Find companies:
Mellon
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Mellon Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Business System Consultant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 22, 2014
Working with a wide variety of people and learning various business processes and technologies in detail. The more I learn, the more value I can bring to my customers.

It's great to have managers that do not micro-manage, who trust you, your work and capability, to be able to be empowered and the work/life balance they provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Picker
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cary, NCMarch 10, 2014
• Pick and Pack Orders utilizing RF Scanner
• Attended daily pre-shift meeting
• Work at a fast, steady pace.
• Understand and recognize product numbers and alpha/numeric codes.
• Lift up to 50 lbs on an occasional basis, 30 lbs on a regular basis.
• Be flexible in your hours of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary
Manager (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 25, 2014
This is an okay place to work. things could be better and could be worse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work-enjoy my job in Research Adjustment)
Research Adjustment Specialist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PaFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: team work, rewards for a good job
Cons: jobs ended very disappointed
I enjoy my position in Research Adjustnment I had very nice Manager & my co-wokers was very easy to get along with we all work as a team to get the job done I was very sad when this job ended in 2005
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work experience that expanded my knowledge of the financial services industry.
Investment Fund Accountant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 24, 2013
• Completed accurate financial statements for complex collective investment funds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY ENJOYABLE JOB
Private Banker Administrator (Former Employee), Abington, PAOctober 12, 2013
I enjoyed working at Mellon Financial. I learned something new every day. The manager, supervisor are very down to earth willing to help you and teach you they were always interested in the all of the employees and addressed any issues without hesitation. I enjoyed every part of my and the hardest this was to say goodbye when the closed our office
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide answers to Federal employees regarding benefit packages
Participant Specialist (Former Employee), Little Falls, NJOctober 8, 2013
Manage Leave of Absence cases for Lockheed Martin employees
Create and distribute Leave of Absences packages
Quality Assurance for information in Peoplesoft
Demonstrated ability to work within guidelines of Risk Management Procedures/Union Contract
STD & LTD time management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QA Consultant
QA Consultant (Former Employee), New york citySeptember 11, 2013
Performed a QA Consultant role in highly integrated services for retirement plans with Mellon's asset management, record keeping and actuarial services. It consists of 3 types of applications, VRS (Voice Recognition Service), AIS (Account Inquiry System) and Web based system, which provides customers various HR services like Retirement Services, 401 – more... (k) retirement plans, Employee Stock Purchase Plan (ESPP). The application enables the customers to check their portfolios online, get breaking financial news, real time access to accounts, get electronic copies of statements, and trade the stocks along with providing real time quote information. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Check Processor II (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: easy pace work, most of the time.
Cons: i lost my job when bny took over because they downsized.
Working there I came in and learned the job quickly. I was praised as I out worked most of my co-workers. The management actually knew what was going on, on the floor. With down time many would socialize, but management caught on to my habit of going to other areas who were behind to keep the night moving fast. I was told if I kept it up I would move – more... up and become a manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Services
Office Services Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 30, 2013
I worked for many years in Chicago and treasure the friendships I made then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grreat
Data Entry & Mail Operator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2013
I learned a lot working here. I went from openong mail to Data entry. The enviornment contains a lot of workers which was very nice to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional at work
Autosys Enhancer (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 19, 2013
Good Place to work on BFS domain. I was into Autosys implementation / upgradation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great before merger
Senior Trade Specialist (Former Employee), pittsburgh, paMay 30, 2013
Great place to work before the merger. Upbeat, joy to go in every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can do anything you want here
Desktop Support Specialist (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 27, 2013
Pros: opportunity to learn all you want.
Cons: long days, no breaks. lunch in front of your computer working. lower than average pay.
This is an excellent place to hone your skills in any facet of the investment banking industry. If you are fresh out of college or are trying to get into the industry, you are in the right place. At least in IT, you can try your hand at just about anything you want. On desktop, everyone, Tier 1 or Tier 2, has the opportunity to create virtual servers, – more... log into test routers, create virtual devices with any OS, try your hand at packaging software, anything. If you put your efforts in, you can gain real knowledge. Starting pay is just as low as anywhere else. The issue is that after learning so much and making yourself very marketable, you are still getting the same low salary. So, at this time many people in all departments are leaving. But then, if the company wants to train folks in all areas of investment banking for the competition, that's their business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Derivative Specialist (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 5, 2013
Great company, they treat employees with respect, competitive compensation and great benefits and PTO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The site was difficult to get to if you didn't have your own vehicle.
Plan Administrator (Former Employee), Ridgefield Park, NJApril 12, 2013
There was always a training course available which helped as professional growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mellon Merged into Bank of New York
Director of Corporate Affairs (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CA & Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: very high quality professionals as colleagues.
Cons: four hour daily commute
This is a high quality Fortune 500 company. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the different time zones from London to Pittsburgh to Los Angeles and still manage to work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace. Great people
Portfolio Reconciliation Analyst (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 19, 2013
I have learned a great deal during my time at MCM. Though, our work is primarily individual, I have grown much through interactions with other members of my group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place
Lock Box Clerk (Former Employee), Richardson, TXJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: no advancement opportunities
A real friendly and quiet atmosphere. Lots of work to do and never slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Mellon
Expediter/Data entry keyer (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits, salary pay, promotion available, great managers and supervisors, friendly atmosphere
Cons: down time
Mellon was a great workplace with salary pay and didnt take me long to move of the ladder with being able to work in different departments on my off days from the others, i lovede all my co workers and the teamwork we shared together a day at mellon may have been a busy one keeping you in motion delivering work to other departments running machines – more... and keying in data to the computer bases but it kept the day going and time flying.the most enjoyable part of the day was mainly all of it friendly co workers and managers sometimes team parties and lunch together was also a funtime. so of the hardest times was downtime if there wasnt musch work. – less