Find companies:
Melmark
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Melmark Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow if you are like by the managers.
Applied Behaviors Analysis Counselor / Supervisor (Former Employee), Berwyn, PAOctober 4, 2014
It use to be a great place to work, the clients are the reasons why many of the worker would wake up everyday to go to work. The management did not care much about the staff. They would terminate your employment for any reasons. You have to be part of a particular cycle in order to get a promotion. Great worker were past on for promotion because they – more... were not part of a class group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedication does not go far
Primary Care Nurse (Former Employee), Berwyn, PAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: discounted meals, very diverse cultures
Cons: always looking to assign blame
I spent a decade with this company and worked in many positions due to advancement. I was very successful and left on good terms. Pay is dismal. Management culture is reprimand first ask questions later. (I was in management for a long time) If your heart and soul is not completely in this company you are sub par. Lower management run around like chickens – more... afraid of any possible mistakes they or their staff will make. "just make it look good on paper" They like to reorganize to give you a new position. Double your responsibilities and cut 25% of your pay. Give you a raise then increase you portion of the health care costs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Healthcare Coordinator (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAJuly 10, 2014
I love the children and adults I worked with. I also enjoy working with co-workers. The only issue I have with Melmark is the lack of communication and respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Res Aide Melmark
Residential Aide (Current Employee), Malvern, PAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: everything!
Cons: none in my book!
I have been working here for almost a year and I love it!!!, I love the staff we are like family, they are very understanding when it comes to personal life issues that may arise , and are very informative of job duties and responsibilities, my clients are the best they really make your day with their smiles and full of life attitudes...such an awesome – more... place to work I recommend everyone with a kind heart and ready to work to apply! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that really care for the residents, staff and families.
Assistant Director/Program Specialist (Former Employee), Berwyn, PAJune 30, 2014
Pros: i loved working for melmark.
Cons: restructuring left many without positions.
Completing rounds, review data from previous shifts, manage schedules, medical appointments, medication administration documentation. Trained staff and supervisors. Visited with clients, funders and families. Supervised a staff of 6 supervisors who worked with a direct care staff of about fifty-four. Hardest part of the job was managing paperwork. Most – more... enjoyable part of the job was working to make the lives of those I worked for (clients) at Melmark. Learned to work with people from various cultures and customs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun, diverse cultural place to work
Residential Aide (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 28, 2014
Pros: free, meal, able to give assistance to consumers
Cons: expensive benefits
I like working in the field with consumers. I like to assist and give help whenever needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of overtime
Aba Counselor (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAMay 29, 2014
melmark has a lot of overtime for staff.Not much to say about the company other than they have a lot of overtime for their staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active Place
Applied Behaior Analysis Counselor (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAMay 19, 2014
I enjoy my co workers and the children that I work with on a daily basis. The hardest thing about this job is the 3 pm- 11pm schedule and the 16 hour shift every Saturday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive work place
Residential Aide (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAMay 2, 2014
Pros: $ 1.00 all you can eat lunch
Cons: no breaks
Melmark is great place to work in that they first equip you with valuable training that is left with you for life. It is very diverse in employment and gives employees the opportunity to meet interact many different people from many different culture. The support team is very efficient in making sure new hires are comfortable in the job. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job at Melmark is just knowing that I am making a difference in the lives of kids. The hardest part of my job is the commute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice front desk receptionist stupid and uncaring hiring personnel girl
n/a (Former Employee), berwynMarch 24, 2014
Pros: nice patients
Cons: horrible human resource personnel
Not enough parking for staff rude and inconsiderste workers especially girl who does hiring sarah she's a real dip but patients seem nice and some of staff its an ok place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the most rewarding careers anyone could ever ask for!
Recruiter - Human Resources (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAOctober 25, 2013
Pros: • rewarding career opportunities, friendly work environment, promote from within, generous tuition reimbursement benefits, comprehensive benefit program, $1 lunches.
I have worked as the Recruiter in Melmark's Human Resources Department for close to two years; from start of my shift to finish, there has yet to be a day that I left Melmark without a smile on my face. While building friendships with staff from all of our varied programs is amazing, the true reward of working at Melmark is the extraordinary interactions – more... with the individuals that we serve.

To anyone who has a genuine interest in making a difference in the lives of children and adults with intellectual disabilities, I strongly encourage you to consider a career at Melmark! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work for first job
ABA Counselor (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: pay rate, individuals you serve
Cons: unorganized, short staff
When you first start working here you will like it because the pay isn't bad until you realize what comes along with the job.
Poor management and unorganized. Management doesn't care about anything but money. They don't care for the individuals they serve or their staff.
Watch out because you can get written up or even fired for anything.
With this – more... job I feel like its not all about work ethic but favoritism if a supervisor likes you your safe but if not make sure you don't ever mess up cause you may it may cause your job.
This job is not promise you can get employee of the month one day and get fired the next. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Site Supervisor (Former Employee), Berwyn, PAJuly 24, 2013
Management has different ways of communicating with staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Behavioral Health Assistant (Former Employee), Newtown, PAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: to work with individuals who are very caring.
Cons: working overnight and being able to stay with them.
Working with individuals with intellectual disabilities. A typical day was planning activities for the children. It was any hard parts of this job, and the most enjoyable part of this job were the people living here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting working environment
ABAC Counselor (Former Employee), Berwyn, PAJune 5, 2013
Pros: rewarding working environment
Cons: possibility of personal bodily harm
This was a very rewarding working environment. The people who work there truly understand what it means to work as part of a team. It is also a chaotic working environment at times give the population the company works with but there is never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company but Nursing is a disgrace
Health Care Coordinator (Former Employee), RTFApril 22, 2013
Pros: awesome people to work with
Cons: nursing department is a disaster. you are on your own.
The Director of Nursing is an LPN who consistently:

Shows favoritism
Lack of any support whatsoever
Refuses to give any quality feedback

With the Nursing department as unorganized and self destructive as it is. I'm not surprised they have been unable to keep Nursing staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Residential Aide (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAApril 10, 2013
Every company has it's bad apples but as a whole this is an okay company. Some. but definitely not all, of management actively express concern about employees work experience. They consistently ask for feedback and try their best to meet staff requests for a better work environment. They offer discounted lunch but only for those who work on main campus. – more... If you don't (like me), you are on your own with food (which I don't mind anyway). One of the negatives about this company is your personal driving issues could cost you your job. For example, if you get a ticket on your own time, pay if off and have no more issues with the DMV, this company still feels as though it's their business. I don't get that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and a good place to be
Residental Aid (Current Employee), berwyn paApril 4, 2013
it is a good place to work at.. i love my clients. they are some special people to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others have a fulfilling life, self-rewarding
Applied Behavioral Analysis Counselor (Current Employee), Berwyn, PAMarch 28, 2013
Pros: free food, company outings, residents, overtime
Cons: politics, strict rules
At melmark i work 2nd shift from 3-11pm/40 hours a week with a double shift on Sunday. I work with individuals with mental disabilities using applied behavioral analysis. I collect data both clinically and academically on these individuals in hopes of improvement behaviorally and in basic fine motor and academic skills. I am certified within the company – more... to administer medication to the residents. I also am responsible for case management work which requires entering the data into the database, parent contact, and maintaining the overall well being of at least one of the residents. The management can be unprofessional at times, but there have been instances of good management skills and leadership. I enjoy working with my co-workers because everyone has great teamwork and communication skills. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the politics that go on within the company and dealing with challenging behaviors that often times lead to injury. The most enjoyable part of the job is simply building close bonds with the residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Applied Behavior Analysis Counselor (Former Employee), Berwyn, PAFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: not compensated for the amount of work done, dangerous environments, management is not very understanding
There is no such thing as a typical day at Melmark, it is always crazy and fast paced.

The management is okay but not very understanding of people who work direct care