Melwood Employee Reviews

Found 38 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Services for People with Differing Abilites
ON-CALL SHUTTLE DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MD 20772May 1, 2017
Good Residents sometimes challenging tasks ,however overall company has growth and potential. Management sometimes is pushy and Allegedly misconduct and lewd behavior with some employees.
Pros
Great Residents and Different Atmosphere
Cons
Split Shifts and Under Pay for Drivers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Landscaping (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDMarch 28, 2017
Hard work always be on time i learned how to work and cash register and stock on merchandise new item's clean and assist guest with purchase and money order
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job to start off at when you Finish high school
Driver (Current Employee) –  MarylandFebruary 10, 2017
Depending on what what you are doing can make the job hard and stressful for you. Most the time the managers never knew what was going.
Pros
A lay back job
Cons
Terrible managers and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to Very open mind big heart and caring
Development Coach (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDJanuary 9, 2017
Keeping individuals actives for 6 hours
very easy work
lots of drama from other co workers only if u allow it
volunteer work on a daily bases
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Technicain (Former Employee) –  Ft. Meade, MDNovember 28, 2016
OK. Management and their ideas change constantly.Not a secure future here. You will not be treated well here. Its just a job
Pros
PAy
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Good Place to Work
Retention Counselor (Current Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDOctober 25, 2016
This place has a culture with a high turn over rate. Management don't care about the support staff. Staff basically do what they want, poor leadership. The pay is not great and it's a high level of stress to work. A part of the job is driving long routes as well which isn't advertised.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor Management Staff and Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 22, 2016
Cleaning duties, inventory and stocking. Employer was very accommodating, assisted me when requested. Received good pay and enjoyed working with the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive nice
Grounds Maintence laborer (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDMay 24, 2016
i loved the staff and learning alot. i learned everything in landscaping. u get to meet the crew, the staff works closely with u.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Custodial Worker (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDApril 25, 2016
a long hard working day but fun good environment but the managers are very rude an nasty. they need better training. The co-workers are very nice and hard working employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Respect
Slave (Current Employee) –  PG County, MDApril 20, 2016
This organization values their system more than the employees. The organization like many is all about the 'haves" and "have nots", lack of career advancement, lack of compensation, morale is low, but the VP's & CEO, make well over $100,000 while the people who are really in the field doing the dirty work are living below the poverty line. This 'non-profit" organization needs to be investigated and the state provided funds should be allocated properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job is good but the people are horrible
floater (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDJanuary 4, 2016
Im the type of person that type of person that keeps to himself because i dont like to be in an area with bad negativity. The job is easy and you'll get use to it in a week or so but you might have bad days and good days depending on whats happen im at the FBI site and i consider this to be the worst site to be honest.
Pros
good pay, work is steady and manageable, good hours
Cons
coworkers will tell on you for the dumbest reasons, bad communication, favoritism, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cvs
Retention Counselor (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDDecember 9, 2015
The job is a good "starter job" for the younger crowd. The hours were the hardest part with the late shifts. The environment was overall enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work if you like to help people
Community Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDOctober 30, 2015
I learned a lot about working with people who have developmental disabilities. You have to have a lot of patience and always pay close attention.
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Lead Worker (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDOctober 16, 2015
A typical day at Melwood as a Lead Worker is very ongoing. Making sure that you check in with your crew making sure that everything is running smooth as far as having all materials or equipment that is needed on a day to day basis, also making sure that everyone is on task and all duties of the day are met. I have learned alot working with Melwood such as having more patience which is required when dealing with individuals who has disabilities.
Pros
Long lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDJune 18, 2015
Pay was good
No weekends
No Holidays
We also had good insurance
Vacation when you wanted
Good work place to grow in the company
Love working with the people with disability
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Driving
Was this review helpful?Yes26No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Washington DCJune 1, 2015
Management completely dropped the ball on certain areas and tasks

Non-Attentive to consumers needs
Not Consumer friendly
Wouldn't return with Agency
Unsatisfied with Customer Service Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun place to work
Development Coach (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDMay 28, 2015
A typical day at work is engeging clinet in meaningful activities, learn alot from client about behavioral interventions, management are very supportive in decision making as long as is leading to company goasl and values. Very respectfully co-workers and great team, hardest part of the job is when you have gone above and beyond to help the client but they dont understand while they need to be protect form any danger or harm, the most enjoyable part of the job is watching the client complete a simple activities such as tissue paper art.
Pros
Direct Support Professional, free T-shirt
Cons
No breaks, No pay raise
Was this review helpful?Yes7No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job Was Better Than Yours!
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDApril 12, 2015
I loved my job here. The pay was excellent for what I was doing and the hours were beyond my belief. My co-workers were fun and energetic and never had a dull moment.
Pros
wages, hours
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a different experience for me but i like it
Transportation Van Aide (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDApril 10, 2015
Melwood is a great place to work. The people are friendly and very helpful. Its a great place to start out if you have been out of work for a while.
Pros
advancement with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Day
Contributor (Former Employee) –  Main OfficeNovember 13, 2014
Melwood has the typical issues that every nonprofit organization has however the culture of the organization is changing. The new focus is not on its employees but on the bottom line and people are expendable. The new management doesn't care about the well being of the staff that support the individuals and at the end of the day what you do doesn't matter. I was very sad to leave this organization and I wish I could have stayed. But well being is more important than the sacrifice of being made to feel worthless by people who are supposed to help you grow and be something better.
Pros
The ability to help others
Cons
Uncaring culture
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Melwood. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.7
Culture
3.3