly. We often had long breaks when we completed our tasks on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is fun. They play cards and watch tv
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Luling, TXFebruary 8, 2015
Preparing the food to be delivered and served to the elderly. Being able to hear all the stories the elderly tells to each other and to me.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job.
Delivery Assistant- Delivery (Former Employee) –  San Pablo, CANovember 7, 2014
We worked very well and we made a good team. 5+ stars go to Meals on Wheels for delivering 2 squares to the folks who can't get up and at 'em on a day-to-day basis.
Pros
being an excellent worker
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 16, 2012
The volunteers are amazing and the staff is supportive. It's good to be a part of an organization that does good for the community.
Pros
good atmosphere, professional, non-profit work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help seniors get needed meals
Volunteer, Willamalane Senior Center Meals (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ORJune 7, 2013
I worked with others to prepare lunches for the senior citizens
Pros
it is good for our elders
Cons
there are many seniors who don't know they can get help
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love the fact that i am making a difference in the community
site supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 26, 2015
i am a site supervisor over paid and volunteer drivers responsible for delivering over 300 meals monday through friday.
Cons
only 3 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good expriance
cook (Former Employee) –  Bonham, TXJune 10, 2013
I love going to work because of the learning and coverstions, and the cooking for hem watching them enjoy good food. the hardest was if some one did'nt show up tha day for a meal
Pros
free lunch
Cons
good breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Delivering for the Needy (Former Employee) –  Far Rockaway, NYApril 22, 2014
I loved working with these people they were great, everyday I would meet someone new. It was good meeting all different people from all walks of life and conversating with them.
Pros
great job
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn how to become a medical assistant
Food Server/Prep (volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 23, 2014
I enjoyed the classes front/back office. I learned high to take vitals and administer medications.
Pros
get a better job
Cons
no longer attending school.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, WADecember 11, 2015
Wonderful experience learning new skills and experiencing the helpful culture. Great people to work with, everyone is really nice to each other.
Pros
People are nice
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to give back
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMay 13, 2015
This was a great opportunity to give back to those in the community and to interact with others. It was very fast paced and everyone was willing to work with one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen Director
Rainbow Senior Center (Former Employee) –  Boerne, TXJune 24, 2014
I thought this job was wonderful. We cooked for the senior citizens and provided someone for them to talk to. The Rainbow Senior Center was a great place to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work study position
Work Study Employee (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIApril 10, 2014
The staff and volunteers at Meals on Wheels are enjoyable to work with, and providing meals to homebound individuals in Ann Arbor is incredibly rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help get food to people in need
Volunteer Experience (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 29, 2014
I had to help deliver meals to people who could not get out in the community and get food for themselves.
Pros
helping people in need
Cons
when it was over
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
Associate (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMay 23, 2015
The hours are not long so if needed to only work a few hours would be good. Mostly dealing with customers helping bring in donations or loading things in cars.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice to give back
Assistant Kitchen Manager (Current Employee) –  Show low azMarch 16, 2014
Cooking at the senior citizens center was a nice place to work The management was nice my co-worker was enjoyable to work with
Pros
easy job
Cons
no money
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun work place
Server (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 29, 2012
I love working here its fun i love to help others and see them happy , i like to do for the homeless i enjoy cooking the food and serving them .
Pros
easy work place
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Intern (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 26, 2013
I have worked there as an intern only. It was great working there, helping older people and provide them with as many benefits as possible.
Pros
good working atmosphere
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LET ME SEE
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CAAugust 5, 2013
I REMEMBER MEETING A ONE HUNDRED AND ELEVEN YEAR OLD MAN. I WOULDNT FORGET MY FIRST TIME MEETING ONE OF THE OLDEST MAN IN MY LIFE TIME. I HAD A LOT OF FUN HELPING EVERYONE.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer director
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXAugust 10, 2015
Love working with the elderly. Loved the volunteers. My job was basically talking with them and making sure everything was ready for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture