Medieval Times Employee Reviews in United States

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and neat place to work!
Server (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCApril 26, 2016
At this job you are able to work with awesome individuals and management while making good tips as a server! I have learned how to work well with other people who are different than me. Everyone is very willing to help each other out and if you need help your coworkers will be there for you. The hardest part of the job is you have to be able to life heavy item (80 lbs) at the most.
Pros
good work environment, awesome management, seasonal
Cons
heavy lifing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and creative environment
CASH CONTROL (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 5, 2016
Love working here and other employees. Very good company to work for, managers are great and understanding. Typical day at work is clock in have fun bringing guests in and clock out. i love every new person i get to meet. guests are very fun and respectful.
Cons
only part-time, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great Atmosphere,
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJune 17, 2016
Great Company!!!! really an amazing workplace environment. management.. Learned a lot as my first bartending job i started as a regular peer moved my way up in less than three years. to upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLApril 21, 2016
Working at medieval times has been a great experience. It has its bad days but that is any job. I love it but it is time for me to move on.
Pros
3 or 6 hour shifts but still good pay.
Cons
As a bartender the tips weren't that great in cash.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My overall experience working at Medieval Times
Customer Service Oder entry (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAOctober 26, 2015
Being able to assist guests with any inquires that would make their visit memorable and couldn't wait until they were able to return again. Our management team was very support always to us always thinking of ways to bring up morale, by doing this it brought my co-workers closer and always learning from each other
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great co-workers, great supervisors
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CADecember 9, 2015
It was one of the best jobs I have ever had. Management and my co-workers were like a family. The job was great and there was no hard part.
Pros
They worked around our schedule, potlucks and free tickets
Cons
Working holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work for
food server (Former Employee) –  Lyndhurst, NJOctober 29, 2015
I enjoyed working for medieval times, Id go back if I did not have to work holidays. My family is more important to me so i unfortunately had to leave.
Pros
great tips, fun place, upbeat, time goes by quickly
Cons
Working holidays and weekends, a little hectic and overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy pace and exciting to work
Sr. Knight (Current Employee) –  Lyndhurst, NjJuly 6, 2015
Typical day is once I get dressed in my gear which consists of riding boot, chaps and spurs, I then practice the fights I will be performing in the show. After that we all get ready for the show warming our horses up and put the customs on of which colored knight I will be. Then for 2 hrs we perform the show to a sold out 360 degree arena we I and my fell knight perform games on horse back, joust on horse back, do choreographed falls of the horses and act out the staged fights. Once the show is over all cast members in the show go out to sign autographs, take pictures and mingle with the audience.
Pros
Get to Ride Horse and perform for a live audience
Cons
Work a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
callcenter
cusstomer service (Former Employee) –  atlAugust 19, 2015
demanding when bussy
had us pushing upgrades and did not pay us anymore
got free tickets 2 times a year
when it was slow cut our hours when it was bussy they wanted to work us as many hours as they could
Pros
free tickets
Cons
no commistion
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Photo Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 4, 2015
This is the best company I have ever had the opportunity to work for, however you don't have much of a personal life if you work management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
knight (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDMay 3, 2015
a very fast paced work enviroment get to learn about horses and how to take care of them the manegment is very good and people very happy to go to work and most people that work there have been there for years.
Pros
perform in front of a thousend people
Cons
work every holiday
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with costumes
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 17, 2015
A day at work was fun and always surprising.
I learned how to sell and print tickets and other merchandise.
My co-workers were fun and energetic.
The hardest part was trying to carry all of the tills from some of the registers.
The part I most enjoyed was helping other department when they needed the help
Pros
free tickets
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving at Medieval
Server (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDFebruary 6, 2015
A typical day at medieval is not a normal day because you have to get into character. The job is so much fun but can be a little challenging. You have to build muscle in order to carry the 30 half chickens that you are required to carry. The job is very fun and enjoyable!
Pros
free food
Cons
no breaks, shows are back to back, heavy food and drinks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace and great people and management.
SERVER, MARKETING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCApril 24, 2015
Great job to have especially as a college student. The hours are great usually from 4pm-9pm. You then have the rest of the night to do whatever you please.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, Great atmosphere.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAMarch 30, 2015
Working at Medieval Times was a great experience. I loved being around people all day. I consider my self a people person. I enjoyed being in character.
Pros
two 10 minute breaks, awesome staff.
Cons
Favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the most exciting jobs I have had
Knight (Former Employee) –  Lyndhurst, NJJuly 24, 2014
Training horses, learning equestrian routines, learning new fights for the show, swordwork and stunts. Going over equipment to make sure it was safe for the show.

How to work with a team in extreme conditions, horseback skills, stunts and sword work

Made sure you were well taken care of.

Made the greatest friends while working here

Injuries

Hearing the people chant for you and going home with great memories.
Pros
working with horses
Cons
injuries
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Gift Shop Cashier (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CADecember 8, 2014
Normally we would make sure that our work place up to code. When the customers come in we assist them in finding the proper gift to take home. During the show we would sell items that would enhance the show. Then we would come back, get our work areas in order and be ready to sell again once the show was over.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sweet job they sucked the life out of
Knight II (Current Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJuly 16, 2014
This was my dream as a child, to be a knight. And I do love this job, however the cons sadly outweigh the pros.

After 2 promotions I make as much as my friend who nanny.
They schedule shows that require 4 hour "lunch breaks" which essentially wipes your day out.
It is incredibly hard to get a vacation.
Upper management is the epitome of nepotism.
Squires have no opportunity for a raise.
Benefits are very expensive and get cut and more costly each year.
There are shows scheduled on all holidays. Christmas eve and day.
The Christmas bonus was a backpack and a blanket... are they expecting us to be homeless?
Pros
youre a knight, the commraderie is wonderful.
Cons
no time for family or friends, no holidays, pay is bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Theatrical dinner show
Animal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDJuly 15, 2014
I have been an animal trainer for this company for 7 years and enjoyed it thoroughly. A very different work experience for everyone involved, and very fun! There have been a lot of difficult managers, though, and they expect you to give up your whole life for the place and then can fire you at the drop of a hat. A great experience, but make sure you have a back up plan.
Pros
fun, unique
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over works and under pay
Stables Hand (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDSeptember 2, 2014
Works 6 days a week with one day off, i take care of 20 miserable horses that dread being there which makes my life harder. Its under staffed and with all the work we do we only get just a bit over minimum wage. Even though you are in dangerous work environment the benefits are barely nun unless u like get free tickets for the show during your birthday.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Medieval Times. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture