Meharry Medical College Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 53 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME! Very employee driven!
Campus Photographer (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 20, 2015
I was able to run with my photography unimpeded! I was self supervised and drove the digital imagery side of our IT department. I dealt with clients on campus as well as off campus affiliates whom I was assigned to serve.
Pros
Great climate for growth and for honing my craft!
Cons
Raises were practically nonexistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Reference Librarian (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 4, 2016
The head of the reference department hired me and she later became the director of the library. My co-workers, all of whom she hired were wonderful people, and although I know where some of them are, I wish I knew where all of them are.

The CEO of the school when I was there, later became Surgeon General of the U.S.
Pros
Wonderful Working Experience-Incredible People
Cons
having to move
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The family at Meharry is amazing!
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 4, 2016
My supervisors were gracious. The staff was incredibly enthusiastic and supportive. The atmosphere overall was very warm and nurturing. I will seriously miss working at Meharry!
Pros
Free lunches, constant praise
Cons
Gaps in communication, delays in problem solving
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meharry's work atmosphere
Temporary Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville-Davidson, TNJuly 14, 2016
The reason I feel speak so highly of Meharry is the togetherness and the community aspect of the staff. One feels like a family member rather than an employee or number. It creates a sense of tranquility to the work environment that I greatly appreciate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work place
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 17, 2016
I was walked through every job at Meharry. It was a everyday learning experience with using different types of cleaning agents. I also fixed light sockets and changed light bulbs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful and well organized
Medical Student Trainee (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 16, 2016
Meharry Medical College was a great experience. It helps students prepare for medical school or any higher education. They have great resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Internal Medicine Resident (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 11, 2016
Usually work 60-80hrs/week
very friendly place to work and learn
co-workers are very friendly to work with
long duty hours
learn with every interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational place to work
Provide executive (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 2, 2015
A typical day consists of producing reports for the director. Assisting students with skill instruction and/or tutoring appointments. Create PowerPoint's and flyers for faculty development workshops. Assist with video and av set up when necessary for faculty workshops.
Pros
Good benefits and an hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Duties at Meharry Medical College HR Dept.
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 9, 2014
Assistance with directing employees to the proper department specialists regarding benefits,
hiring, training and more.
Handling confidential employee files for the purpose of review, preparation, and filing.
Digitizing all forms and files into a new on-line integrated system.
Receiving inbound calls on multi-line phone system.
Assist with the directing of personnel, training and benefits activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School but does'nt pay employees well
Admissions Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 8, 2015
Great position and love working with students, but hard work is not compensated equally. The easiest part of my job is coming to work, knowing im going to make a difference in a future doctor's life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 17, 2015
I love research, so I enjoyed interacting with the people in the community with respect to the various intervention projects I was coordinating.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
conducive and secure work environment
Assistant Health Educator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 30, 2015
The hardest part of the job is when you have to approach people that might be having a bad day. Other than that, it is a fulfilling job to provide information to the people without access to information
Pros
security
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, Not So Great Position
AA (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 9, 2015
Meharry Medical College is a legendary place with great people. It was great working with respected minority physicians & researchers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning all aspect of healthcare
Social Worker II (SBIRT) (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 3, 2014
The benefits are great and a very safe place to work at with many professionals in the medical field.
Pros
free parking
Cons
not applicable
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 5, 2015
Great Place to work, positive work/life balance. Educational and progressive environment. Would employer there again!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good customer service training
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  1005 Dr.D.B.Todd Jr. Blvd.May 21, 2014
fast paced ,Must have ability to multi-task, take instruction,ability to think outside box
Pros
great benefits
Cons
no ability to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting testing
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 3, 2015
I learned how to perform hemoglobinopathy testing using electrophoresis and HPLC methods. Both are interesting to learn about and perform. Also got to learn some DNA testing.
Pros
day shift M-F
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, supportive work environment
General Practice Resident (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 29, 2015
Great experience. Was provided opportunity to refine skills learned in school while having support of senior faculty.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased staff and degrading conditions
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashvilee, TNMay 11, 2015
Senior research staff talked to interns like dogs. Requisitioning was Byzantine and slow. Materials were lacking. PhD.s were caustic. Management was a joke.
Pros
Challenging research, intellectally
Cons
Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being that this is the first EHS department that has staff in various disciplines, ther is a lot of ground work to be done.
Biological & Chemical Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 6, 2013
There is no typical day for this position. There are times to which I can handle chemical waste management, as well as biological waste management. Then in the next hour I am resolving issues of chemical and biological safety in research labs and clinical settings. to end the day I may have time to review research protocols involving animals, bacteria, and or diseases for approval in the areas of chemical and biological safety.
Pros
various research discoveries to improve the health and welfare.
Cons
not enough timeand resources to resolve the issues of chemical and biological safety on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Meharry Medical College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 53 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1

Meharry Medical College Reviews by Location