Find companies:
Mental Health Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Mental Health Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Respite/ Skill Builder (Current Employee), Hudson, NYSeptember 18, 2014
Loved working here. Everyone is very nice and helpful. Had issues with my boss. He treated me differently then other workers there. Everyone else always friendly and happy. Place is a job secure place, there are no advancements though. Benefits are good. Management isnt the best.
Loved doing the job but hours arent that good. Working till 9pm with a – more... family doesnt work for everyone. and always working a weekend, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A large non-profit organization with multiple services and sites.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: parties
Cons: short breaks
I learned that office politics is for a certain type of person. The hardest part of the job was strengthening my technical skills using my own initiative. I really respected the founder of the organization and the direction he took the agency and the achievements he made in the Mental Health field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and supportive agency to work for
UCMHD Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Town of Ulster, NYAugust 11, 2014
Cons: not for profit, lower salaries
The managment and agency were great to work for. No compliants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Intake Counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 8, 2014
Pros: supportive staff, a lot of down time
Cons: when there's a lot of calls, less down time.
As an Intake Counselor, it is less stressful than being a crisis counselor. You schedule initial intake appointments through the phone. If the caller is distress and appears to be in crisis, you have to conduct a risk assessment but that usually does not happen. It can be boring at times. The worse part of job is having to speak with service provides – more... e.g. hospitals, outpatient clinics, etc. There are definitely job advancement working in the Mental Health Association. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Southeastern, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: paid sick days, vcation time, and raises
Cons: healhcare, training
Review all documents to be process for billing. Once everything was accurate enter data in system. Review client insurance to ensure was still active.

I leaned that not always what you have plan in your agenda goes as plan. Make sure you have plan "b".

Management treat everybody equal.

I enjoyed working with my co-workers.

Dealing with individuals – more... when ask to work as a team respond is not in my job description.

Was able to interact with others and understand no matter who we are some of us have more needs than others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide services assistance for Senior People
Adult Attendant Care (Current Employee), 555 n. Woodlawn Wichita,ks 67208July 19, 2014
Pros: time is flexable.
Cons: your work between your senior person who decide to be a self care.
Self Direct care for senior people who is physically needs assistance, could do shopping together or I do it alone, prepare food, help in getting resources for medical supplies, order medication, doctor visit, allow senior to attend some social activities, ext...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A meaningful job
Attendant Care Worker/Adult (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJuly 17, 2014
If you are looking for a job that will really help others, this is a good place to work. As an Adult Attendant Care Worker, I helped others work on goals, get basic needs and was there to listen to them when they needed it. Along with all that, I learned how to fill out the necessary paperwork involved and developed good time management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MHA is a great place to work and the benefits are good
Program Manager, Residential Supports (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: there is no accountable for clients.
I started working for MHA in 2007, I have worked with DDS and DHM population. I have work with clients on skill building, money management, ADL, dr. appts and IAP and IEP assessments. I have learned to be a better staff and work as a team. the staff are great and are willing to help you when needed. everyone wants to get ahead and do a good job. the – more... hardest part of my job was leaving. the most enjoyable part was being there when one of my clients graduated from collage, she didn't it when no one said she could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they have some very prejudice people
Residential Staff (Former Employee), Springfield, MAApril 14, 2014
its not a comfortable environment Administartion team up with one another. No one is treated equally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace that helps people in need develop a sense of comfort.
Intern (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: build close relationships
Cons: wanted more hands on activities with clients
I worked behind a desk and facilitated group meetings sometimes. People would come in and use the resources the facility had available. Most people came in looking for help with finding a job. Later in the day group meetings were held. The topics could be about anything. This experience was very helpful in learning how to work with groups. It taught – more... me how to handle group disappointment and frustrations within the group. It also taught me how to ask for verbal feedback and take it as a chance to learn. The management was great. I felt comfortable asking my manager and my co-workers for help. The hardest part of the job was maintaining group discussions but it was the most helpful part as well. The most enjoyable part of the job was building a close relationship with the clients and hearing their reports of improvements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A postive work place
Certified Peer Support Specialist (Current Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: was able to set on schedule
Cons: all the miles that i had to put on my car
The hardest part of the job was all the driving I had to do on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part about my job was the fact that I assisted them with their goals that the clients set for themselfs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent non profit.
Data Technician (Current Employee), Decatur, ALJanuary 25, 2014
Many helpful programs providing assistance to the local consumer population.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Executive Secretary/Office Manager (Former Employee), Southeastern, PAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: working with people that wanted to help individuals with disabilities.
I have really enjoyed working at the Mental Health Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania. I started out just as a beginner and progressed to an Executive Secretary/Office Manager. The seven administrative staff that I worked with taught me so much about professionalism. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things everyday and having – more... a wonderful boss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, loving place to work with coworkers.
Peer Specialist (Former Employee), Brewster, New YorkJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: the people, the location (close to home).
Cons: the low pay.
Day of work went by quickly and was never a difficult time with coworkers. The job did not pay much and it was hard to acquire more hours at the job; But the work was satisfying (Helping others).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health
Coordinator of Adult Services (Former Employee), Wichita, KSDecember 31, 2013
It was a great learning experience. It will be one to help me in future endeavors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rep Payee
Financial Representative Payee/Manager (Current Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 2, 2013
- Very friendly people to work with

- Always willing to help others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative program to address needs of underserved children.
Program Director (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2013
Pros: working with committed staff.
Cons: managing high turnover of direct care staff.
A typical day included clinical case conferences, meetings, supervision, technical assistance. I learned about the many child serving systems in NYC. Management was professional and ethical. Co-workers were committed. The hardest part of the job was high turn over of the direct care staff. The most enjoyable part was working with leadership to create – more... a vision for the project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun job
Part Time Driver (Former Employee), East Orange, NJNovember 11, 2013
Loved this job, great staff just was unfortunate that it was part time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a difference in people's lives who are less fortunate
Respite/Skill Builder (Current Employee), Middletown, NYAugust 10, 2013
Pros: a little bit of flexibility with scheduling to see clients
Cons: no benefits with being a part time employee
A typical day as a respite/skill builder requires me to travel to a clients home and take them on various outings based on their liking. Sometimes a trip to the mall, a trip to get something to eat, or a trip to the park may be a productive day. When working with anyone with special needs such as low functioning autistic can be the hardest part. Learning – more... compulsions, and what to do in various situations can be difficult. Another difficult part of the job is the wear and tear it takes on my own personal vehicle and not getting reimbursed for damages to clothing if a child/adult destroys it. The most enjoyable part of the job is to provide outlets to kids/adults that they normally wouldn't get in the care of home. Providing activities gives the clients something to look forward to everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work culture
Sibling Project Associate (Current Employee), Middletown, NYAugust 8, 2013
I am currently employed on a project that requires just a few hours a month. The individuals I have had the opportunity to work with are supportive and enthusiastic about what they do, and a pleasure to work with.

1 2 3