Find companies:
MedStar Washington Hospital Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

MedStar Washington Hospital Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers, horrible work place
Nationally Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 1, 2014
No room for growth
Management not really open to team ideas
Benefits suck
Raises are non-existent
I like my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 1, 2014
The hardest Part about this job, is that its high expectations for all employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day
Student Intern/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 1, 2014
A good place to work. i love working there. the people there are great and help you with what you need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, challenging and a learning experience to continue in healthcare
Outpatient Patient Care Tech. (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 27, 2014
Pros: recognition with a center star from staff and patients
Cons: leaving late
As a employee I have the communication skills to serve the community. I ensure to please the patients with accurate information, goals they should be willing to reach and everyday life. This is communicated with nursing staff of the awareness. Working with nursing staff is learning the culture and diversities, it all starts with a "good morning". This – more... is important because I know we are ready for work. Ready for task to be carried out to complete a day full of obstacles. The work day are admissions, vital signs, valuable list, admission kits, bedpans/urinals, assist to bathroom, therapy, telemetry monitoring, transport, specimens, medconnect/MC170 charting, code response an other tasks. Management plays a role in our work day with impel mating the expectation of serving the community, staff and people in our everyday lives. Management is open for concerns, comments, suggestions and questions, to there fullest will carry it out to find the best answer for your statements. All in one, this is making my day with a smile and enjoying my employment, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
NICU RN (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 16, 2014
Continuous learning environment, diverse group of staff/patients, great collaborative interdisciplinary realtionships
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), washington, dcJune 14, 2014
It was a okay place to work. Not that much of an oppurtunity to advance. Some employees are very hard to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy ER
Emergency Dept. RN (Former Employee), washington DCJune 12, 2014
Pros: cutting edge medicine
Cons: long commute
Great career advances available. No children being treated at this facilty. I was able to teach new nurses and share my expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge of medical terminology
Registered Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 6, 2014
Pros: patients first
Cons: couldn't draw the line between empathy and sympathy
Senstive professional caring and respectful to my collegues, patients and their familes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and business like culture.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 3, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of everybody coming in and going to their assigned station and taking their work up to a certain unit in the hospital and stock the units with needed supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace- looking for something else
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), 2C (Med-Psych)April 3, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: rarely get breaks, dirty floors, overflowing trash cans, high stress environment
This unit experiences a very high turnover rate of employees due to the amount of stress placed on each individual. The one good thing about this unit is that my co-workers are FANTASTIC. Some of the best nurses I have ever met. I can say that I learned a great deal at this job since I dealt with not only very ill patients medical-wise but also very – more... mentally ill patients. I also gained experience that many people on med-surg floors in other hospitals would not gain. For instance we have had patients with trachs, chest tubes, heparin and insulin drips, stage IV pressure sores, wound vacs, and patients scoring high on the CIWA rating system who needed Ativan constantly. The hardest part of the job is the nurse to patient ratio and having to care for patients that are very mentally disturbed but need medical treatment because they can be extremely non-compliant with medication and treatment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn and grow.
Quality Assurance Supervisor Blood Bank (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 3, 2014
Working in a blood bank at one of the largest hospitals and a level I Trauma Center in the nation's capitol gives you a lot of opportunities to experience things first hand that you only hear about at other hospitals. We see a huge variety of patients and are constantly prepared for the unexpected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Patient Transporter (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 14, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work your always working at a steady pace. You learn how to deal with different people from different aspects with different views. Management could be better have more sympathy for the workers. Co-workers are fantastic they make you want to come to work. Hardest part of my job is taking orders from unintelligent leadership. meeting – more... new people is the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at WHC
CRM Clinical Social Worker (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 3, 2014
Cons: high turnover rate
A typical day at work would include meeting with pts and working with the medical tema on discharge plans for each pt. I have learned alot form working in the hospital as this is my first experiencce. Management have changed some but my direct supervisor is the same. Teh hardest part of the job is dealing with people who do not understand the Social – more... Worker role. I love my job and my co-workers. This is a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Medical Office Assistant II (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: friendly co- workers
Cons: low job satsifaction
A typical work day at Washington Hospital Center is communicating with co-workers and patients to get the job done. I have learned that communication and team-work is the best way to get the task done. Helping one another is essential when you have many responsibilities. The most enjoyable part of the job is to help patients as smoothly as possible – more... to get through their pre-op satisfied. The hardest part of the job is to try to help patients when you have no control over certain situations; therefore, you have to wait until someone finishes and completes their job in order to move forward and help the patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly/Learning Environment
Patient Care Unit Clerk (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 30, 2014
I learned to provide excellent customer service skills to patients and their families. Also, enrolled in system training modules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced busy
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Washington D.CJanuary 30, 2014
Working at Hospital was a very lucretive learnig experience. Got to experience the pace of a major urban level1 trauma center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people are great but there is no work life balance.
laboratory representative (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits and people
Cons: terrible management and unfair policies
i enjoyed my time in all three departments here but this organization has some things to work on to motivate associates to stay long term. there is a lot of overtime and mandatories and not enough policies to protect the associate when they are burnt out,but have to work anyway.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a very good place to keep work life balance.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 11, 2013
Pros: good environment
Cons: no job security.
It is big organization and fortunately my boss was very good, as long as you do your work he will be OK. He knows the value of a good staff. Co-workers were very friendly. Higher management was not good. All the staff having lunch together at least once in a month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly productive work enviroment
Process Improvement Intern (Former Employee), Washington DCSeptember 5, 2013
Fast pace work environment. Employees very friendly. Departments very open to improvements in order to increase productivity and patient satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Care Leader
Administrative Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 21, 2013
Pros: industry leader in health care, benefits, collaboration
Cons: non-profit
Strong collaborative work environment, teaching hospital, advances in health care are often attributed to research studies. Solid academic setting for the medical field.