Find companies:
Menards Distribution Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Menards Distribution Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to do.
Warehouse forklift operator (Former Employee), Shelby, IAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: two 15 minute brakes and one paid lunch break
Cons: they could order you to transfer to other buildings even if no experience.
Clock in and head straight to a forklift and log in to the computer system. Drive down to the supervisors desk and see what is on the daily agenda. Sometimes I would be unloading trucks or rounding up inventory and transporting it to cross docking. Did a lot of special orders and putting materials on the conveyor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive work, poor management
General Laborer (Former Employee), Holiday City, OHJuly 1, 2014
Pros: good coworkers ensured training was thorough
Cons: very poor management
Each task was very repetitive; it was demanding at times, such as if you were unloading backhauls and exposed to the elements. Very poor management lead to a strong dislike of working in this environment. Management hardly done their job and did not ensure that the facility was orderly (I myself came up with a few ideas to improve work quality and speed, – more... but fell of deaf ears). On a good note, coworkers were kind and trained the newcomers (as opposed to the management as the workers themselves could perform better than management at the various tasks) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a decent job
Truck Unloader (Current Employee), Eau Claire, WIJune 25, 2014
Pros: profit sharing available and easily attainable
Cons: not available
Its a good job that offers plenty of hours of over time during busy parts of the year.
A typical day at the job you will be unloading a trailer or moving product around the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIMay 19, 2014
Good place with good people the equipment was esy to work and easy to lock out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one seemed to want to be there
employee (Former Employee), Holiday City, OHMay 16, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: short breaks, no reasonable schedualing
Was easy work, a bit mind numbing, people where friendly but it was very tiring and stressed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work
Fork Lift Operator (Current Employee), Plano, ILMay 11, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: very poor training
The place has good people who are will to work with you if you need help, the thing that bothers me though and the reason i want to quit is because they don't train you hardly at all, just give you basic instructions and assume you can figure it out. I don't like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picking ordered items for Menard stores
Order Puller (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIMarch 27, 2014
Pros: hoilday pay, pay
Cons: heavy lifting, they do not rehire
Good hours, order picker, fast pace, attention to detail and accuracy. Lots of heavy lifting. Treated like numbers instead of people. Co-workers friendly, Most enjoyable part was the people and order picking, I love the fast pace. Hardest parts where heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Distribution Center Manager (Current Employee), Sterling, ILMarch 4, 2014
good hours could have better benfits. can be stressful. great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a warehouse
Shipping/Receiving/Material Handler (Former Employee), Plano, ILJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: excellent benefit package
Typical warehouse job
Shipping/Receiving
Hardest part of the job was dealing with the drug addicts
The enjoyable part of the job was that once you learned it, it became second nature
Management was very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Conveyable Shipping/Office Assistant (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIDecember 27, 2013
Favorite job
Learned how a warehouse works
Management was good
Liked my coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to have in college
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIDecember 10, 2013
Pros: cool people
Cons: low pay
I met a lot of great people there. The pay was low but not bad for someone with no skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Warehouse/Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Plano, ILNovember 1, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Terrible management, long hours, terrible co-workers,dirty warehouse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful office environment
o Secretary (Former Employee), Shelby, IASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: hours, bonus program, job duties
Cons: little advancement in the office
a typical day involved processing driver paperwork for merchandise dropped off at the Distribution Center, assigning docks, empty trailers, data enty, emailing, answering phones, working with competent people in a positive environment. Also, walked paperwork to departments when needed, filed and organized paperwork and assisted in other departments/buildings – more... when asked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment, enjoyable to work at.
Sortation, Product Runner, and Machinery Operator (Former Employee), Yorkville, ILJuly 24, 2013
Pros: welcoming environment, structured management
A typical day at Menards DC consists of wrapping pallets, unloading and loading trailers, and keeping up with the orders needing to be shipped, if you enjoy a fast pace environment that requires to be on your toes at all times, this is your place. I've learned the basics of running a forklift here and a powertug. Management is a tight well structured – more... team. The co workers were very welcoming. The hardest part of the job would be making sure your team kept pace ensuring the lines kept running. The most enjoyable part of the job would be operating machinery such as forklifts and power tugs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Trainer (Current Employee), Plano, ILJuly 19, 2013
Pros: starter job.
Cons: lack of common sense and safety. no balance of family due to mandatory overtime.
Show up and do your job and you will do fine. Management is young and in experienced as well as fellow co-workers. The weather is the hardest part of the job. If you do your job you usually get left alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that does'nt care about its employees
Forklift operator (Former Employee), Plano, ILJuly 15, 2013
Pros: driving a forklift all day
Cons: healthcare through the company was expensive
Start time was 5am, end time was 3:30pm. I would load flatbed trailers or vans all day sometimes having to tarp them. Some days I would unload flats, vans or train cars. I learned to be very cautious and productive forklift driver over my ten years of operating one. the management there is terrible. None of them seem to know what is going on, or, how – more... to actually manage anything. They give no incentive or compliments for work done. They only care about their bonuses. My co-workers for the most part were a great group of guys. The hardest part of the job was working outside year round and getting paid the same as other employees who worked inside. Also, how often they would changed the schedules, start times and rules. The most enjoyable parts were overtime and instant profit sharing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, friendly atmosphere.
Warehouse/forklift operator (Former Employee), Plano, ILMay 28, 2013
Pros: overtime opportunities.
Cons: short lunches.
To be honest, I loved working at Menards DC. The management was OK, but the coworkers on the floor and the tasks at hand were exceptional. The hardest part of the job was the hours, I was scheduled 2nd shift, so my shift would start late after noon and end early morning. The most enjoyable part of my job, I would say, was the people I worked with. They – more... were always willing to help whenever I needed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Workplace with Great Team Member Attitudes
Warehouse specialist (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIMay 6, 2013
Pros: extra income advantages
Cons: healthcare
---We did things on consistent weekly set of jobs duties. Which means that every Monday thru Friday we would have a set of job details to do for that specific day. From packing to shipping materials.
---A lot of the jobs required great organizational and tedious working skills.
---The team members I worked with on a regular basis were very dedicated – more... to doing a good job and great listeners when it came to doing a specific task.
---The hardest park of my job had to be that sometimes we needed to work extensive amount of hours to get a job done. Which Meant sometimes working 60+ hours a week.
---The most enjoyable part of the job is that we could work as much overtime as we wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good productive work place
Worked an a assembly line (Former Employee), plano ilApril 28, 2013
Pros: 20 min lunch
Cons: the actual work
A typical day is an extremely long hard day of annoying boxes piling up on you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good secure job, very dirty
shipping supervisor (Former Employee), Eau Claire Building 21/22March 19, 2013
Pros: lots of diverse jobs
Cons: dirty poor management skills from upper management
I worked here 9 years and never felt like my job was in jeopardy I learned a lot and was promoted numerous times