Find companies:
Mediacom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Mediacom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment with a company gym & cafe
Field Support Center Representative (Current Employee), Chester, NYNovember 23, 2014
Pros: company gym, company holiday parties, cable reimbursement, lots of overtime
Cons: sitting at a desk for 8-10 hours
8-10 Hours of sitting & taking calls from cable techs & customer service reps & sometimes customers.

Learned about how a cable/telecommunication company works.

Management is very helpful & competent.

Co-workers are friendly & helpful especially those who have been with the company longer.

Hardest part is sitting at a desk all day.(not good for health)

Enjoy – more... the use of the company gym, the cable reimbursement, company holiday parties, lots of overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Corporate employee (Current Employee), Blooming Grove, NYNovember 20, 2014
Great company to work for. Good work/life balance. Friendly coworkers. Everyone works very hard and tries to take care of the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Yet Free Like Environment
Assistant Print Media Analyst (Former Employee), 498 Seventh AveNovember 12, 2014
Pros: client lunches
Cons: not any….
A typical day at the job required me to answer the phone. Meet with the media buyers, planners and potential clients within the LVMH umbrella. Co workers were easy to get along with. Due to it being an advertising agency the work climate was full of energy however still business because it wasn't the creative aspect of advertising. The most enjoyable – more... part was getting the opportunity to present to senior level executives ideas to further a product's features. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn, Grow, and Advance
Sr. Manager (Current Employee), Des Moines, IANovember 9, 2014
Pros: cable shows, benefits
If you know your stuff (or want to learn some stuff), and put your best foot forward you can't help but succeed here. Drive and ambition will take you far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
think of a slave camp
Retention Agent (Former Employee), Chillicothe, ILOctober 22, 2014
unfortunately this was a poorly ran business the management belittled workers and loved to gossip about workers very unprofessional and would not recommend working here if you have a family they are very demanding with hours and dont believe in taking time to take care of family my grandfather passed away and had just started and was told i needed to – more... come in and make up the hours or i would be terminated. My grandfathers services were 2 hours away and missed the visitation because i needed this job. I have friends that still work there but the things i hear are worse and worse they monitor your calls which is fine but instead of an instant message they talk about you right behind you on walky talkies so its even louder and your customer can hear it. Also they dont want you to have a supervisor take a call so you have to dilute the situation they tell us things to say and when the customer demands a sup we have to email it in and usually a week later they are calling in because a sup never called. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service/Install
Installer/Trouble Shooting Technician (Current Employee), Sun City, CAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: fast paced
Cons: can be overwhelming (constant sudden changes to work flow)
Typical day at work consists of supply and demand. Working and interacting with people on a regular basis. Personal vehicle assigned maybe in fair condition and working conditions will be nontraditional. (Attics, under dwellings, basements, dark and damp conditions)

You get a familiarization with basic cable methods and procedures via Company paid – more... training.

Management is fair as work is monitored occasionally. Co-workers are usually typical as far as everyone is there to do one thing and one thing only. Earn income and complete jobs as soon as possible.

The Hardest part of this avenue is the integration of methods that can be challenging for those not familiar with quick adaptation. Problem and troubleshooting is a constant when dealing with telecommunications.

The most enjoyable part of this job is being able to be exposed to different ethnic backgrounds and having a sense* of being an independent with responsibilities. When you are in the field you have the say on what can and cannot be done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people I work with
Customer service rep (Current Employee), Moline, ILOctober 14, 2014
Pros: you get a break every couple hours and the benefits.
Cons: i would like a set schedule. we have shift bids every 6 months
I am a customer service rep. I am on the phone all day with all types of customers and I try to solve all their issues whatever it may be. I have learned that when the customer is upset it is not at me and i should put myself in their position and realize they just want it resolved. I really enjoy my work environment. Everyone management and fellow – more... co workers are very friendly and willing to help with any issue. The hardest part of my job is when I dont know how to help the customer out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
installation and troubleshooting of cable tv services, which included fiber optics, internet, and telephone communications
Lead Technician (Former Employee), Thomasville, ALOctober 10, 2014
Pros: working with and meeting new people
Cons: lots of traveling in one day and late at night
Maintain 3 towns for cable tv, internet and telephone services. Troubleshooted line, residential and commercial customers.
Enjoyed working with and communicating with co-workers and meeting new people and resolving their issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediacom was a great business to work for
Technical Support (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLOctober 1, 2014
In a typical work day I would answer telephone calls pertaining to technical support malfunctions with our customers' cable modems. I learned many different codes to assist in fixing the customers' internet. The management was great and they were very friendly. The co-workers were also great and very knowledgeable, and I learned many things from them – more... by listening. The hardest part of the job was to remember all of the commands to fix the customers' cable modems. The most enjoyable part of the job was working overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant
CSSR (Former Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: advancement within the company, yearly raises, commision on sales, daily goals with games and winning prizes, christmas party with door prizes and bigger prizes throughout the night
Cons: unappreciated by corporate for all of the hard work and going beyond, sales mattered more than the customers, and the technical support and customer service representatives.
Excellent work experience for 4 1/2 years. Manangement was amazing in the beginning and dwindled toward the end. Co-workers were amazing, we worked hard, we were the company and had to represent it as such. I learned a lot about people, especially corporate and customer service. Its not the easiest job, but if you actually care about what you do and – more... strive to do the best possible, you will succeed at anything. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping others, when I could help a customer that had been having problems for a long time, and no one else seemed to do anything about it, just knowing that I cared made a difference to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An eye-opening experience in customer service
Lead Customer Service & Sales Representative (Current Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 21, 2014
Mediacom is a loveable company. I thoroughly love working there. The background is inspiring, the company is not too big but, still noticeable on a national front. With so many call centers and divisions, interaction is high among co-workers and customers. One must have tough skin when dealing with tough customers and accounts, but overall it is an – more... eye-opening and enjoyable experience in customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going job
District Sales Representative (Current Employee), Fitzgerald, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: make your own schedule
Cons: job is not secure
A typical work day at Mediacom consist of going to different neighborhoods and trying to speak wth customers and potential customers about the product. Throughtout the day you may get calls from those potential customers to set appointments with to go back and speak to about possibly signing up for the companies services. I learned about the products – more... of the company wich include cable, internet, and phone service. I learned about the installation process. I learned more customer service techniques to add to what I have already learned . I have learned to better self motivate myself and how to overcome objections from a customer when they do not want the service. My manger is always available for his employees and is very helpful. If he can not answer his phone when we call he always get back to us in a timely manner. All of my co-workers are very friendly and easy to work with. Everyone works well together as a team. The hardest part of the job would probably be working in the elements. The most enjoyable part about the job is the people you meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Service Technician (Former Employee), Marion, ILSeptember 11, 2014
Always had something do and management was great. Never thought I was going to lose my job because it was job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't have a summary
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MOSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: cheap cable
Cons: management is terrible
I don't have a summary or a review. I do know that transferring from Iowa to the Missouri Region was one of the biggest mistakes I have made in my professional life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service values
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLAugust 28, 2014
Pros: good managers
Cons: changing shifts every three months
I like talking to people and solving any problems they may have. It was challenging sometimes but that just added to the diversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervise a crew
Supervisor, Technical Operations (Former Employee), Kincaid, ILAugust 27, 2014
With over 30 communities through out central Illinois' I supervised a crew to install cable services to customers home along with maintaining the integrity of the cable system it self. I traveled through these communities for quality control and inspection of the cable plant along with the follow up on work preformed by my crew.
Meeting many customers – more... was a enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme Work Conditions
Service Technician (Former Employee), Streator, ILAugust 6, 2014
Pros: take home vehicle / free cable
Cons: everything / hostile work environments/ extreme work conditions
Over scheduling on a daily basis, unrealistic time slots. Working directly in the elements. Easy Payroll Deductions around every corner. Was a reliable job(job security) but excessive for lack of pay and work conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE BOSS
TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), EDMONTON, KYAugust 4, 2014
Cons: horrible employee managment
DON'T GO HOME UNTIL YOU GET DONE, NO MATTER WHAT TIME.... MIDNIGHT SOMETIMES. TRUCKS HAVE GPS INSTALLED, SO IF YOU ARE HELPING A COWORKER THAT IS BEING (IT IS A GROUP EFFORT LAST TIME I CHECKED) THE BOSS WILL CALL AND SAY WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HE ALREADY KNOWS WHERE YOU ARE AT ANYWAY, TEAM PLAYERS ARE NOT WELCOME HERE. YOUR JOB IS DESIGNED FOR 1 PERSON – more... IS WHAT HE SAYS. IF YOU GET DONE AT 5 AND YOUR CO WORKER HAS ENOUGH WORK TO LAST UNTIL MIDNIGHT, YOU WILL BE TOLD TO GO HOME, HE CAN DO HIS OWN WORK..... NOT GOOD. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and nice people
Senior Partner (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 2, 2014
Pros: good pay, nice people, good proximity to transportation
Cons: little/no management engagement, poor career planning, open seating
While Mediacom has a knack for finding very nice and qualified people, management is weak and not engaged. Leadership has very little connection with the day-to-day management of client issues.

The pay is decent and they have a formal annual employee evaluation process that theoretically helps guide employee career paths. Unfortunately, very few people – more... take it seriously and employees can go years without a raise or any formal career mapping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Customer service (Current Employee), Moline, ILJuly 30, 2014
Pros: incentives/benefits
Cons: hourly wage
Assisting customers with account services-internet, cable, phone. Troubleshooting, making payments, changing services/account information.
Co-workers/Management are great and friendly.
The hardest part of the job is not being able to help with every situation as it may be out of the department level.
The most enjoyable part is being able to help people – more... and the coworkers/work environment.
I have learned that there are many circumstances that are not in the control of the direct customer care representative department. – less

1 2 3 4

About Mediacom

Mediacom