Memorial University Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Transport isn't a tough job
Patient Transporter (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 31, 2017
Very Fast paced. Competitive. A typical day consists of moving patients that weight a minimum of 100 lbs on top of the object you're transporting the patient on.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 23, 2017
Very busy! Number one trauma center in the state. A typical day at work for me is very busy. I work in an outpatient lab where all we do is walk-ins! Meet different people from all over.
Pros
Career fairs, Job opportunities.
Cons
Very expensive hospital. No employee discounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than average environment
ORST (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 17, 2017
This hospital has a number of unprofessional employees and it is tolerated. As a professional, you just look the other way and try not to let it effect your performance or attitude.
Pros
work to life commitment is balanced
Cons
too much drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Labor and Delivery Nurse (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 28, 2017
Busy unit w/ learning opportunities that promote improvement in career w/ abundant education classes and programs to refine and advance the medical practice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 years of something to do everyday.
Chemistry Lead Technologist (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 20, 2017
I worked for Memorial for 13 of the 15 years in the field. I learned a lot working there. I enjoyed the people I worked with, but the upper management was lacking. My immediate manager and lab director always made me feel that I was doing a great job, but outside of the lab walls no one new who we were. I learned a whole lot, grew in my field. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Physician Assistant Student (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 20, 2017
Enjoyed working and learning from other medical professionals. The hospital provides great care for the patients in the area. The staff is willing to learn and teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level 1 Trauma Experience
Anesthesia Technologist (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 15, 2017
Excellent facility to obtain Level I trauma experience if located in SouthEast GA. Chance to work in a University hospital setting. Many indigent cases.
Pros
Trauma experience
Cons
Poor working conditions, poor employee attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorial
Customer Resource Nurse/Telephonic Triage (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 21, 2017
The experience you will receive at a Trauma 1 hospital is unmatched. They are the only one below Macon so be prepared to WORK. Frequently understaffed, but teamwork makes it all work!
Pros
Experience, discounts
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity to grow
Emergency Room Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 10, 2017
This is a very busy Level 1 trauma hospital that takes in patient's from all over. Working in the ER has given me more experience then I thought I would see in Savannah, GA.
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
Pay is below average
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurse Residency- Operating Room
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 5, 2017
The worst experience ever!! My dream job turned into a nightmare. If you enjoy being belittled and humiliated on a constant basis, this is the job for you. I have never experienced anything like this in a professional environment. Most of the nurses are amazing and only want to see you win, the same can't be said about the surgeons. There's a handful of CSTs that think they run the show and are the managers. The turnover rate of nurses is astronomical, I've never seen so many staff members come and go.
Pros
Great work/life balance, Great orientation program.
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

Want to know more about Memorial University Medical Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital and employees!
Staff RN on the High Risk Perinatal Unit (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 4, 2017
Great hospital to work for and encouragement of education (teaching hospital). Compensation for employees needs improvement. Management is constantly changing so that can be an issue.
Pros
Great job culture and teaching hospital.
Cons
Need to compensate nurses better for what they do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trauma 1 Hospital
Lead weekend shift tech (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILJanuary 26, 2017
While working at a very busy hospital was my first job out of XRay school. I went from going and working as a student at Emory University Radiology program to being in a 500 bed hospital. I learned so much that has helped me so much in my career.
Pros
Busy, but had fun at the same time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great palce to work
PCP (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 4, 2017
I worked here for 17 years and I really love my job and the floor that I work on and everyone gets a long very good. It's a great place to work and to be apart of the team I'm honored
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 28, 2016
Best place to work in savannah, ga. It's right on the bus line, so transportation is not a problem. Great benefits. Fun atmosphere. Never a dull moment. Time goes by so quick.
Pros
Environment
Cons
24Hr. Working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding workplace
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 21, 2016
• Provides patients' personal hygiene by giving bedpans, urinals, baths, backrubs, shampoos, and shaves; assisting with travel to the bathroom; helping with showers and baths.
• Provides for activities of daily living by assisting with serving meals, feeding patients as necessary; ambulating, turning, and positioning patients; providing fresh water and nourishment between meals.
• Maintains patient stability by checking vital signs and weight; testing urine; recording intake and output information.
Pros
Level one trauma center
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent patient care. Terrible Management
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 18, 2016
Skilled, caring and hard working doctors, nurses, and other staff. Excellent patient care. Management constantly changes and Memorial constantly hires consultants, very expensive consultants with no real loyalty to Memorial or its employees. Rarely are employees hired from within the organization. No wonder raises aren't possible! 5 managers in 5 years! All hires outside of the organization!
Pros
Patient care
Cons
No employee loyalty, too much HR waste
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready for a change
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 7, 2016
Memorial should be ashamed of its self. Any employee that is not a nurse, doctor, pharmacist or upper management does not get paid well for the amount of work they do. Pharmacy wastes too much meds due to the nurses replace doses before they go look for the first dose. No raises, low moral, supervisors show favoritism... etc etc
Pros
I like what I do and some of my coworkers
Cons
Management spends more time showing face for the community instead of the moral of the employees, No raises, low moral.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke
N/A (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 12, 2016
Memorial Mental health techs beat on their patients and when reported nothing gets done. They don't care about patients or even patients family.
Pros
Haha
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible. No raises or promotions.
Business Office Associate (Former Employee) –  MHUPApril 4, 2016
Physician's Billing part of Memorial has terrible unskilled managers. They have their favorites and it doesn't matter that they never do any work because the manager will promote them and give them higher pay and she will retaliate and heap more work on those she sees as a threat. She is causing the company to lose money and the good workers are leaving because of her. Her supervisors are also unskilled in managing workers. They all just want the management pay and don't care about the employees or getting the work done correctly. It is a power trip for them. Training sucks too. No one knows what they are doing there. They make up unreasonable and unattainable goals and write workers up if they complain or don't meet these lousy goals.
Pros
some benefits
Cons
holiday, Sick time and vacation time all combined. no raises. no company match for 401k. the list goes on
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Place to work
Valet/Escort Service (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GANovember 24, 2015
Greeting patient and visitors. My co-workers are pretty good people to work with. The best part of my job are the patients that come for classes.
Pros
great benefits and discounts
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

Memorial University Medical Center Reviews by Location