MENTAL HEALTH SYSTEMS Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good nonprofit
Office Manager, Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAAugust 15, 2017
Love the values and mission of this company. Low salary due to being nonprofit. Can be stressful working with the population that utilizes this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Lead Veteran Peer Navigator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 22, 2017
no comment. Did not have a good experience there, manager was insecure so was a micro manager, lacked boundaries, over worked employees with little to no appreciation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administration Assistant/Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Victorville, CAMay 25, 2017
Go in get work done in a timely manner, hardest part of job is only working part time. Most enjoyable part is i like working with my co-worker. Also enjoy the clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working experience with Mental Health Systems
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAMay 2, 2017
I was very happy as a case manager. My supervisor was positive and supportive. The working environment was exceptional. Each case manager was uplifting, and had strong work ethics. I thoroughly enjoyed working for them. However, after a year, I realized I needed more education in order to enhance my professional career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent work environment
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAApril 13, 2017
Excellent management and a flexible work schedule. A fast pace environment responding to client needs. Paid transportation reimbursement. Great management and co-workers
Pros
Excellent management and flexible work schedule
Cons
Weekend and overnight shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
Success First Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAApril 12, 2017
Liked the benefit provided by the company. I feel that the location where I was needed better management, which was been provided at the time when my job was terminated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting p.ace to work, clients appricate the help
Intake Coordinator and Biller (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 27, 2017
Over all a great place to work. There should be more job security due to the type of services the company serves, a lot of the programs for this company are located in not so safe areas but the staff has always made up for that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable place to work
Intake Coordinator and Biller (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJanuary 12, 2017
While the company was open it was a very warm, inviting place to work.This company teaches you a lot and helps you maintain your goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Mental Health Counselor Intern (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJanuary 8, 2017
I absolutely love where I work and what I do. The pay isn't the greatest but management is great and very supportive. There is always opportunity to continue learning and go to training's.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent methods utilized to encourage clients
Recovery Advocate/Community Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 22, 2016
Great program for parolees. Hardest part of the job was encouraging
clients to change their ways of thinking. I learned a lot of patience.
Pros
Trainings
Cons
Difficult clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative work culture and sub-par pay.
Case Manger/Therapist (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAMay 25, 2016
The office culture at MHS is reflective of their corporate culture: negative and bureaucratic. Employees are promoted without experience because the turn-over is so high that they can't keep a position filled. It's a joy working with the clients and seeing them recover; however, I can't recommend working here due to the low pay, demanding work load, poor management and office culture. Supervision for interns was provided which was a plus.
Pros
free lunches, supervision for interns
Cons
low pay, poor benefits, poor management, negative atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Quality Care
Psychotherapist (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNDecember 15, 2015
Fast paced and highly demanding workplace providing high quality care to clientele. Benefits and pay are above average for area.
Pros
High quality of care
Cons
Limited orientation to organizational structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, chaotic, poor communication, no team work.
Clinician (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 11, 2015
A typical day at work consists of trying to obtain factual information on daily staffing. Staff communication with each other is nil. Supervisors are unskilled clinically and are clueless on how to diagnosis, assess, and evaluate clients. Scary. Co workers are MIA. No one know what the word boundaries means!

Staff and management do not accept feedback and constructive criticism so nothing changes.

Enjoyed working with the clients, agencies and linkage for clients were satisfying.
Pros
Collaboration with outside agencies which were helpful to clients
Cons
No breaks, staffings accomplish nothing, dishonest management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and chaotic
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  San DiegoJuly 3, 2015
Avoid this company at all costs. High risk for law suits and/or loss of professional license. Company's organization chart is a genotype! Management is poor from top to bottom. Staff turnover is high and clients probably suffer for it. MHS can't seem to get it's act together. They are great at inventing new programs to cover up their failures.
Pros
Opportunity to do good works in your community.
Cons
Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry job for non-profit & government
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 30, 2015
Organization is too top heavy. Expect to work long hours to meet deadlines. Average/ok compensation with minimal incentives.
Pros
Very rewarding field and experience
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun place to work
Marriage and Family Therapist Student Trainee (Former Employee) –  Hemet, CAJanuary 7, 2015
its a fun place to work and i have learned how to facilitate both individual, family and group therapies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substance abuse counseling
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Cathedral City, CAJuly 14, 2014
Conducted weekly groups, kept track of intake notes and communication with case managers and social workers.

I learned to multitask and be creative when it came to crisis interventions.
Pros
learning experience & rate of pay
Cons
daily stress and commuication with supporting staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm and friendly staff
Clinical Therapist/Case Manager/Neuroplastician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Team building is encouraged and is the focus in daily work.
I have learned to focus on job skills and increase community connections.
Pros
Family oriented
Cons
Inconsistent information
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to gain experience
TBS Coach (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 11, 2013
MHS was actually a nice company to get started with, but most moves are lateral within the company. Compensation was competitive and the benefits were very reasonable.
Pros
Mileage reimbursement, flexible scheduling.
Cons
Lateral movement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I've ever had.
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CAApril 4, 2013
I started working for Mental Heath Systems in about 1997 for after school aldolesent program. From there was asked to work in the In-prisons... They provided me with a good salary and benifits. I worked for them for at least 10 years, and regret my decision to leave for another company in 2008.
Pros
travel, pay and benifits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MENTAL HEALTH SYSTEMS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

MENTAL HEALTH SYSTEMS Reviews by Location