Find companies:
Mediacom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Mediacom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme Work Conditions
Service Technician (Former Employee), Streator, ILAugust 6, 2014
Pros: take home vehicle / free cable
Cons: everything / hostile work environments/ extreme work conditions
Over scheduling on a daily basis, unrealistic time slots. Working directly in the elements. Easy Payroll Deductions around every corner. Was a reliable job(job security) but excessive for lack of pay and work conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE BOSS
TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), EDMONTON, KYAugust 4, 2014
Cons: horrible employee managment
DON'T GO HOME UNTIL YOU GET DONE, NO MATTER WHAT TIME.... MIDNIGHT SOMETIMES. TRUCKS HAVE GPS INSTALLED, SO IF YOU ARE HELPING A COWORKER THAT IS BEING (IT IS A GROUP EFFORT LAST TIME I CHECKED) THE BOSS WILL CALL AND SAY WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HE ALREADY KNOWS WHERE YOU ARE AT ANYWAY, TEAM PLAYERS ARE NOT WELCOME HERE. YOUR JOB IS DESIGNED FOR 1 PERSON – more... IS WHAT HE SAYS. IF YOU GET DONE AT 5 AND YOUR CO WORKER HAS ENOUGH WORK TO LAST UNTIL MIDNIGHT, YOU WILL BE TOLD TO GO HOME, HE CAN DO HIS OWN WORK..... NOT GOOD. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and nice people
Senior Partner (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 2, 2014
Pros: good pay, nice people, good proximity to transportation
Cons: little/no management engagement, poor career planning, open seating
While Mediacom has a knack for finding very nice and qualified people, management is weak and not engaged. Leadership has very little connection with the day-to-day management of client issues.

The pay is decent and they have a formal annual employee evaluation process that theoretically helps guide employee career paths. Unfortunately, very few people – more... take it seriously and employees can go years without a raise or any formal career mapping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Customer service (Current Employee), Moline, ILJuly 30, 2014
Pros: incentives/benefits
Cons: hourly wage
Assisting customers with account services-internet, cable, phone. Troubleshooting, making payments, changing services/account information.
Co-workers/Management are great and friendly.
The hardest part of the job is not being able to help with every situation as it may be out of the department level.
The most enjoyable part is being able to help people – more... and the coworkers/work environment.
I have learned that there are many circumstances that are not in the control of the direct customer care representative department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good company to work for
Revenue Asset & Recovery Agent (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJuly 27, 2014
I did not enjoy this job. I worked in collections & was on the phone all day, which was not for me. The company was also not very good to work for. I felt like they did not care too much about their employees & we definitely were not paid enough for what we did. Our department was very strict on performance & some of the things they expected out of – more... us were kind of ridiculous & hard to reach at points. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor for mediacom
Cable Contractor (Former Employee), Albany, GAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: gas, healthcare, vehicle maintenance, home life
being a contractor for Mediacom was not a good job. We worked strange hours when we had work and there was no communication between management and employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Innovating
Administrative Assistant - Marketing (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
From the pastel colored walls to the open floor plan and work spaces, this company is both innovating and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Field Support Center Representative (Current Employee), 1 Mediacom Way, Mediacom Park NYJuly 13, 2014
Pretty good atmosphere, with friendly co-workers. Good communication with management throughout the day. All around good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a customer service representative and I enjoyed working there. I hated to move.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJuly 10, 2014
My overall work experience was a pleasant one. I had my own cubicle and work space. It was also very laid back at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very serious do or die work place
Retention Specialist (Current Employee), chillicothe,ilJuly 9, 2014
Pros: located close to home
Cons: the job requirments, no good explanations for questions customers ask, ill trained, not competitive pricing or service and seniority n longer matters
This company shows no loyalty to its long standing employees, Aslo changes requirements almost daily not competitive and doesn't train emplyees properly to have answers for questions customer continuously ask. This job would work good for someone who is completely free and has no plans ever or any children. You get yelled at and managers supervisors – more... ect. expect you to clean up all other messes made by other employees. I love my co workers however you don't get to chat much as call volumn is contiuous. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Tier 2 Internet Support (Current Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLJuly 4, 2014
There is a really great tech culture that exists here in internet support. Everyone is friendly and generally sticks together. It has some of the usual incompetncies you normally find in a management team, but no worse than anywhere else, and in most instances, the management here is pretty awesome and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun call center to work at
Sales Routing Representative (Former Employee), Chillicothe ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: vacation days, insurance, fun atmosphere
A typical day would be answering approximately 300-400 calls a day and determining the appropriate department the customer needed to be transferred to for example sales, technical support, or customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Chillicothe, ILJuly 1, 2014
This was a call center position within the company's retention department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with little incentive for the hours you work
Installer (Former Employee), Cloquet MNJune 30, 2014
Pros: ??????
Cons: lots
Start at 8 am go to office stay for meeting and supply pickup leave to do installs, trouble calls etc.. get in lunch if your lucky because you will end up working all day. management is alright but don't understand that system needs to be improved. Hardest part of the job is to work all day long with no breaks really and still only get paid 10/hour. – more... I did learn how to install cable and internet, while also learning how Mediacom's system works. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for, they really care for their employees
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLJune 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: traveled way too much
I learned more about myself and abilities with them as they gave me the latitude to reach as far as I wanted to and go beyond.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Local Management; Temporary Position, and Lower pay compared to same position with other companies that are permanent.
Underground Cable Locate Technician (Former Employee), Cloquet, MNJune 26, 2014
Pros: company provides everything needed to perform job tasks effectively.
Cons: temporary position and lower pay in comparison.
Day to day the job was great. Supervisors were Fantastic and Supportive/ Helpful. Only problem is job was temporary and lower pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Waseca, MNJune 23, 2014
great place to work, managers are very easy to talk to. Work was quick and every day went by very fast, commision bonuses were a huge plus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and coworkers
Contract Recruitment Consultant (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAMay 24, 2014
-Positive and energetic environment
-Ability to work autonomously while also having plenty of interaction with department hiring managers
-High level of responsibility and trust was appreciated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
System Technician (Current Employee), Gulf Shores, ALMay 13, 2014
lots of digging trenches in all kinds of weather. co-workers are funny.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and good place to work. Good employees
Technical Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Thomasville, ALMay 7, 2014
Pros: incentives
Cons: micro management
Scheduled routing and work schedules for 12 employees
How to manage people
Co-workers were respectful and has team spirit
Micro Management
5 days per week off on weekends when all is well

1 2 3