Find companies:
Mental Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

Mental Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent working
Speech Therapist Assistant- Pediatrics (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free lunch, workshops with rewards
Cons: no rises
Allowed to make our own schedule.
Families are reliable and fun to work with.
No micro-management
20+ visit per week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Workplace
NFusion Evaluation Research Assistant (Current Employee), Hattiesburg, MSOctober 26, 2014
A typical day at work includes entering demographic information and information from interviewees into a software system. This job requires self discipline due to a lack of management. The most important skills I've learned are organization and time management. Since the evaluation team does not work in the same office, receiving paperwork in a timely – more... manner is the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is receiving positive evaluation results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
counselor intern (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 1, 2014
Pros: one to one counseling
Cons: session is too short
My day is usually Ectic and fun
Well organized, enthusiastic staff
The most enjoyable part is group sessions and the clients feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day and really enjoyed working with the consumers
Assisting consumers (Former Employee), Dadeville, ALSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no breaks
It was an good work place, other than having to stay after work if someone didn't show up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clinical practice
head-to-toe assessment, and vital signs (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 23, 2014
Pros: same
Cons: same
Worked on therapeutic communication with patient, head-to-toe assessment, and vital signs. Communicated effectively with patients regarding their
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Recovery Staff member (Current Employee), Williamstown, VTAugust 21, 2014
Pros: great food and good starting pay
Cons: no advancement
Not much room for advancement but if you care about people you will love your job. Like any job you have your good days and bad days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place
Coordinator (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 19, 2014
My typical day at work was inviting, comfortable, peaceful. I learned a lot about how developmental disables operate on a daily basic and the responsibility we had as mentors. Management was always available for employees as well as clients. My co worker was exciting to look at. Every other day she would come into the office with a new hair do. lol – more... she made me smile. The hardest part of the job is when I was on call. When a client went AWAL; no matter what time it was I had to go out into the community and find them and intervene/redirect back to their apartment. Sometime co workers are not experience to handle these type of behaviors. The most enjoyable part of the job when staff/clients come together and go on field trips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate about people
Employment Specialist (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 2, 2014
The passionate people is what makes this company. We make every effort to help people live their best lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I"m a part of a positive team.
Juvenile Justice (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 12, 2014
Pros: job security.
Cons: i haven't received a raise at my agency in over 6 years.
A typical day at work consists of me meeting with families and their kids in the home. I receive an update on the kids past behaviors and if they have been attempting to improve behaviors. I work with youths on coping skills, problem solving skills as well as decision making skills. I later meet one on one with the parents to teach them skills as well – more... such as communicating their frustrations appropriately to avoid escalation of anger. Complete several activities with the family as a group. Review today's session. I often give homework assignments before leaving the home. I contact team leader if needed to discuss any crisis that may have happened. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy work environment
Case Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 2, 2014
Cons: short breaks
The typical day at work is to assure you record monthly case notes and client is required home visit 2x a week to help the individual with his/hers dialing living skills, medication management, money management, referrals, follow with therapist, doctors, etc.

Management / Co Workers were very helpful at the time/

The hardest part of the job is to – more... keep up with all 12 clients remembering their appointments and knowing that on a daily basis things are bound to change.

The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you have help and encouraged the individual with different goals and seeing the outcome of your hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clnicals
Optimae (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJune 24, 2014
Pros: learned a little
Cons: no ot or pt
I did clinicals here. No PT or OTs there, this was strictly mental health. I did not learn much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New things happen regularly whether you think you have seen everything or not.
Therapy Aide (Current Employee), Genèva, NYJune 17, 2014
Each day is different when working with mental illness. You never stop seeing and learning new things. Management depends on whether the manager has experience or a degree, Experienced managers are my preference over just having a degree without experience. Just having a degree tends to place clueless persons over persons with knowledge that actually – more... works. Coworkers are generally decent, understanding people who in general care about those under their care. Feces is the least favorite thing I have to deal with. Dealing with difficult to please people tend to be the hardest part of the job. Assisting people better their lives in a meaningful way tends to be the most enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be a part of for my clinicals
Occupational Therapy Assistant Fieldwork (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTApril 11, 2014
I would love to work here,love the adults and learned a lot about being a COTA from employees and clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviorment with clients
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Cadillac, MIMarch 20, 2014
Pros: fun interacting with my clients
Cons: they had behaviors and had to learn how to respond to them
Daily care of clients with mental handicaps, giving them the support they needed mentally. Giving them the best care physically and helping them reach their goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whittier Pavillion
Mental Health/ Clinical Site (Former Employee), Haverhill, MAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: supportive nursing staff
*Mental Health Clinical Site
*Hands on training
*Charting
*Med Pass
*Wonderful Nursing Staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere wrong people
Crisis Counselor Department (Former Employee), Jackson, MSFebruary 12, 2014
I enjoyed the job the supervisor was not a very professional person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mhc
Administrative Assistant, Operations (Former Employee), Tampa flJanuary 17, 2014
A typical work day includes assisting client on a daily about insurance, housing and appointments. I have learned the different levels of care in dealing with client with mental illness. My co-workers were typical individuals who worked hard assisting the clients. The hardest thing that I had to do is to tell a client that their insurance did not cover – more... for their coverage and cold not longer come to this agency. The most rewarding was seeing a client improve on their medication and can be more focus on their daily living. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greAT COMPANT TO WORK.
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Brunswick, GAJanuary 7, 2014
great place to work. I enjoyed the company and the workers. GRAET BENIFITS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the company was well managed and work was secure.
Leader and Facilitator (Former Employee), Rochester, PADecember 8, 2013
Pros: overall it was a nice environment to work in.
A day at work would be having a client schedule where one would conduct one-on-one 1 hour sessions teaching social, living, learning, occupational abilities. I learned that working with people and utilizing educational skills will benefit both by developing interpersonal as a professional and being a person first type of attitude. Management is very – more... professional and diligent in their attempts to create the working environment that was second to none.
Coworkers were jovial and all around fun to be around and worked as a team of professionals. The hardest part of the job was there was time limits while driving from one place to another. We go paid to party. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Education children with emotional disabilities
Receptionist/ Special Ed. Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 4, 2013
Pros: the pros are summers off for vacation, snow days, and holidays. benifits are also good
Cons: high stress levels, lack of parental involvement, violence among students and sometimes against staff, and constant use of profanity from children
Documenting and monitoring behaviors. No two days are the same because based on which students have or have not had their medications the day can be either calm or like a rollercoaster. Counseling and plenty of interactions with student as an assistant teacher and mental health professional . Most of my days involve re-directing negative behaviors, – more... documentations of behaviors and discipline . I work closely with parents, teachers and administration to ensure the safety of my students and that they are learning based on their IEP's.
The hardest part of my job is listening to constant use of profanity and the disrespect that the students have for adults. I personally have learned not to take it personally, but it is still embarrassing that they are my students that are disrespectful to my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing some of my students move out from Emotional Support classroom setting and they come back to me saying that I've helped them and made a difference. – less

1 2 3 4