Find companies:
Medical Services of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Medical Services of America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great people
Respiratory Product Class Specialist (Former Employee), Lexington, SCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great people, free lunches sometimes, parties, just a great enivorment
A typical day would start out clocking in and getting to my desk with 5 people waiting to say good morning. I learned that their is so many people in the world that are sick and needed help and this was the way I could give them some type of assistance. My co-workers were wonderful and so understanding just wonderful personalities. The hardest part – more... about my job was when a claim wouldn't get paid the first go around. I loved this job I was very upset when I had to leave to move to Florida. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frequent management changes
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 14, 2014
Pros: emr
Cons: too much travel, territory too large
Inconsistent answers/feedback from management. But I feel they lack training as well. Not being ugly to mgmt, but nobody receives training at this agency. It's self learn or you'll never learn. No orientation in place. No seasoned mgmt. I would ask my teammates first before going to anyone in the office. Constant turnover in mgmt, so I did not feel – more... supported. Too large of a territory, so much more traveling than providing care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!! Unappreciated and under paid
Location Manager (Former Employee), Savannah, GASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: too many to list
All talk, no action!!! Upper management adds responsibility with out adding any compensation. As a manager I worked from morning to midnight and still wasnt appreciated. This company wants results without invensting in their employees! Their antiquated phone and computer system make it next to impossible to maintain efficiency. If you are looking for – more... a job or a career, keeping looking!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Senior management
nurse (Current Employee), Lexington.scAugust 22, 2014
Cons: management
I was lied to from day one. Low pay. Poorest orientation in twenty years nursing. Upper management is a joke. Stay away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporately owned company but small buisness feel.
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee), Tampa. FLAugust 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule if needed
Cons: on call wages are not the greatest
I have worked at Medical Services of America for over eight years. On a daily basis I route service technicians, receive and ship inventory both intercompany and to consumers, analyze cost of goods for products, maintain a specific budget for location P & L report and also help other locations in the state meet their locations goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with lots of Team Effort
Hospice Chaplain (Former Employee), Newport News, VaJuly 30, 2014
Pros: travel to a number of cities.
Cons: not enough time for a real meal at lunch.
I loved working at Medi before everything I did became a target for ridicule. I was asked to correct several errors that were made in the course of my 4 years with Medi. Why did it take 4 years to decide that my work was not adequet?
The hardest part of the job was the two hours travel there and back each day. The greatest part of my job was working – more... with such a great group of dedicated people. They are loving and caring. I will truly miss them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good group of people
Regional Manager (Current Employee), Lexington, SCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: autonomy, great entrepreneurs
Cons: lack of understanding of the field by corporate.
This is a great company that is going through transition both with industry shift and corporate shift. The employees I managed were amazing loyal individuals that wanted a voice and appreciation. I believe the company wants that but they have not achieved it yet. Too many chiefs and not enough Indians. However, I learned quite a bit and did have amazing – more... autonomy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but Professional Work Environment
Medicare Collections Specialist (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 23, 2014
Comfortable business casual or scrub dress code. Coffee and great break room provided. 2 paid breaks per day, morning and afternoon, and an hour for lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to learn about many different types of work.
Reimbursement Process Control Supervisor (Current Employee), Lexington, SCJuly 14, 2014
A regular work day is working adjustments, helping csrs and working with AR. I have learned how to post payments and denials, how to help patients and work collections. I have been in management since I started working. I enjoy working with patients and helping them to resolve any issues they may have with one of our locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Privately owned company; Not much concern for employees
Telecom Representative (Former Employee), Lexington, SCMay 31, 2014
Pros: free flu shots and thanksgiving dinner
Cons: poor management
The job itself is somewhat enjoyable, but management is not up to par. Lots of fraternizing going on, major buddy system. Professionalism needs to be taught, especially to the former telecom supervisor (she no longer has this position) and upward management. Co-workers are ok, pretty nice people. Beware of being cordial, as you are strictly forbidden – more... from speaking to fellow employees or stopping at any desks to even say hello. High school has been over for quite some time now. Overall an ok job, just no room for advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Place to work
Special Projects Associate / CSR / CMN Specialist (Current Employee), Lexington, SCApril 16, 2014
It's your regular 8-5, Monday to Friday job.

It's a small DME company, so it's slowly being destroyed by its own income source, so pay isn't stellar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the one and only Respiratory Therapist covering two branches
Home Care Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Elizabeth City, NCApril 1, 2014
Cons: traveling from one branch to the other branch which is two hours away. covering 2 branches
manager have no concerns as come in for 5-6 hrs. per day, and not helping to day to day operation of the respiratory therapy department, which she only have me to cover everything from the phone to taking care of equipments and supplies for the branches, aside from I am taking care of patient from equipment set up to downloads of equipments, and so – more... much more. They failed for over six months to hired another Respiratory Therapist to cover one branch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed employees to meet company and patient goals
Office Manager (Former Employee), Camden, SCJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: meeting all types of people
Cons: not being backed by corporate on decisions
In my tenure with the company I have learned mcuh about durable medical equipment and requirements. I enjoyed working with my staff and others throughout the company and bonded with several of them. I enjoyed meeting and assisting the patients over the phone or in person with their needs even if it wasn't related to our company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place
File Clerk/ Scanning Operator (Former Employee), columbia scNovember 19, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: temporary assignment
Co workers were okay. On average I sat at a desk and scanned documents and cleaned out the fie room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work but bad leadership
Medical Claims Collector (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 20, 2013
Enjoyed the work but the management is only looking to work with people that they like, very unperfessional, they only apply rules to some employees and not all. Management and HR are insensitive to personal situation even if proper documentation is provided. There is not much room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Case Manager, Hospice Care of Tri County (Former Employee), Aiken, SCSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: on-call( unfortunately required)
Case Manager for hospice patients. Enjoyed caring for and teaching families/patients re end of life care, sx management.. Aside from needing a change from hospice would have continued to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first Job for me
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee), Owing Mills, MDSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: pay could be better
This was my first job in healthcare administration. Gained a lot of experience on health insurance including medicare and medicaid. Good company for a first time job. Advancement opportunities are there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee
Total Homecare and Hospice (Former Employee), southwest virginiaAugust 11, 2013
Cons: lack of dependable staff no respect for staff
yery bad reputation of management would not trust them with any of my family members they are not adequately trained employees are treated like a piece of meat this used to be a respected company but not around here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Processed data entry for all patient information (Former Employee), Lexington, SCJuly 14, 2013
Pros: great place
Cons: no cons
The entire staff gets along well with each other. Raises are given any time the managers see a need for one. Plenty of room for advancement. Multiple locations throughout SC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointment
Employee (Current Employee), West VirginiaJuly 8, 2013
The other reviews are correct - they lure you in with big promises - but change policies after the fact. Poor communication.
Changed from salary to pay per visit - and took all of my leave to make up for the lack of referrals and work. Poor reputation in the community.