Memorial University Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready for a change
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 7, 2016
Memorial should be ashamed of its self. Any employee that is not a nurse, doctor, pharmacist or upper management does not get paid well for the amount of work they do. Pharmacy wastes too much meds due to the nurses replace doses before they go look for the first dose. No raises, low moral, supervisors show favoritism... etc etc
Pros
I like what I do and some of my coworkers
Cons
Management spends more time showing face for the community instead of the moral of the employees, No raises, low moral.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent patient care. Terrible Management
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 18, 2016
Skilled, caring and hard working doctors, nurses, and other staff. Excellent patient care. Management constantly changes and Memorial constantly hires consultants, very expensive consultants with no real loyalty to Memorial or its employees. Rarely are employees hired from within the organization. No wonder raises aren't possible! 5 managers in 5 years! All hires outside of the organization!
Pros
Patient care
Cons
No employee loyalty, too much HR waste
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 28, 2016
Best place to work in savannah, ga. It's right on the bus line, so transportation is not a problem. Great benefits. Fun atmosphere. Never a dull moment. Time goes by so quick.
Pros
ENVIRONMENT
Cons
24HR. WORKING ENVIRONMENT
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible. No raises or promotions.
Business Office Associate (Former Employee) –  MHUPApril 4, 2016
Physician's Billing part of Memorial has terrible unskilled managers. They have their favorites and it doesn't matter that they never do any work because the manager will promote them and give them higher pay and she will retaliate and heap more work on those she sees as a threat. She is causing the company to lose money and the good workers are leaving because of her. Her supervisors are also unskilled in managing workers. They all just want the management pay and don't care about the employees or getting the work done correctly. It is a power trip for them. Training sucks too. No one knows what they are doing there. They make up unreasonable and unattainable goals and write workers up if they complain or don't meet these lousy goals.
Pros
some benefits
Cons
holiday, Sick time and vacation time all combined. no raises. no company match for 401k. the list goes on
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding workplace
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 21, 2016
• Provides patients' personal hygiene by giving bedpans, urinals, baths, backrubs, shampoos, and shaves; assisting with travel to the bathroom; helping with showers and baths.
• Provides for activities of daily living by assisting with serving meals, feeding patients as necessary; ambulating, turning, and positioning patients; providing fresh water and nourishment between meals.
• Maintains patient stability by checking vital signs and weight; testing urine; recording intake and output information.
Pros
Level one trauma center
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital but Poor Management
Technologist (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 19, 2015
I worked here for 8 years, Its a great hospital to work at and you get to see lot of things and can get great experience for starters. The management and administration sucks very bad, once you are in you are doomed. No rases in 8 years and they spend more money on constructions and beautification of the hospitals but do not care for the working staff. I wouldn't suggest this place a great working place until management fixes things.
Pros
Great hospital, great staff, great care
Cons
Administration sucks, Management sucks, No compensation for the amount of work, No rase
Was this review helpful?Yes36No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great palce to work
PCP (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 4, 2017
I worked here for 17 years and I really love my job and the floor that I work on and everyone gets a long very good. It's a great place to work and to be apart of the team I'm honored
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, cuts of employees by consulting companies that are now involved in running Memorial
Financial Counselor (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GaSeptember 13, 2014
Worked with Memorial for 8 years and loved my job working night and day but all sorts of consulting companies came in and cut positions without looking into what the staff really did. I have applied several times for positions recently ( the same position) spoken to the Recruiter & she reports that the Manager has been too busy to interview anyone. I gave up on Memorial even though I really wanted to return .
Cons
no lunch breaks, worked overtime, low moral, no praise from higher bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Place to work
Valet/Escort Service (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GANovember 24, 2015
Greeting patient and visitors. My co-workers are pretty good people to work with. The best part of my job are the patients that come for classes.
Pros
great benefits and discounts
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time off, won't see a raise
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Savannah GAOctober 22, 2014
Memorial could be a great place to work for but there is too many politics to deal with in the everyday operations. A company of this size also has way too much of the "good ol boy" system, and fraternization going on with it. The good part is you get alot of time off per pay period, but don't expect getting a raise. With Memorial supporting indigent care, raises are non-existent.
Pros
Lots of time off
Cons
No raises, fraternization, to many shop politics
Was this review helpful?Yes28No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!!!
Float pool rep (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAFebruary 4, 2013
I worked in the newly formed float pool for the front office personnel. I would work when needed and where in the 13 satalite offices and the business office when needed. I mainly worked the check out desk and entered all claims for the day and balanced each day . Made sure the coding was correct before submitting to insurance companies for payment. Loved going to work every day.
Pros
flexable schedule, different office every week
Cons
no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke
N/A (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 12, 2016
Memorial Mental health techs beat on their patients and when reported nothing gets done. They don't care about patients or even patients family.
Pros
Haha
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit office like a family.
Accounts Receivable Representative (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAFebruary 21, 2013
Wished I was able to stay but needed full time position with more compensation per hour. Learned medical ambulance billing and coding for Ground and Air Emergency Transportation.
Pros
free employee benefits such as immunizations, etc....
Cons
med star life star dept was closed shortly after i left their employment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked in a relatively small area (about 15 people) who made a great team.
Medical Technologist, Microbiology (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAAugust 15, 2015
A typical day of work was walking into the walk-in incubator and preparing your petri dishes and paperwork. Every culture was different, because if you were working the "urines bench", a urine culture on an 80 year old is worked and reported differently than that of a newborn. All microbiology, but all with a twist. I learned to not work in a vacuum and not be cocky and to ask for a second opinion when needed. Management varied, but we all got along if you did your work. My co-workers made a great team. Sure there were personality differences, but those should be left at the door and professional attitudes prevail in the workplace. The hardest part of the job was finding sexually transmitted diseases in children as young as one month. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I was helping someone feel maybe just a little better.
Pros
I enjoyed the diversity found in one discipline - microbiology
Cons
By the time you got to the cafeteria, you had 10 minutes to snarf food before walking back to the lab.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Energetic
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 18, 2012
Various shifts available in the Operating room. Great exposure to various services and specialties, including the Davinci robotic system. Management is professional and efficient. Most enjoyable part of the job is the invaluable exposure and training. Work load is heavy so I would recommend careful consideration on the shift you chose because more than likely yo will be on your feet the entire time(not including govt. mandated brakes.)
Pros
opportunities for continuing education
Cons
unfair work distribution
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start out as a new grad nurse
Registered Nurse, Orthopedic Trauma Joint Center (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 9, 2015
I can't say enough about the management support I receive here. Ortho floor's team work is also second to none! The days are long and sometimes hectic but I always feel like there's someone who has my back when the going gets tough,
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning environment
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 11, 2013
A typical day at work was filled with teamwork. I learned the importance of time management and being competent in every nursing skill. My co-workers were very helpful and polite. We all were like a family. The hardest part of the job was seeing someone die. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a patient smile.
Pros
Training, Gift Shops, Programs
Cons
Worker shortages
Was this review helpful?Yes22No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Float Pool Manager
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 25, 2014
Can be very hectic at times being a Level One Trauma Center. I enjoy working for Memorial and take my job very seriously. I do miss having patients for longer lengths of stay so that I can further build rapport with patient's and their families. I do miss that time that I used to be able to devote to therapeutic communication, and the documentation is a lot of additional work when you have a lot of patient's discharging and many new admissions on most given days. I enjoy the flexibility of my schedule and many of the people I work with. I have a wonderful manager who I'm eternally grateful for. She's very helpful and supportive at all times. I just wish I had more time to devote communication with my patients. It is very high paced, which I am accustomed to, just looking for something that allows me to further my skill set, while allowing me the time to give the emotional care to my patients that I feel like sometimes, I don't have time enough to do, because we stay so busy! Love my job, just looking for a little change.
Pros
Great Pay for Float nurses
Cons
Very fasted paced and high patient turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level I Trauma Center, OR busy.
Surgical Specialty Supervisor, ACI/Trauma/Vascular (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GeorgiaApril 19, 2013
Work with vascular, trauma, and surgical oncologists in the operating room. Responsible for necessary supplies and instrumentation to complete these cases while providing responsible patient care as the patient is under anesthesia.
The team is professional and caring and consists on nursing, scrub technicians, anesthesists and the surgeon. The most diffecult part is realizing a patient's situation is worse than first believed after visualizing tumor, aneurysm, trauma results, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant work environment
Patient Care Partner - Emergency Department (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 12, 2014
Provided direct and indirect patient care as delegated and supervised by the Registered Nurse and/or physician. Performed duties such as Foley catheter insertion, care and removal, 12 lead ECG, CPR, simple dressing changes, basic splinting, I.V. catheter removal, suture removal, assisted with medical procedures, blood glucose checks, phlebotomy, transporting patients, weights, vital signs, specimen collections, responded to call lights.
Pros
Pay, positive work environment
Cons
Facility needs updating
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

Memorial University Medical Center Reviews by Location