Medical Staffing Network Employee Reviews in United States

Found 405 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very flexible hours
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 18, 2015
I like working for MSN because it has very flexible hour and I love that you are not confined to one specific work area everyday.
Pros
great pay, flexible hours
Cons
no health benifits, getting canceled
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover in management
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXOctober 1, 2015
Total care of patient. Good mandatory training on trachs and vents. However, there is a high turnover in management which brings about frequent changes in paperwork.
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my recruriter
Travel IHC Technician (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILNovember 30, 2015
This is an awesome company to work for I would recommend anyone who is welling to travel to try this agency first they are very good to their people and very heart warming, caring for their employees. They go above and beyond for us.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place, could be better, big change over all the time for office personal
LPN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  FLMarch 25, 2014
I have enjoyed working for MSN over the years, I don't feel they are as aggressive in getting people to their potential. They are getting better, but part of it was do to office personal changing , branches beimg re assigned do to changes and absolutely no benefits this year. Up to this year I could get benefits .
Pros
they are trying hard to get work
Cons
whatever state you work in should have a office branch .
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Patient Coordinator
New Patient Coordinator (NMFF- IPHP) (Current Employee) –  Chicago,ILMay 10, 2013
I currrently work for Northwestern Medical Foundation at Northwestern Hospital. My usual work day consist of calling all new patient for the following departments: Oncology, Surgical/Digestive and The Integrated Pelvic Health Program which is a total of 9 different surgeons. I make sure all records have been requested and reviewed before the Patients come in for the first office visit. I triage all places and scheduled the Patient with the surgeon that would help them best. I conference with the Nurses and Providers to discuss the new Patients that will been seen. I also verify insurance for the Patients and Provider to make sure the qualify for our services. I work with a team of about 20 co-workers, to make sure the patient first appointment is a great experience and they feel confident in our staff. The hardest part of my job is not being able to help everybody with their problems but, i will go out of my way to research any information for the patient we can not help here at our facility. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that the Providers,Nurses and Patient are satisfied with my services.
Pros
great team
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 19, 2015
Medical Staffing Network is a good company, they sent you to WakeMed to help assist them with suicidal and mental illness patients. We have to make sure they do no harm to themselves nor other, chart their behaviors, make sure the environment is safe and clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning opportunity
Telemetry RN (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 14, 2015
MSN was a good company and the pay was great. I want able to stay long because I needed a more consistent paycheck.. I would often be canceled -- not so good for making plans or paying bills. Supportive team, though.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Bad Place To Work
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at work would be coming in, sitting down, opening your email and reading that everything you have learned and everything you have been doing has now changed. Their culture of change is a "flip-the-switch" technique, meaning there is no warning or no ramp up, but rather a "let's hope this works out for the best and we will cover our a-- in the meantime by throwing everyone under the bus" approach. Doesn't work and makes for awful morale.

What i learned from MSN is that no matter how well you do and no matter how much revenue you are personally responsible for bringing in, your job is never safe. They will fire you without skipping a beat.

The mid-level management is okay but the executive management team doesn't know their a-- from a hole in the wall. They shouldn't be in their positions and they don't listen to anyone but the people in charge of their jobs. The people that are actually in the field all day, raking in the money that pays their salary? Not so much - they don't give a shi- what you have to say.

And there were holes in the walls.

My co-workers were awesome. It was nice to have people around who were equally confused about what the heck was going on with the company.

The hardest part about the job was dealing with unrealistic goals set by the jerks at the top that don't listen.

The most enjoyable part of the job was walking out at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here if you just need to make a lot of money and don't need to have great insurance or PTO time.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  East York, PAMay 7, 2014
Typical day at work depends on the facility you are staffing. Management is not supportive at either the local branch level or the corporate level.
Pros
salary
Cons
unable to work the schedule you want, which is basically the biggest perk to working agency
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Review
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  NapervilleOctober 14, 2015
Overall a great company that worked out great with my schedule a few years back. I loved the people and environment. I did a lot of cold calls, medical terminology, territory management, and more
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fail to provide you with correct job information
material handler (Former Employee) –  MissouriMarch 17, 2014
Was told when hired, if you made it through 90 days, you would be hired on full time. Not true. One out of 20 or so hired others let go for reasons unknown. I was let go because of a drug test that showed doctor prescribed, with proof, medication. I was then denied unemployment benefits because company stated "misconduct."
Cons
unprofessional staff that offer little help
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits.
Credentialing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLAugust 6, 2013
Fast paced environment. Learned about credentialing for nurses and Allied health (inservices, licenses, etc.) Management is open to suggestions and treats everyone with respect. They celebrate achievement and the benefits are excellent.
Pros
open door
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Medical Staffing Company
Staffing Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 6, 2014
Love what I do. Company has it's ups and downs. Would be better if the company had more opportunities for advancement and better compensation plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel assignment
Sleep Therapist (Former Employee) –  North Aurora, ILAugust 27, 2015
The company was one of the best for pay and seemed to have more jobs available during all the different seasons.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Pros
good pay
Cons
12 week assignments
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible to meet your schedule needs
Agency Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Meridian, IDNovember 22, 2015
Staff attempt to fill your days you are available to work for agency.
You can get direct deposit in 1-2 days. Friendly staff.
Prompt on returning your calls
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very so so
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 16, 2015
They were really just all over the place. They make it seem like they have lots of opportunities and then they barely schedule one shift a week. They made it seem like I could start work asap but they kept coming up with more things that needed to be done. Finally 60 days later I can work. Very unorganized. The staff don't seem trained to handle the job. It's already a difficult job handling per died work and floating to different facilities and they make it worse. Also they would say pay was one thing and it would be another instead of having a flat-rate or emailing you wiyh the details. Even after not picking up any shifts for a few weeks they never called me to see if I wanted any shifts. I had to do all the calling. They don't follow up with their workers at all like some staffing agencies. Would not recommend this branch in Orlando, Melbourne.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes41No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work around your schedule
Floor nurse (Former Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILOctober 27, 2015
This is an agency that allows you to pick and choose where and when you want to work. The call center is very friendly and helpful in finding you extra shifts to work.
Pros
Work as little or as much as you like.
Cons
Often have to travel quite some distance to pick up shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibile
CNA (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 19, 2015
A nice company to work for with a great office team. Everyone is nice and they always try to meet your hours of availability by assigning you to a case. One of the best things about MSN is the flexibility and the option to get next day pay. I truly enjoy working for them:)
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Shift cancellations
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FloridaJuly 13, 2014
I was an agency nurse which means you have to go when called, although they try to book you ahead. Kept me in work and even got 6 month contracts at some hospitals. Great supervisors.
Pros
great compensation. listened to staff regarding facilites(good or bad, too little staffing, etc)
Cons
must be able to leave for work at the drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient flexible schedule with helpful supportive staff
Agency nurse (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 31, 2013
Medical Staffing Network is a unique company to work for. The staff are very experienced, helpful and supportive in a professional environment. MSN is an excellent second or part-time place of employment. A flexible convenient schedule one of several benefits of working for a staffing agency.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 406 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Medical Staffing Network Reviews by Location