Find companies:
MEMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

MEMC Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great balance of management, work and fellow emoployees
Operating Team Technician (Former Employee), St. Peters, MOJuly 19, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: making adjustments correctly to machines
Seek and find the previous machine operator, find out the conditions of that machine a ready for a evening of production.

Help others and they will do the best they can do.

Working helpers on the production floor. Helped getting things running to the machines best and then here and there.

teamwork and awesome people to call on as friends

Setting everything for your shift to run smoothly

card games during lunch, and eating with my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Chemical Transfer Personnel For KBR (Former Employee), Pashad, KNRDecember 10, 2013
Pros: great pay, great shifts and overtime, great co- workers, and great bosses
Cons: honestly cant think of any cons in the work place or company
Typical day consisted of going over the unit swaps on microsoft excel, plan out the trailer moves on the yard. Inspect the mule and do a complete yard check on trailers and units. Communicate with the operators and find out what they needed moved or what assistance i could give. I learned just how good i could back up semi trailers in close quarters, how to severly multi task, chemical substances and how my mistakes could effect an entire plant. How to communicate throughout the entire refinery, how to pay real close attention to the most minute details. The most unique skills i learned had to be the tasks that my operators did. In my spare time when there was nothing going on i would put on my PPE and shadow the operators in their processes throughout the units. The hardest part of working at MEMC was the type of work that had to be done. I was having to take 60 ft trailers and squeeze them within inches of each other and given very little space to do so. I had to transfer trailers loaded with explosive, toxic, and flamable contents throughout the refinery. But i most definately enjoyed my shift work, the co- workers and the work place. Very laid back people that i worked around on a daily basis and some of the best scenery you could find.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Electronic Materials Lead Operating Technician (Former Employee), O'Fallon, MOAugust 31, 2013
Ok, salary and benefits are fine, stability is not, shut down most departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company no longer exists but some friendship still do
Buyer I (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAJuly 18, 2013
Great first job learned a lot from my bosses that have shaped my carrier into one with good work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Questionable
QUALITY ASSURANCE ENGINEER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 11, 2013
Co-workers were fun loving young engineers. Enjoyed working with them. Management was questionable. Facility was acquired by another company who filed brankruptcy immediately after.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Sherman, TexasFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: always something to do
Cons: had to work sunday
Made waffers for computor chips
How waffers were made
Were fair to work for
Very nice people
Not hard
Learning more machines and operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Difficult Industrie
Project Manager - N. A. Logistics and Warehousing (Current Employee), Pasadena TxSeptember 23, 2012
Good benefits, Good Corp. Industire challinging with the product that is made
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy environment
Production Specialist currently (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXAugust 7, 2012
Pros: being the "go to" guy on complex due to upper management turnover
Cons: upper management instability and loss of benefits
Due to the small size of the complex I was able to learn a lot about a very broad spectrum of chemical plant management including operations, maintenance and small and large capital projects.
Great group of coworkers and the hardest part about leaving would be the bonds built over a 24 year career there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 5, 2012
Productive and fun workplace
a typical day at work, challenging
what you learned, all aspects concerned
management, GOOD
your co-workers, GREAT
the hardest part of the job, VERY VIGILANT WITH CHEMICALS
the most enjoyable part of the job, ALL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Turn Team Technician (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 25, 2012
Pros: free lunches and the people i worked with
Cons: health care
I found that the work I did there made a difference in trying to make the area we live in a greener place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable corporate structure, with little job security
Project Manager (Former Employee), Portland ORMarch 14, 2012
Pros: great people, if you are dedicated to make a career, and show your worth, they will help you get there.
Cons: laid off 88% of work force, 2 weeks before christmas
I enjoyed the people and the opportunities I created to move up. However, it is a very volatile industry, with many uncertainties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company, fun people to work with.
Solar Process Technician (Former Employee), Saint PetersDecember 15, 2011
Pros: people, job itself wasn't overally hard.
Cons: job security, indecisive management at times.
Company has had its ups and downs, but overall I enjoyed my time there. Most of the employees were fun to work with and talk with. Management was good, never encountered a boss who felt needed to yell if a mistake was made.

About MEMC

MEMC Electronic Materials doesn't waver from its devotion to wafers. MEMC supplies silicon wafers ranging in size from 100mm to – Read more