Find companies:
MEDLAB
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

MEDLAB Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shameless Management and Awful Workplace
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Lexington, KYApril 9, 2014
Pros: i could not think of any.
Cons: managers have their own games and personal benefits working at medlab, but not the prosperity of the company.
There is no point to even try to apply with this disgusting company. Very bad work conditions. There is intentional understaffing so they can save on salaries and force current employees to work excessively with no additional pay. You will always feel used and abused. The company has a very bad reputation among nursing homes and it was difficult for – more... me to explain to nurses why Medlab is such a mess and cannot deliver good service. I was very ashamed to work for this company. Supervisors don’t care at all. They pretend that everything is good and they give themselves a lot of credit without any reason. In general they smile and play nice, but they don’t improve anything and they only collect a paycheck. The whole company is like a dying dinosaur that no one moves a finger to cure and everyone just supports it, so it doesn’t completely fall on the ground. Supervisors in this company are ONLY hired if they know someone in management. Hiring supervisors has nothing to do with qualifications. If interviews are conducted, they are to just legally justify the choice already made and it has nothing to do with personal abilities. The last operations manager was hired because he had the right last name. One of his relatives was a company’s founder many years ago and his sister works in Medlab headquarters, so he became the best match for the position. Despite being very nice, he is fake and lacks personal skills, and his only goal is to still from employees and save money on their back by calling it process improvement. He is so bad and senseless that to save the last penny possible he cancelled the water cooler service in the lab because employees are only hired to work and not to waste time and money drinking water on the job. So if you have the bad habit of drinking water during business hours don’t waste company’s time to even apply for a job at Medlab. Shame on you Medlab and shame on you ignorant supervisors!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard, Get Paid Low
Mobile Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 9, 2014
Cons: working for free
IF THEY PAY ME SO I JUST DON'T DIE, I WILL WORK SO I JUST DON'T FALL ASLEEP!

Pay with Medlad is about $2 an hour lower than with competitors. Recent yearly pay raises for experienced employees were between 0 and 20 cents!!!!! This is even below inflation, which means that now those people work better and faster, but they get paid lower. They just spit – more... in employees' faces and pretend nothing happened. If you are a self-respecting person, don't even apply with this company unless you want to volunteer your time and skills, so management and owners can get the money you worked for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing good about this place its not even worth having an interview with them
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Centerville, OHApril 3, 2014
Pros: free snacks occasionally brought in
Cons: everything
The team leads SUCK ...they show a lot of favoritism ....wear and tear on your car...the supervisor also show favoritism even to the ones that dog them which is the team lead ...they fire you for absolutely nothing if you get in trouble in a home it will be for absolutely nothing and you still get written up...everybody's fake ....you have to kiss team – more... lead butt or they will send you to homes that they KNOW will not work for you ...they barely send you help when needed...honestly the only good thing about this company is the overtime if your looking for that ...the pay is suck for the bs you put up with only a daily basis... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy co-workers
Team Lead-Client Billing (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 2, 2014
Cons: no job security
Co-workers are very nice to work with. Not much job security at Medlab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Billing Department worked as a team
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Euclid, OHMarch 12, 2014
Very productive billing department. All department worked as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke
minion (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MIFebruary 11, 2014
The biggest mess of an organization I have ever seen. No need to say more. Run for your life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my co-workers, but, No room for abvancement.
Mobile Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: worked with good ppl
Cons: only could get 10 cent a year rase and 23cent a mile drive
Although they offer a good deal for patients, They do not treat their employees with much respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hell on Earth
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: noine
Cons: everything
HellLab is probably the worst place on Earth for any phlebotomist to try to find a decent employment. You will be constantly stressed out, abused and never rewarded or appreciated. The average employee stays with the company for about 6 months, because no one sees any point to work under those horrible conditions and extremely low pay. The recent bankruptcy – more... of the company made it even worse. There is intentional miscommunication between supervisors and employees about the current situation and that's why there is rapid outflow of experienced phlebotomists, who suppose to make money for the company anyway. Supervisors are incompetent and rude and make coming to work every night very stressful. You never know what negativity will come from the supervisor at any moment even if you haven't spoken to her in a week. She only calls to criticize you, and the business cell phone always feels like a heavy bad news messenger in your pocket. The job is really a night job with a day shift pay which is even lower than the competition. Supervisor's attitude is to push you all the time and assure you that if you don't like it, she will hire someone else in no time. That is her attitude that costs this company tens of thousands of dollars monthly, but no one in the company cares. You are just the next one and you have no value for the company regardless of experience. If you are a new employee, she starts pushing you from the beginning until you can't take it anymore and leave in a month or two. If you made it and you are an experienced employee, despite the fact that you do everything in less time and with fewer errors, you are burden for the management, because you might start complaining about the lack of decent pay raise or start to see that managers are disrespectful and incompetent. For the time i worked there, i couldn't figure it out if there is a particular phlebotomist who is considered valuable for the company, if any. Since, there is widespread dissatisfaction among phlebotomists, and they express it all the time, just before i left, the supervisor threatened phlebotomist to be careful with the use of social networking sites, which she said will lead to employment termination. Yeah, this is how it feels to work for this company and this supervisor - work hard, get paid low, obey and shut up. If you don't like it, they will find someone else no matter how inexperienced. It is so bad, even team leaders give up, and no one else wants to take the position. It is all about numbers for the supervisor and operations manager, and employee satisfaction doesn't mater although this is the most important for the profitability. New employees work between thirty or forty percent less effectively than experienced employees - i witnessed and experienced it myself. Convert this into money and you will see what treating phlebotomists like livestock costs the company. In fact, the most widespread phrase among everyone is "I don't care" and "I hate this job". That is completely fine with the useless supervisor and operations manager who patch up the numbers every month and keep their jobs at the expense of the employees and the company. They are bad leaders and they aggravate phlebotomists until they leave, and then they try to fix their own mistakes by squeezing every dollar from overtime and operations expenses. Since there is only a single supervisor left for both Kentucky locations (ridiculous), and she failed already and everyone hates her, then this information applies to both labs in the state. Go and work for the company, see what hell is, and thus every other company will feel like heaven. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medlab taught me a lot about phlebotomy procedures and responsability, although communication was terrible, and management set unrealistic goals
Phlebotomist team lead (Current Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 31, 2014
I love what I do with this company. I love patient care and being given the chance to advance within a company. I learned a lot with this company and I achieved a lot with this company. With that said they over work the employees, and set unrealistic goals defeated our team. I worked with this company so long to bring about the small changes I could – more... and to embrace what did work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Team Lead (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJanuary 29, 2014
WORK WORK WORK, DRIVE DRIVE DRIVE up to 500 miles per day. The work load varies greatly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Professional place to work
Phelobotmist (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, Mi.January 24, 2014
Pros: if you are not from michigan or ohio you will learn how to get around.
Cons: stunted growth
First, if anyone one here gives a positive review for the Farmington Hills location is probably lying or the managers writing for the company. Second the pay is the highest of 12.50 hourly and miles reimbursement is only 25-31 cents a mile. You can have 12 yrs. experience and another person has 4 and you will be paid equal. Your check will be lovely – more... but its due to working 30-40 hrs overtime not cause you want to cause you are made to. Then they will hit you with the "We have an exact start time but not a finish time". If you are in school, they will not take in consideration and schedule you for days you have to go. They make promises that will not be kept. Its a small place so you will work closely with other staff that if they do not care for you they will not help you. If you have an opinion or stand up for yourself the supervisor will plot against you until you quit or fired. If you are not their friend or tell your personal business you have an attitude problem. If you are good at your job and make a slight mistake that everyone else has made including supervisors you will be the only one written up. If you try to complain it would be overlooked and ignored by higher up cause the supervisor will manipulate them into thinking you are lying. Once you get fed up and find a new job they try to convince you that things are going to change in which they will not. They try to control your life and somewhat your household You will drive your own vehicle until the wheels falls off and all they will say is when are you getting a new car?? Your advancement is not based on skill, experience, or knowledge its based on your friendship and how much you tell on other staff. This is not a place for advancement its a place to loose who you are and if you don't allow them to take that from you, you will be singled out and out the naughty list. I do not suggest this job to anyone, including my enemies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Traveling Phlebotomist II (Current Employee), Euclid, OHJanuary 18, 2014
It is very rewarding. One of the best parts of the job is the patients and seeing them on a daily basis and getting to know them and their families. They make the job well worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life
Certified Phlebotomy Technician (Current Employee), Lima, OHJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: long driving time (over 100 miles a day)
My job starts early, 3am, I drive to SNF and draw pt.labs. I have learned how sad a person can be that is in a SNF. I always talk to and express care when it is a pt's draw day. Many pt's just want a little kindness from any care giver no matter what the procedure is that is being done. I I enjoy all my co-workers and we share different Idea's with – more... each other. One of the hardest parts of my job is when one of the people I have cared for dies. I enjoy all the stories my patients tell me from their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job I truly enjoyed
Med Tech (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: good team and on-site management.
Cons: pay could be more competitive.
I was employed at medlab for just under 2 years. It was the first job I ever had where I never woke up not wanting to go to work. I thoroughly enjoyed my management as well as the team that worked under me. I would return there in a heartbeat should I ever move back to that area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced work place
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: mileage reimbursement and the experience in field
Cons: no breaks
serviced nursing homes in Columbus and Surrounding areas
obtaining specimen from geriatric patients
collecting UA and stool from facilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Processor (Current Employee), Louisville, KYDecember 9, 2013
Pros: i like getting off at 1:30
Cons: never knew what was going to happen day to day
Come to work at 5am get started on daily routine alone for about 2hrs. Then the phlebots came that was the best part interacting with other people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phlebotomist
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHDecember 4, 2013
Worse slave job i have ever worked. I don't see how this business is still up and going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 8, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: no family time or time to yourself
I have been with Medlab since December 2012. Working here gives you the experience you need to go somewhere else. You work long hours and the pay is not worth it. I haven’t been able to spend much time with my family due to sleeping and working. If you do not want a personal life outside of work then this is the place for you.
Also, you have to make – more... sure your mileage and hours are right or you might be shorted and not paid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 DAYS TILL THE DOORS ARE SHUT FOREVER.
lab (Current Employee), cincinnatiOctober 25, 2013
MEDLAB just sent out the papers to all employees...They dont have enough money to make it past Dec.22. You will be with out a job come christmas. Unless some one makes a very large investment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people to work with.
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Farmington Hills, MIOctober 16, 2013
Pros: for the most part everyone got along
Cons: alot of driving. wear and tear on your car.
A typical day at work, you never really knew what to expect. It wasn"t always consistent. However, I learned better time management and the managers were good. I love most of the coworkers and built to good relationships. The hardest part of the job would be the constant going back and forth sometimes and it would create a financial strain for gas and – more... everyday living. I loved that somedays we could take a break and just breathe...not always being about work all the time. – less

1 2 3 4