Find companies:
MedExpress
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

MedExpress Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment where patient care is a priority
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Royal Palm Beach, FLJuly 30, 2014
I have learned much from my time with this company. The employees are very friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To Work
Front Office Assistant (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 27, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: short breaks
Besides having a Manager who didn't like me, I loved every part of my job. I loved my co-workers even only being there for a short period of time. I learned things and could really talk to them as family in a way. The hardest part was getting used to the 12 hour shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eclectic mix
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), DanvilleJune 24, 2014
We see all types of things, injuries, illnesses, occ med and injections. Always something different happening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & a fun workplace
Front Office Assistant/Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJune 24, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: short breaks
I love how close and helpful all employees are. Its like a family, home away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Job I've Ever Had
Front Office (Current Employee), PennsylvaniaJune 15, 2014
Pros: 12 hr. shifts/ 3 day week/ free food and drinks/ great healthcare
Cons: it's a great place
I don't know how so many people can say this is a terrible place to work....maybe I got lucky with my clinic and work family but we are very close, we help each other through the fast paced day. It is a long day, but you get used to it and it frees up time for vacations, and other things in your personal life. They have a budget for the center for food – more... and drinks, the kitchen is always full. I have worked for this company for two years and never packed a lunch. Management is awesome, people get promoted within the company and it is very easy to express concerns or questions. Medexpress is a privately owned company, however, which is what seems to confuse people about their care. There are a few insurances they do not accept and rules they have in place in order to collect upon services performed. I like the think of it as sort of 'get what you pay for' type of service- It might be a little more expensive, depending upon your insurance policy, but it's totally worth it, getting in and out in a timely fashion and not having to wait at the ER. I love this company and want to continue working for them as long as possible. I think the way they update and inform us as staff members is great, changing is evolving and you have to evolve to stay relevant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great physicians and staff.
RN (Current Employee), Port Huron, MIJune 8, 2014
Pros: great training and staff
I enjoy working at MedExpress. Everyone works as a team and patients are given great care, fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready to get micro managed
Front Office Assistant (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJune 5, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: horrible management, including upper management who likes to micromanage everyone.
The people that work in the individual clinics are great coworkers. The problem lies with management including upper management. They only care about numbers and statistics but always harp on us to give patients "Great care fast" but in order to do that we have to be appropriately staffed and we never are. The patient volume does not justify the need – more... for more personnel they say but then want us to get patients out quickly. Its an impossible situation that is only getting worse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The question is: What isn't wrong with this company?
FOA (Former Employee), CulpeperJune 4, 2014
Cons: management, upper management, employees not understanding the severity of hippa, out of control gossip
A typical day at MedExpress is starting out at 8:38 AM and having about 15 minutes of sanity before all the craziness begins. Once you are in your seat it is a never ending day. Which on some days employees are lucky to even squeeze a 15 minute break in. Even the men and women who work the 12 hour shifts. Throughout the day you deal with policies and – more... procedures that change more frequently than one may change their under garments. On top of the training being POOR, and with lack of supervision by the office manager, you now must basically make your own judgement about how to properly execute a new procedure. Only certain people (Boss's Pets) are spoken to about changes, whilst others are left in the dark. Weeks later when things are not being done properly the reprimanding begins. The lack of social skills, lack of communication skills, and little real life awareness in management is terrifying. Once every three months a meeting is held to go over new changes. Once every THREE MONTHS!! Does anyone see an issue there? And please let us not miss talking about their absentee point system. It is actually not a concrete policy, but is heavily followed by the office manager in the Culpeper branch. It is there to keep hooligans from calling out an unnecessary amount of times for non-emergency reasons. However, in Culpeper it is used to penalize people for sever illness, children being in the hospital, inability to make it into work in severe weather conditions, and many other ridiculous reasons.I was unable to leave on a day that I had found out a family member passed away, and was horribly upset because I was told "If you leave you will receive a point and be written up". It is used as a threat, not as a tool. Let us not forget those souls who unfortunately have to work 2 (or more) jobs. MedExpress WILL NOT accommodate your second job. Even if MedExpress, is in fact, your second job. Leaving people to struggle and loose work that they so desperatly need. Another prime example is a new employee that was hired for part time who held a full time job at another urgent care. She works a set schedule of 4 days at her other job. The office manager (knowing all of this) put her on three days a week at our center. Leaving this poor woman working a month straight. When she spoke up about it she was chastised and told "I went out on a limb for you". This corporation is FLAWED. It has started to turn away customers if you do not leave a credit card on file. Can you believe that? You bring your child in deathly ill, and they will go untreated unless they have a copy of your card information. If you refuse you are now forced to go up the road to the er (if it is on a weekend or you are unable to get into a PCP) and spend a ridiculous amount of money there. The better business bureau needs to investigate this place, and management needs to be watched more closely. If you do not have to do not work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Front office assistant (Former Employee), altoona, paMay 22, 2014
This is the worst company I have ever worked for. The management is there to help and guide you throughout the day; the manager would constantly leave to take her kids to practices or plays or where ever they needed to go. This is all while she was supposed to be there helping us. On our busiest days she would leave the center to go have meals with – more... her family when we were stranded or stuck with only two people at the front. This company is poorly ran! I would never recommend this place to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work! A strong management team is in place with a commitment to the patients the organization serves.
Vice President of Operations (Current Employee), Morgantown, WVMay 15, 2014
Pros: strong leadership and excellent culture
Excellent organization with great values and vision.

The organization is committed to Great Care Fast and strives to achieve this with each and every visit.

Days are busy in this environment, the work is challenging and rewarding. The culture at ME is the recognize the hard work of its employees and ensure they know the job done was a good one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Receptionist (Current Employee), Royal Palm Beach, FLMay 10, 2014
I would not look to work for this company in the future, reason being; they are too biased and the managers there in my opinion are not properly trained nor are they fair and just in their decision makings. loved my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great company to be a part of.
Corporate Analyst (Current Employee), Corporate-Morgantown, WVMay 9, 2014
Pros: free care, bonuses, company perks and salary
MedExpress is one of the best companies to work for not only in their Admin offices but also the clinics. The job work and balance of life that the company in stills is one in a million. The benefits are great! 100% covered visits for employees and family. They pay above the expected rate and based on experience and job performance. Job security is – more... there, most, if not all of the negative feedback on here is from employees who weren't a good fit with the company based on their skills and attitude. If you get a chance to work for a national growing company, this is the one!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor training, lack of real leaders, negative culture
Nurse (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VAMay 6, 2014
Pros: the doctors and other staff was a great team
Cons: lack of real leadership, low salary, poor training
The concept is great, however they do not give you the training nor the tools to accomplish the goals set fourth by the company. The trainers are a bunch of Radiology techs on a power trip and don't really know anything about the clinical setting. Documentation is sketchy at best. They have anybody with a license administering medications without passing – more... any test and no knowledge of said medications and the managers have no healthcare experience. No wonder patients are dying! There is also this culture of tattle-tailing that is promoted, fraud is committed daily, they ask for feedback from employees but don't really want it. The only plus was the people I worked with were a great team.I could go on and on! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Issues
Data Technician (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVApril 29, 2014
Information was not conveyed in timely manner. No clear direction very little job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Care about their employees
Assistant Center Operations Director (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 28, 2014
MedExpress really cares about their employees and the work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Organization and Horrible Management Techniques
Accounts Receivable (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVApril 26, 2014
Pros: a few coworkers
Cons: management, benefits, lack of organization
The position I held was at Headquarters located in Morgantown. The lack of organization is unreal, the more they tried to organize something - the worse it became. You could ask the same question to 3 different people and get 3 different answers. People that had "titles", would either give you a wrong answer because they wouldn't admit not knowing or – more... shrug you off as if you were a bother, even though that is their job - to answer questions and to be there for their team. People do not get positions based on knowledge. They get it from lying and being 2 faced. The more you are willing to be a "tattle-tail", the more you advance. The majority of the people with these higher titles, basically belittle others and talk down to them. They also seem to not know basic knowledge, yet they are considered to be trainers or team leads. Then you have to consider the fact that the head person(s) is known to lie to everyone else, basically to get the work done and make themselves look good. There was also mass layoffs, where they laid off people who up until their last day - was training others to take over their job and answering questions to team leads. These people were training others who are known to sit at their desk and watch movies on their phone, yet they still have a job. The people they laid off made no sense, besides not being liked by the "cool group" who made the decisions. They cut overtime, then right after the layoffs they ask us to work overtime. So they layoff people for restructuring and finance reasons, but then are willing to pay overtime to the rest of us. Make that make sense. The benefits also kept getting worse each year, as well as taking away any little incentive to stay there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad manangers
Radiology Technologist (Former Employee), pennsylvaniaApril 18, 2014
Pros: only have work 3 days a week
Cons: lack of management, favoritism, unstable work enviorment
This place is only concerned about numbers and not patient care. They are constantly telling the providers that they have to treat the patients faster. They are putting patient care in jeopardy. If the center is busy and the provider is having trouble keeping up they will not send them help. There are some nights we are there until 11:00 because the – more... provider has to complete all their charts from the day. They will write you up for any little issue even if it is not in your job description. The management has their favorites and will make anyone else's time there miserable. If the manager does not like you they will find little faults with you in order to terminate you. If you are not one of the managers favorites they will blame everything on you and make you do all the work in the clinic. Don't even think about taking a sick day either. You are to find your own coverage and even if you do you get in trouble for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible and Unproffesional
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Culpeper, VAApril 3, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: everything
This was a horrible place to work the pay was terrible for all the work they expect you to do. Benefits are a joke. They expect you to sit at a desk for 13 hours with nothing to do and only a 30 minute lunch break and you can't leave the center. They open the doors at 8:45am and you can not close then until 9:00 pm and if you have a slow doctor you – more... will maybe even be there until Midnight Soo a 15hour shift with only a 30 minute lunch. Management is a joke so unorganized and confused never knows any answers to questions we may have always have to ask from above. They only care about volume and not quality patient care, they will look at you for 5 minutes and then determine your diagnosis without any significant test being ran. They are big on misdiagnosis Prescribe the same medicine to every patient. Read a book to determine patient diagnosis instead of knowledge they went to school for. They state they are big on confidentiality but walls are sooooo thin you can hear every conversation even doctors talking negative about patients. No holiday pay unless you work. They hammer employees about customer service but turn patients away if they do not have a co-pay instead of billing them like every other healthcare agency. If your in a real emergency and ran out in a hurry and forgot your license don't think about going to Medexpress they will deny you quick fast and in a hurry. They ask to see your ID and insurance card everytime you come in even if you been there 10 times and Yess it is already scanned into the system they just wanna be annoying and keep asking you for the same information over again. They ask you your name and date of birth 1,000 times like you changed when u walked to the exam room just letting everybody know who you are because everybody can hear everything. I enjoyed working in healthcare and doing everything in my will to provide excellent customer service to my patients but Medexpress is not the place you want to work at DO NOT waste your time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Front Office Assistant (Former Employee), Huntington, WVMarch 31, 2014
The Hours are very long and it is hard to have time with the family. But there are days off that I really enjoyed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with professionals. We have a fun group who bring high level of customer service, and medical backgrounds.
Front Office Assistant (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 21, 2014
Pros: even though we have serious situations it is still a fun place to work.
Cons: at this time i really do not have any cons.
Even though I have never worked in a medical environment, I have learned that it is possible to grow even in unfamiliar surroundings. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing patients who leave and give our staff high points on our customer service surveys.

1 2 3 4 5