Mediacom Communications Corporation

Mediacom Communications Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 347 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive warehouse with good people
Warehouse Associate/Receiving/Oracle (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOJuly 21, 2017
Great work relationships. There are chances to make more money but it's very hard to move up here. Not stressful like alot of other warehouses. Good enviroment.
Pros
Great benefits and discounts
Cons
Can't seem to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply if you want to hate your job.
Installer Technician (Former Employee) –  Dagsboro, DEJuly 18, 2017
You will be forced into on call, you will also be forced to do work you are not trained to do. If you show that you are intelligent you will bare the brunt of work while the slackers get easy days. Promotions are for managers favorites. And you will also have to lie to customers about service issues.
Pros
Take home van.
Cons
Poor training, poor team work, poor advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Technician/Installer (Former Employee) –  Waveland, MSJuly 14, 2017
Work was hard and back breaking. Long hours and given too hard of a workload. I wouldn't recommend working here unless you are prepared to work several hours overtime.
Pros
lots of pto, overtime
Cons
long hours, too high workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Sales
Direct Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charleston, ILJuly 12, 2017
Great place to work. Great management and flexability in the job. Fun and minimal stress. Enjoyed my time there very much. Moved that is the only reason I left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning expierence
Service Technician II (Former Employee) –  North Webster, INJuly 12, 2017
I was a service tech, I did service calls for both residential and commercial customers. While working for mediacom i obtained my bb1 certification, And my customer service and sales for techs through ncti Jones. I also went to managed voice and pri training.
Pros
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Internet Service Tech (Former Employee) –  Gulf Breeze, FLJuly 10, 2017
great place to start out if you are interested in troubleshooting networking, modems, backbone tivo or video issues. Very good people at the GB location. Must be willing to endure angry frustrated customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting good people
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAJuly 7, 2017
getting work orders to perform our day
how to install tv and internet for customers
the hardest part of the job is carrying a big ladders to perform your job
meeting different people everyday
Pros
meeting good people
Cons
working in the rain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Service and Sales Representive (Former Employee) –  ArizonaJune 25, 2017
Good company to work for, plenty of advancements within company. Have courses you can take to earn extra pay but only 50 cents limit per year. Family feel with the company, they care about you and your family. Enjoyed meeting customers and enjoyed coworkers.
Pros
yearly reviews with pay raises
Cons
a lot of parts to job, can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at a desk and had fun helping customers
Internet Tech Rep (Former Employee) –  Gulf Breeze, FLJune 24, 2017
Coworkers were fun but managers could be distant or no where to be found when you needed help. But had a in store shop for food and drinks, breaks were hard to come by. In most though the customers always being put on hold and calling in for the same problems made the company lack luster and ashamed to work for.
Pros
Hours were good and benefits were decent
Cons
Long drive to work, Products were not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job, hate the company.
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Chanhassen, MNJune 19, 2017
Being a cable service tech is a great job, but Mediacom is a very poorly run company. Service techs are continuously overbooked, making for very stressful, frustrating work days.
Pros
You can take your work vehical home.
Cons
No breaks, poor dispatching results in overbooking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Field Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Blooming Grove, NYJune 19, 2017
A typical day included building analyzing statistics and building quota for technicians in the field. Additionally, I would provide hardware and networking support to the technicians.
Pros
Worked at corporate headquarters and knew met with CEO daily.
Cons
Lack of growth potential
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work, but stressful due to office politics.
Telephone activation specialist (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, ILJune 13, 2017
I worked at the Chillicothe office for 10 years, I started in Tech Support, and went to the Telephone Activation Center. The first 4-5 years was fine, but then our department was tasked with completing 3-4 other department's workload. Morale was always low, and the management team never really did much to try and boost morale. I had to quit, because I needed to go part-time so I could continue with school.
Pros
Good discounts on cable/internet services
Cons
Bad management, low morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJune 12, 2017
Good pay and benefits. Nice people. Stressful and repetitive at times. All and all a good employer. I enjoyed my time here for the most part. One of my best jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck
Installer (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAJune 12, 2017
Dismal working conditions, heavy daily workload, no support from management. Equipment old and in bad condition, training nonexistant and the pay is peanuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No management oversite
Broadband Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Keokuk, IAMay 29, 2017
On the job training - NO TRAINER
No way to advance.
Management not involved in day to day work load.
Cell phones will not update.
Work schedule is always changing thru the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ubiquitous cable company
Installer (Former Employee) –  Clinton, IAMay 27, 2017
Mediacom was and interesting place to work for. Was able to use and pick up some installation and troubleshooting experience though a seasonal busy time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work for low pay
Broadband specialist II (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAMay 26, 2017
Does not pay for the amount of work given. Managers are relaxed but put under alot of pressure due to corporate changes and policies that are made without any kind of forewarning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok to work.
Direct Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Albany, GA 31721May 26, 2017
This is an "ok" company to work for. Extremely hard to sell cable because they do not buy out contracts and they are way more expensive than competition. If you hit quota good money, if you don't you almost make 8 dollars an hour. It's a break or bust job.
Pros
Great money if you hit quota. Flexibility
Cons
Cable is too expensive, vs. competition like Sling Tv
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Cable Salesman (Former Employee) –  Valdosta, GAMay 25, 2017
Good place to work for and being able to get discounted cable is always a plus. Having a company vehicle saves on gas and being a auditor I was always traveling which was nice. Not good on a family man though.
Pros
cable prices
Cons
brother eye
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work enviroment
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNMay 24, 2017
I worked about 18 months with this company as a customer service rep. They did a lot of things I didn't like.

1. I got a shift bid of 7 a.m to 4 p.m. After 5 weeks of training ,They
bait and switched it to 12pm to 9pm. 3 weeks later they switched it to 1p to 10p. Shift bids mean nothing to these people. Just because you win a shift bid, doesn't mean they honor it.

2. The leads and supervisors are afraid of customers. So if you get an irate customer who is begging for a supervisor, you are on your own.
3. They misinformed us on commissions during training. For example they say you get 0.50 for selling HBO. When in fact you don't get anything.
4. They have forced overtime, with no regard for peoples personal lives or stress levels.
5. Management likes to call you on your cellphone on your time off. Asking you to come in and work.
Pros
Good people work there
Cons
Poverty level wages. Management has zero backbone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mediacom Communications Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 374 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0

Mediacom Communications Corporation Reviews by Location