Meharry Medical College Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Volunteer Student (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 5, 2017
Nice place to work, good location, friendly and professional atmosphere. regularly hod workshops that cover relevant topics in the society and prove to be very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All positives
Program Manager/Forensic Psychology Associate (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 31, 2017
This place is one of the best places that I have ever worked. The people, location, the times, the work it self was wonderful. The pay could have been a little better but nonetheless it was great over all.
Pros
lunch
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 15, 2016
The management is horrible, especially in the department of Psychiatry. The clinical director, and down, all need to be replaced. The upper management is "good" the middle management is bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair and baised
Student Doctor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 7, 2016
meharry expected students to recruit their patients in the clinics while other medical colleges had patients available.

there are more improvements needed..
Pros
none
Cons
overall culture change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Grants Analyst (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 5, 2016
process different documents, do reports and input information into system. How to do different reports. Manage all my accounts and paper work. Worked with great people. Not having paper work from departments to do my job. Workers helping each other.
Pros
everyone helping each other
Cons
not having paper work to do my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meharry Medical College
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 31, 2016
It has been a professionally gratifying work experience here. Typical day would start with patient visit for the clinical trial study. There was a great coordination with the colleagues to conduct clinical study visits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 6, 2016
Good place to work and good job security. Job advancement seems to be limited. Staff are very helpful, family atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced Medical Education
Simulation Lab Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 19, 2016
Meharry invests in leading Medical Simulation Technology to train Medical Students from multi-disciplines to include OB/GYN, Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, Psychiatry, Public Health, Surgery, and Dental. It is long-standing HBCU that has garnered many of today's leading physicians in the field of patient care.
Pros
advancing young minds
Cons
under funded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work place
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 17, 2016
I was walked through every job at Meharry. It was a everyday learning experience with using different types of cleaning agents. I also fixed light sockets and changed light bulbs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meharry's work atmosphere
Temporary Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville-Davidson, TNJuly 14, 2016
The reason I feel speak so highly of Meharry is the togetherness and the community aspect of the staff. One feels like a family member rather than an employee or number. It creates a sense of tranquility to the work environment that I greatly appreciate.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Reference Librarian (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 4, 2016
The head of the reference department hired me and she later became the director of the library. My co-workers, all of whom she hired were wonderful people, and although I know where some of them are, I wish I knew where all of them are.

The CEO of the school when I was there, later became Surgeon General of the U.S.
Pros
Wonderful Working Experience-Incredible People
Cons
having to move
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The family at Meharry is amazing!
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 4, 2016
My supervisors were gracious. The staff was incredibly enthusiastic and supportive. The atmosphere overall was very warm and nurturing. I will seriously miss working at Meharry!
Pros
Free lunches, constant praise
Cons
Gaps in communication, delays in problem solving
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful and well organized
Medical Student Trainee (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 16, 2016
Meharry Medical College was a great experience. It helps students prepare for medical school or any higher education. They have great resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Internal Medicine Resident (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 11, 2016
Usually work 60-80hrs/week
very friendly place to work and learn
co-workers are very friendly to work with
long duty hours
learn with every interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 17, 2015
I love research, so I enjoyed interacting with the people in the community with respect to the various intervention projects I was coordinating.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School but does'nt pay employees well
Admissions Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 8, 2015
Great position and love working with students, but hard work is not compensated equally. The easiest part of my job is coming to work, knowing im going to make a difference in a future doctor's life.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, Not So Great Position
AA (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 9, 2015
Meharry Medical College is a legendary place with great people. It was great working with respected minority physicians & researchers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
conducive and secure work environment
Assistant Health Educator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 30, 2015
The hardest part of the job is when you have to approach people that might be having a bad day. Other than that, it is a fulfilling job to provide information to the people without access to information
Pros
security
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME! Very employee driven!
Campus Photographer (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 20, 2015
I was able to run with my photography unimpeded! I was self supervised and drove the digital imagery side of our IT department. I dealt with clients on campus as well as off campus affiliates whom I was assigned to serve.
Pros
Great climate for growth and for honing my craft!
Cons
Raises were practically nonexistant.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting testing
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 3, 2015
I learned how to perform hemoglobinopathy testing using electrophoresis and HPLC methods. Both are interesting to learn about and perform. Also got to learn some DNA testing.
Pros
day shift M-F
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Meharry Medical College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

85%
Approve - Based on 14 ratings
Add your rating

Meharry Medical College Reviews by Location