Find companies:
Melting Pot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Melting Pot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, energetic, positive atmosphere
Server and Bartender (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEOctober 24, 2014
Again, like any small building, the staff gets along just great here. It's a big happy family & the style of food just makes it more fascinating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Melting Pot
BARTENDER/SERVER (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 2, 2014
A normal waiting tables employment. The concept of the restaurant is fun and unique.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellet resturant
Host/Service Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 28, 2014
one of the best places to eat as well as work in boston. i truely enjoy working here and i plan to grow with the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Melting Pot Kitchen Review
Kitchen Prep (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 21, 2014
I am responsible for the quality control of the restaurant's food preparation and handling. During my seven year tenure at the Melting Pot, I have assisted with counting and maintaining monthly inventory as well as training new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Melting Pot Summary
Server (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CoJuly 19, 2014
Pros: free salad, wine knowledge, events, flexibility with schedule
Cons: short breaks, no healthcare, overstaffing
This is a great place to work. The management is very passionate about their mission and inspire their employees to have the same vision. As long as your guests are happy, the management is happy. The coworkers are phenomenal. I've never been in a restaurant that fosters such camaraderie within their employees. The hardest part of working there is most – more... likely the pace of the restaurant. This isn't your typical serving job. The money is great, but you definitely have to work for it. The owner is very passionate about alcohol knowledge as well, and she works hard to foster excitement in her employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run company whose potential has panned out in global expansion
Asst. Expansion Coordinator - Trainer/Hub 239 (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJune 19, 2014
All things about this company are professional and as an employer, they are worthy of your respect. The franchise fees are high but worth their weight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and upscale environment.
Server (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 13, 2014
This restaurant is very fast paced with lots of steps involved to get guest satisfaction. A 4 course restaurant where the server does the majority of the work. The management is there to help out and do everything they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Ambiance and creative atmosphere
Server (Current Employee), NashvilleApril 21, 2014
I like working here because we have a lot of control over the guest experience. It is a fun place to work with a lot of fun people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Server Assistant/ Hospitality Specialist. (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 13, 2014
Pros: energetic, learning experience, good management, positive work environment.
Cons: late hours
Typical day was energetic and fast paced. Constantly running around making sure the restaurant was running smoothly. I learned about customer relations, time management, prioritizing, and phone etiquette.
From the managers to my fellow co-workers were great people, and even harder workers. Management kept spirits up on particularly hard nights such – more... as around holidays. No complaints.

The hardest part was probably the late hours. Just the fact I would get home around 2 a.m.
Most enjoyable part was switching roles, One day I would be a Hospitality Specialist, another I would be a Service Assistant, Then another I would an expediter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over seeing partnership
Vice President of Operations and Development (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTOctober 7, 2013
Pros: great to be a partner in a new business
Cons: working with the state of ct
It was great to be a part of a partnership. The down fall was working with a major porject withg the State of CT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fondue Restaurant
Server (Former Employee), Novi, MIAugust 13, 2013
Pros: 18% gratuity added to all parties over 6
Cons: long work days with very long extensive side work and closing duties
Come in 2 hours early for set-up. Cut up all fruit for fondue dips, make sure restaurant is immaculate. Review specials for the day, and taste a wine for promotion every day. Provide guests with demonstations of Fondue techniques. Management at that time, extremely helpful as he had somalier certificate. Very understanding, and helpful, co-workers extremely – more... team oriented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving job
Service Assistant/Server (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 5, 2013
Pros: decent tips
Cons: long hours on your feet and on weekends
Decent tips on most nights. Overall a pretty good restaurant to work at. Not the best or worst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical serving job
Head Bartender (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: wine discounts, building relationships
Cons: hours, no breaks
A typical day at the Melting Pot consisted of prepping the bar and restaurant before it opened, ensuring customer satisfaction while serving and preparing portions of the meals for guests and also informing the guests of cooking and safety regulations for their meals. At the Melting Pot, I learned about food and wine and also a more proper way of interacting – more... with guests. Management was too personally involved with the staff which caused for a lot of favoritism. Management was also constantly required to be present at the restaurant which added to their stress and lack of social life. The co-workers were as close as family. The hardest part of the job was the closeness of the employees, however again, it was also the most enjoyable part of the job as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishwasher
dishwasher (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 17, 2013
Pros: proud of the dishes i washed
Cons: not a clean place
washed dishes and mopped floors after closing
made sure they had clean dishes to serve the guest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and great people
Server Trainer (Former Employee), Grand Rapids MIJune 10, 2013
Pros: most items
Cons: not much
A fine high class establishment
Enjoyable and friendly
Creative
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a great Company
Server, Trainer (Former Employee), Reston, VAMarch 22, 2013
Cons: management changed
I learned how to read and approach different types of people. Learned how to manage my time wisely and remain organized throughout the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Lead hostess (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: learned office work
Cons: management
A typical day for me at the melting pot: will we opened at 5Pm i was always their at 11:00am running errands filling paper work and set up tables with party packages. 5Pm I was to look up all reservations and set up seating chart and as reservations arrived i greeted them in a timley manor and walked them to their seat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to be at, but we got hit by bad economy then the business slowed down and I had to leave. The owner came and took over.
store manager (dinning room manager (Former Employee), DAYTON OHJuly 23, 2012
Pros: yes i had a free dinner only open for dinner
Cons: comfortable place to be at
Nice workplace dealing with a lot of good customers.I made sure the presentation of food was good before it was delivered to the table; esspically the fruits -making sure they were fresh- and everything looking nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with professional owners
Hostess (Former Employee), Orlando, FlJune 15, 2012
Pros: free salads, 50% discount on dinners
My time at the Melting Pot was great. The owners were very intelligible and professional. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to interact with the guests, and making their night out one that they wouldn't forget.