Find companies:
Melwood
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Melwood Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very warm and welcoming place to work.
Custodian (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDOctober 13, 2013
Pros: lunch breaks was great.
Cons: the leave could be better.
Working for Melwood was great I really enjoyed it. The customers are very friendly as is the workers. Melwood was a very welcoming company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payroll Specialist I
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: good company
Cons: bad management
Was a great company to work for, except I worked in Payroll and the supervisor was a bully and a monster. She made my life a living hell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really hated to leave this place.
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDJuly 29, 2013
Pros: great people, place and environment to work in.
Cons: low pay.
I really enjoyed working with everyone at Melwood. The environment was great. The people were great. The job was great. The pay wouldn't allow one to really do much. This was really the only reason to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Lead Worker (Former Employee), washington dcJuly 8, 2013
very normal days, every day brings the opportunity to learn new things. management in few words have there own personality's
some are very live an happy others can be very self preserved an quiet.
i think that the hardest part of my job would be the striping the wax just because of my asma, but the most enjoyable part of my day i must say is reviewing – more... my own work just to make shore i beat my own standers . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
melwood
Custodial Worker (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDJuly 2, 2013
Melwood was a nice place to work at there a lot of different locations I was at USDA cleaning offices. My coworkers where very helpful when I first started there they made4 it easy for me. the hardest part working there is cleaning after people but living and it got me by
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Melwood is a joke.
Worker (Current Employee), Fort MeadeJune 30, 2013
Totally unorganized and no clue how to perform facilities maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very high paced and stressful job
refuse collection crew (Former Employee), Andrew's Air Force Base , Upper Marlboro,MdApril 18, 2013
Pros: i really enjoyed the people i worked with.
Cons: management was poor.
It is a fast paced and high stress job. I was responsible for 6 to 12 developmentally disabled people which may or may not have behavior issues. I had to maintain their safety first and the safety of other should a behavior happen. My crew collected refuse on the route that the President of the United States take to leave on Air Force One. I learned – more... how to do assessments and attend meetings for the Md State Assessments. The hardest part of the job is to be responsible for so many disabled people at one time. The most enjoyable part was watching my consumers succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good job
landscape worker (Former Employee), upper marlboroApril 18, 2013
this position has been advertised three times now, and there is a reason no one wants this position.
you will not be trained, have more work than one can do in 10 hours, management does not provide support, tools to do job, or guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK JOB
Custodian Worker (Current Employee), Suitland, MDMarch 23, 2013
Pros: melwood pay for lunch on hoildays and summer, free insurance, 30 mins for lunch, go anywhere to each lunch
Cons: part time, not making enough money, not what i want to do for long.
My typical day at work it's ok. what i learned is how to clean restrooms real good,how to deal with things when it gets out of hand.the hardest part of the job is to deal with people not fleshing toilets,and washing there hands,how the people have nasty bad Attitudes and when i go outside to do the grounds you have to worry about the rain,snow,real – more... cold,and mud.the most enjoyable of the job is the paycheck and thanking god for the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Melwood is okay for those who want to start off after they finish high school...
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Suitland, MDAugust 17, 2012
Pros: take us employees out to eat for lunch every year during the summer and also do christmas party's
Cons: they don't have all the benefits...
Melwood is some what a good place to work, but they don't have all the benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another "Non Profit" or Hub Zone Employer offering little as possible
NA (Former Employee), NAAugust 17, 2012
Pros: they called
Cons: their cheap..cheap..cheap
I received an invitation by phone (addressed by a different name even though their looking at my resume during the call) to attend an interview at George Fort Meade for a project Manager Position with Melwood. First they failed to offer clear directions to the facility and to allow additional time for the Security Check, “Grant It” I should have realized – more... I needed to do my homework up front before traveling. Entering the building that housed Melwood was quite a shock!! I noticed disorganization in several shops, including shop equipment , tools, and an office area scattered with paperwork. Not a well-organized Company from what I saw… As they say “First impressions are lasting impressions” Plus I Smelled the words CHEAP.. CHEAP.. CHEAP.. . I despise the @#@!* companies like this pull in the phone prescreening to waste your time and gas money -KNOWING DAMM WELL THEIR NOT GOING TO COME CLOSE to your last salary or salary requirements. MELWOOD SUCKS!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place is ok work not hard.
CUSTODIAN (Current Employee), Greenbelt, MDJuly 27, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: short lunches no room for growth
I think my job is easy but would like to make more money. I do cleaning also i pull trash. I learned to be on time and not to miss work goes a long way. Not to judge people we all make mistakes. Just because someone makes more money you dont mean they better. Management is not great but no complaints. Co workers are very funny so many diffrent characters – more... it like a movie. Hardest part of job is cleaning for adults that do very nasty things. Best part of day is end of day or pay day. – less

Juliana – August 17, 2012

Oh yes that is so true about that! LOL I sometimes don't know why how some adults can be so darn nasty!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly a Great Place to Work!!
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDJune 27, 2012
Pros: great staff and management
Cons: low salary
I really enjoyed working with the people on the Melwood Campus. Everyone was supportive and friendly and truly enjoyed working for Melwood. Unfortunately the salary offered didn't meet my personal needs. But if salary weren't an issue, I would definitely work there again.

Juliana – August 17, 2012

Yes I know, the salary is really low. I am currently working for Melwood, but I am looking else where...

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Ground Maintenance (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 12, 2012
Pros: provided transportation
Cons: pay could have been better
I loved working for Melwood ;they provided everything needed to perfectly complete job duties as well as safe stress free,and fun work place