Find companies:
Mental Health Partners
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Mental Health Partners Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace and positive work culture.
Filing Clerk (Current Employee), Boulder, COAugust 9, 2014
Pros: positive workplace.
Cons: not enough hours.
I enjoy working at Mental Health Partners. It is an excellent non-profit organization. It offers help to a large population in healthcare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Clinical Counselor Substance Abuse Specialist (Current Employee), Hickory, NCFebruary 3, 2014
The hardest part of my job is not being able to truy help some one face to face otherwise it is a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health
Account Receivable Specialist (Current Employee), Boulder, CoJanuary 23, 2014
I enjoy that this company takes care of mental health patients no matter what there ability to pay is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low employee moral, no technical leadership in IS Dept, lacking obtainable goals
IS Project focus (Current Employee), Boulder, CODecember 13, 2013
Pros: small company good cause
Cons: low moral, lack of technical management, overworked, hypercritical
Mental Health Partners was a great place to work. Now, however, the work environment has changed significantly since the layoff of the much loved Director of IT. A Clinical Psychologist acting as the Cheif Strategy Officer has decided to take over the IT department and micromanage it and therefore, eliminated the Director's position. This new guy is – more... difficult to deal with because he expects too much, has no real management experience and has very little technical knowledge. Job security and future outlook do not look very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment brought on by non-technical, micro-management from Chief Strategy Officer
IS Tech (Current Employee), Boulder, CODecember 12, 2013
Pros: producing a quality product for health care
Cons: micro-management, ill treatment of respected employees, fear of job elimination
A new Chief Strategy Officer (a clinical psychologist) came aboard in April and changed the work environment from cooperative to very hostile. No one seem to care for his management style. He has to take control and micro-manage employees which is very counterproductive to getting work done. This Strategy Officer is very unapproachable, non-technical – more... and has obviously never managed before. Seems he has taken on more work than one human can successfully handle.

Employees were in disbelief, shocked and angered when the Chief Strategy Office eliminated the Director of IT's position because allegedly he wanted to be able to micro-manage the Director of IT's direct reports. Apparently they clashed because the Strategy Officer is a non-technical dreamer and the Director of IT focuses on practical implementation and commitment to maintaining the budget (comes from experience). The Director of IT was highly experienced having 20+ years of technical directorship. Everyone loved and respected this Director. He acted as mentor and confident and always went to bat for his direct reports. He was a highly valuable resource.

The Chief Strategy Officer seems to have too high of expectations (due to lack of experience) and seems very critical of employees. It appears very doubtful that he will appreciate employees and even write positive reviews. There doesn't appear to be any future under his direction. Employees are in fear of their own jobs being eliminated since they have already seen it happen. Some are now looking for other opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Positive Environment
Nurse (Current Employee), Boulder/LongmontNovember 20, 2013
Pros: great work environment!
Cons: none at this time
Currently working at MHP and enjoy working with other mental health professionals that are truly dedicated to their jobs, and the welfare of our clients. Working with families and individuals to improve their life circumstances is very rewarding. Helping the clients/families in the same communities that we live in, is empowering for both our clients – more... and staff. Love my job! Wonderful team and management support. Good hours and benefits! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interventionist Counselor
Interventionist Counselor (Former Employee), Boulder, CONovember 7, 2012
Pros: my own office, wonderful school employees that cared about the students
Cons: being a contract job there were no benefits.
I worked with students at both Erie Colorado Middle and High School. I was providing support and confidential counseling for the students as part of Mental Health Partnership, a third party agency and thus exempt from the policies that the school counselors had of sharing all information that students shared with the rest of the school system. I was – more... required to keep notes on all interactions with students and fill out ongoing progress notes as well as confer with a Mental Health Partnership supervisor on all of the students that saw me.
I learned that the open policy of the school system harbored distrust from the students and that many of them felt I was the last resource available to them. I also saw that many of them were dealing with issues that required services which exceeded what the school or in some cases state could adequately provide and that in many instances my ear was the only saving grace at their disposal. I felt it an honor to have had that opportunity and had the funding been available past the month contract date which I had signed I would have gladly stayed longer.
I suppose the hardest part of the job was hearing some of the stories that the children shared. They told stories that bordered on abuse and neglect and in only one instance met with standards that were sufficient for me to break my confidentiality and seek aid on the child's behalf.
That being said the children also shared the high points of their lives. I found that after the first week and a half they were divulging their hopes and dreams as they learned to trust me and some of them began to do some wonderful and heart felt work. In addition though I could not share their stories I as able to help some of them reframe their own stories and to then share their experiences with other counselors and or teachers from their schools. In this way a few of those students were able to take power back over their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Finance Manager (Former Employee), Boulder, COJune 7, 2012
Pros: autonomy
Cons: lack of training
It was a positive experience for the most part. The people are nice and supportive.