Find companies:
Mediacom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Mediacom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant
CSSR (Former Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: advancement within the company, yearly raises, commision on sales, daily goals with games and winning prizes, christmas party with door prizes and bigger prizes throughout the night
Cons: unappreciated by corporate for all of the hard work and going beyond, sales mattered more than the customers, and the technical support and customer service representatives.
Excellent work experience for 4 1/2 years. Manangement was amazing in the beginning and dwindled toward the end. Co-workers were amazing, we worked hard, we were the company and had to represent it as such. I learned a lot about people, especially corporate and customer service. Its not the easiest job, but if you actually care about what you do and – more... strive to do the best possible, you will succeed at anything. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping others, when I could help a customer that had been having problems for a long time, and no one else seemed to do anything about it, just knowing that I cared made a difference to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An eye-opening experience in customer service
Lead Customer Service & Sales Representative (Current Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 21, 2014
Mediacom is a loveable company. I thoroughly love working there. The background is inspiring, the company is not too big but, still noticeable on a national front. With so many call centers and divisions, interaction is high among co-workers and customers. One must have tough skin when dealing with tough customers and accounts, but overall it is an – more... eye-opening and enjoyable experience in customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going job
District Sales Representative (Current Employee), Fitzgerald, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: make your own schedule
Cons: job is not secure
A typical work day at Mediacom consist of going to different neighborhoods and trying to speak wth customers and potential customers about the product. Throughtout the day you may get calls from those potential customers to set appointments with to go back and speak to about possibly signing up for the companies services. I learned about the products – more... of the company wich include cable, internet, and phone service. I learned about the installation process. I learned more customer service techniques to add to what I have already learned . I have learned to better self motivate myself and how to overcome objections from a customer when they do not want the service. My manger is always available for his employees and is very helpful. If he can not answer his phone when we call he always get back to us in a timely manner. All of my co-workers are very friendly and easy to work with. Everyone works well together as a team. The hardest part of the job would probably be working in the elements. The most enjoyable part about the job is the people you meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Service Technician (Former Employee), Marion, ILSeptember 11, 2014
Always had something do and management was great. Never thought I was going to lose my job because it was job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't have a summary
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MOSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: cheap cable
Cons: management is terrible
I don't have a summary or a review. I do know that transferring from Iowa to the Missouri Region was one of the biggest mistakes I have made in my professional life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service values
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLAugust 28, 2014
Pros: good managers
Cons: changing shifts every three months
I like talking to people and solving any problems they may have. It was challenging sometimes but that just added to the diversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervise a crew
Supervisor, Technical Operations (Former Employee), Kincaid, ILAugust 27, 2014
With over 30 communities through out central Illinois' I supervised a crew to install cable services to customers home along with maintaining the integrity of the cable system it self. I traveled through these communities for quality control and inspection of the cable plant along with the follow up on work preformed by my crew.
Meeting many customers – more... was a enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme Work Conditions
Service Technician (Former Employee), Streator, ILAugust 6, 2014
Pros: take home vehicle / free cable
Cons: everything / hostile work environments/ extreme work conditions
Over scheduling on a daily basis, unrealistic time slots. Working directly in the elements. Easy Payroll Deductions around every corner. Was a reliable job(job security) but excessive for lack of pay and work conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE BOSS
TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), EDMONTON, KYAugust 4, 2014
Cons: horrible employee managment
DON'T GO HOME UNTIL YOU GET DONE, NO MATTER WHAT TIME.... MIDNIGHT SOMETIMES. TRUCKS HAVE GPS INSTALLED, SO IF YOU ARE HELPING A COWORKER THAT IS BEING (IT IS A GROUP EFFORT LAST TIME I CHECKED) THE BOSS WILL CALL AND SAY WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HE ALREADY KNOWS WHERE YOU ARE AT ANYWAY, TEAM PLAYERS ARE NOT WELCOME HERE. YOUR JOB IS DESIGNED FOR 1 PERSON – more... IS WHAT HE SAYS. IF YOU GET DONE AT 5 AND YOUR CO WORKER HAS ENOUGH WORK TO LAST UNTIL MIDNIGHT, YOU WILL BE TOLD TO GO HOME, HE CAN DO HIS OWN WORK..... NOT GOOD. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and nice people
Senior Partner (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 2, 2014
Pros: good pay, nice people, good proximity to transportation
Cons: little/no management engagement, poor career planning, open seating
While Mediacom has a knack for finding very nice and qualified people, management is weak and not engaged. Leadership has very little connection with the day-to-day management of client issues.

The pay is decent and they have a formal annual employee evaluation process that theoretically helps guide employee career paths. Unfortunately, very few people – more... take it seriously and employees can go years without a raise or any formal career mapping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Customer service (Current Employee), Moline, ILJuly 30, 2014
Pros: incentives/benefits
Cons: hourly wage
Assisting customers with account services-internet, cable, phone. Troubleshooting, making payments, changing services/account information.
Co-workers/Management are great and friendly.
The hardest part of the job is not being able to help with every situation as it may be out of the department level.
The most enjoyable part is being able to help people – more... and the coworkers/work environment.
I have learned that there are many circumstances that are not in the control of the direct customer care representative department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good company to work for
Revenue Asset & Recovery Agent (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJuly 27, 2014
I did not enjoy this job. I worked in collections & was on the phone all day, which was not for me. The company was also not very good to work for. I felt like they did not care too much about their employees & we definitely were not paid enough for what we did. Our department was very strict on performance & some of the things they expected out of – more... us were kind of ridiculous & hard to reach at points. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Innovating
Administrative Assistant - Marketing (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
From the pastel colored walls to the open floor plan and work spaces, this company is both innovating and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Field Support Center Representative (Current Employee), 1 Mediacom Way, Mediacom Park NYJuly 13, 2014
Pretty good atmosphere, with friendly co-workers. Good communication with management throughout the day. All around good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a customer service representative and I enjoyed working there. I hated to move.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJuly 10, 2014
My overall work experience was a pleasant one. I had my own cubicle and work space. It was also very laid back at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very serious do or die work place
Retention Specialist (Current Employee), chillicothe,ilJuly 9, 2014
Pros: located close to home
Cons: the job requirments, no good explanations for questions customers ask, ill trained, not competitive pricing or service and seniority n longer matters
This company shows no loyalty to its long standing employees, Aslo changes requirements almost daily not competitive and doesn't train emplyees properly to have answers for questions customer continuously ask. This job would work good for someone who is completely free and has no plans ever or any children. You get yelled at and managers supervisors – more... ect. expect you to clean up all other messes made by other employees. I love my co workers however you don't get to chat much as call volumn is contiuous. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Tier 2 Internet Support (Current Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLJuly 4, 2014
There is a really great tech culture that exists here in internet support. Everyone is friendly and generally sticks together. It has some of the usual incompetncies you normally find in a management team, but no worse than anywhere else, and in most instances, the management here is pretty awesome and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun call center to work at
Sales Routing Representative (Former Employee), Chillicothe ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: vacation days, insurance, fun atmosphere
A typical day would be answering approximately 300-400 calls a day and determining the appropriate department the customer needed to be transferred to for example sales, technical support, or customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Chillicothe, ILJuly 1, 2014
This was a call center position within the company's retention department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with little incentive for the hours you work
Installer (Former Employee), Cloquet MNJune 30, 2014
Pros: ??????
Cons: lots
Start at 8 am go to office stay for meeting and supply pickup leave to do installs, trouble calls etc.. get in lunch if your lucky because you will end up working all day. management is alright but don't understand that system needs to be improved. Hardest part of the job is to work all day long with no breaks really and still only get paid 10/hour. – more... I did learn how to install cable and internet, while also learning how Mediacom's system works. – less

1 2 3

About Mediacom

Mediacom