Mecca Bingo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive company
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  SunderlandNovember 10, 2017
good work place good ethics and fun. respectable company great benefits and staff are very friendly. I worked here for 11 year and loved every minute and learned a whole lot.
Pros
always around pepole
Cons
shift patterns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Dundee, Dundee CityNovember 8, 2017
This was a very enjoyable place to work. I loved everything about this job and it sometimes didn't feel like I was working. Highly recommended place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  KingstandingOctober 25, 2017
Terrible pay, under staffed and overall a totally un- professional environment. training is non-existent. long term members of staff get to do what they want when they want whilst new ones are asked to do all the work. Team members telling the management what to do. The hours are split shift which means staying all day with a lunch break for an hour.

Bullied by other members of staff
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and vibrante workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  HalifaxOctober 16, 2017
Only worked for mecca bingo for a short while and left due to being bullied by a member of staff who couldn't accept me for who I am.

Apart from being bullied I loved working for Mecca Bingo, each shift was different and varied and fun packed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash line
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wrexham,October 7, 2017
this was one of the best cjobs i have ever had cthe people were fun to work with managment were nice flexable if needed to be the staff would socialise out work
Pros
staff
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great - If you don’t mind reducing your social life!
Team Member (Current Employee) –  DagenhamOctober 5, 2017
Mecca is a fantastic company to work for. I have worked for the company now for around 7 years. No two days are ever the same - and the the customers and your colleagues are what makes the job so enjoyable. It’s like being part of another family (a fairly big one at that!)

The only thing I would say - is don’t expect too much of a life outside of work - as they will tell you that you are on a “flexible rota” - which is a HR-correct way of saying you can work 14+ hours each day (and all weekend, every weekend) - and you cannot complain about it.
Pros
50% off Food, Colleagues, Networking, Friendly, Progression
Cons
Long hours, No Social Life, Bad Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca is a very fun place to work but can be very consuming in time around the lifestsyle of employees.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Dundee, Dundee CitySeptember 14, 2017
Mecca is a great place to learn and advance in and it has certainly helped me a lot over the years with experience in every field such as customer service, bar work, working with food and working with large amounts of money.
Pros
Free drinks, half prices meals, free meals after 6 hour shift.
Cons
Split shift takes up entire day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen CitySeptember 9, 2017
A day at mecca can be very busy and stressful but with the help of everyone doing their job makes it a lot easier. Management At Mecca are all approachable, and also understanding about anything. hardest part of the job is Saturday nights because its te busiest time of the week and we can get 800+ people in, and we could be short staffed which makes it a lot worst
Pros
free lunches and free taxi
Cons
short staff and long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Office Controller (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, DevonAugust 20, 2017
I have worked for Mecca Bingo since 2012. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time working for the company. .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Dundee CityAugust 15, 2017
loved working at mecca great staff and most customers felt likeifamily i learned how to do stocktaking and the daily running of kitchen i also learned about cashline and booksales but my fav part of job was working in kitchen doing cooking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here. I left because the hours impacted on family life.
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, DurhamAugust 7, 2017
I worked here for ten years but the hours started to impact on my family life. I was sad to leave but i got a job at Morrisons wher the hours were better.
Pros
I loved working with the staff and customers
Cons
The hours were impacting on my family life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  GlasgowJuly 11, 2017
well mecca bingo I loved my wee job in here, was always full of laughter and smiles would definitely return here for another time and love helping others out
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen CityJuly 6, 2017
I would rather not disclose my thoughts and opinions regarding this line of work as I do not feel it is relevant to any future career. As such I will leave a review.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Domestic Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Great Yarmouth, NorfolkJuly 6, 2017
enjoyed my time here. People were fun and made the working environment have a bright atmosphere. Just a shame that it has now closed down and is now a nightclub.
Pros
people, customers
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people and co-workers
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Dundee CityJuly 1, 2017
Must have great customer service skills and a positive attitude. Was long hours on a Saturday if working weekends.staff were great and friendly. Gets very busy some afternoons and evenings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workplace
Bingo Caller (Former Employee) –  Andover, England, UKJune 8, 2017
Typical day is you are always on the go, I did learn a lot though but with it being a small business didn't have a lot of staff so you had to stay on your toes, and help each other even if they didn't want it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wrexham, WrexhamJune 5, 2017
Must have great customer service skills and a positive attitude. Was long hours on a Saturday if working weekends.staff were great and friendly. Gets very busy some afternoons and evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid Job
Senior Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, GlasgowMay 27, 2017
Management are so rude and don't appreciate anything you do for them. A lot of the staff are arrogant and constantly stick with cliques. It's one rule for one person and another for another.
Pros
none.
Cons
long hours, wages, management, staff, holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Team Member - Full Time (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater ManchesterMay 27, 2017
There are excellent staff and good customers to work with, however poor pay and poor management (only a specific branch however) not all clubs have poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Manager (Current Employee) –  nationwideMay 12, 2017
Good place to get you started and trained in management but company values leave something to be desired with the workplace culture not as it was when I joined
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mecca Bingo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 145 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4