Mehlville School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the great teachers and the wonderful kids.
Lunch Aid (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 5, 2017
I worked at several different school in the district so i was always on the go. The teachers were always so appreciative when they saw me and the kids made me feel needed.
Pros
Getting to know all the kids
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teachers!
HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATOR (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 25, 2017
Teachers at Mehlville School District are wonderful people! They care very deeply for their students and each other. They are hard working people who want the best for those around them. In terms of teachers, it's a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Job
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 2, 2017
This job provides Clear expectations and a feasible schedule requirements. Suitable for anyone who enjoys multitasking in an environment that is always moving and requires interaction with children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for. Many rewarding aspects.
Head Custodian (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 20, 2017
Working for Mehlville School District is very rewarding. Early morning parent drop off is awesome. I spent many hours at the back door greeting the children as they came in school. The Children's smiles and up lifting attitudes was my early morning happiness.

There's a lot to be said about the management at Mehlville, its more like a small family atmosphere. Many different personalities make of a fun and challenging day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding place to work.
Special Needs Aide (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis County, MOJanuary 29, 2017
Start work at 6 a.m. Pick up highschool students, then middle school, then elementary students. I strap kids in seatbelts, car seats, and secure a child in a wheelchair. I love this job as it gives me the opportunity to learn about children's disabilities. We also have a lot of fun with the kids. I get attached to them very quickly. Of course, safety is our number 1 priority.
Pros
The reward of helping children.
Cons
It's only seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 22, 2017
Great people
Decent benefits
Overtime is there if allowed to work it
Able to learn other areas of other positions
Every once in a while free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work with good benifits
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 9, 2017
Mehlville school district is a great school district to work for. The benefits are great. and the work environment is good.
Pros
great office staff ans wonderful co workers
Cons
manegment good be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 15, 2016
Working at Mehlville School District is perfect. My younger children attend this district. The teachers are friendly, helpful and encouraging. A typical day would not be typical. Each and every job is different and exciting. I can choose to work with kindergarteners or seniors in high school. One day a child may need extra help or your support, helping one sound out words or figuring out a math problem, the next day everyone gets on their computers and takes a test and you just need to monitor the class. My co-workers are all the teachers I meet and they are terrific. The hardest part of the job is not getting to know my co-worker by name unless I continue to sub at that particular school. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I do help that child understand their lesson and the "light bulb" shines in their eyes and smile.
Pros
work when I want
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic school district. Great health services department,
School Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63129September 9, 2016
Worked in the district for 15 years. Last 3 were sketchy due to principals having full control. Lacked support from admin. However, the health services department was run well. Very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work environment,
Food and Nutrition Associate (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 15, 2016
Great job, great people, I love that I am able to interact with people all day. The children at the school are wonderful and I have learned so much from them. Especially the SSD kids I have such a better understanding and appreciation for those kids they truly are great and I love watching them thrive. The school has done an amazing job at including all the kids together.
Pros
People interaction, fast paced work environment, great people
Cons
Pay, only able to work 3 1/2 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff and Students
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
Great sense of Community within the schools and High Regard for the students,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Health Room Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 4, 2014
I enjoyed my time there. People were friendly and respectful. I subbed as a secretary to earn extra money since my position was part time. I would still be there if I had not needed full time employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cafeteria Monitor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2013
Monitor halls and clean the cafeteria after each lunch shift
You learn how to handle special needs children during a normal lunch period with other students
Management was always available
Co-workers were the greatest
Hard to keep everyone under control at all times
Love working with children
Pros
Short hours and you can walk around
Cons
need more hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 22, 2013
I am constantly on my toes at Mehlville. Working one on one with kids with Autism is challenging, yet exciting. Each day is new and different. I enjoy working with each of the kids and problem solving to figure out their best way of learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mehlville School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Mehlville School District Reviews by Location