Mercer Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs serious management overhaul but Nepotism won't allow that.
Driver Support (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 3, 2017
They are stuck in the 70's & 80's, but since logistics is a booming business, the company as a whole is making enough money to not care.

They could make life significantly easier for their employees by updating their practices to include newer technology, but upper management is older and not tech savvy in the slightest.

If you are an independent contractor, the money is good. If not, the money is significantly under the industry standard.

They have a specific company culture and quickly weed out anyone who does not fit that culture.
Pros
Small perks. Hours are typical
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercer is not a precentage company
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 3, 2017
Mercer use to pay good money on they van load. Not anymore the rate is below a 1.00 In some state. Thay said that they pay by the precentage but that a lie they pay by the miles. 500 Miles x 1.00 A mile = 500. So if you looking for a precentage job. Don't go to mercer.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Retire as OTR
Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 14, 2017
Great company that finds the best possible freight for your truck. Plenty of customers and very flexible on your schedule. Plenty of owner operator benefits and a very welcoming company.
Pros
Free lunches, good location
Cons
OTR trucking
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Comercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 17, 2017
THis is a good company for owner operator's you chose were you want to run. You still have to go through agent or broker and negotiate rates.

This is one of the best Driver friendly company
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Freight Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COFebruary 20, 2017
Fast past, multi-tasking.
Fielding calls, answering emails
Hardest part is staying organized
Most enjoyable was the coffee breaks
Pros
workday ends at 4pm
Cons
short lunch hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, honest, hard working people here
Owner/Operator flatbed truck driver (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 19, 2016
Learned self starting, attention to detail, communication skills with people from a variety of backgrounds and positions, responsibility .
Pros
Made good money. Much freedom to work my way.
Cons
Always away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes16No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKOctober 15, 2016
Great place to work but I left led in hopes of a better opportunity.They work hard at keeping their employees happy as much as they can but business grew small due to the decrease in oil.
Pros
Fun atmosphere and great co-workers
Cons
Business decline
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Load board
Driver (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 18, 2017
Very family oriented company.
Being an o/o for them was a very enjoyable experience when I was their.
Brother is still working for them.
Pros
No forced dispatching
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 17, 2017
Good company, with lots of opportunity. The only thing that stays the same is that everything changes. Something new everyday, which can be good or bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercer Transportation is truly a great family to contract with.
Truck Driver Owner Operator (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 30, 2016
I've been with Mercer for 4 years. They have always treated me as family and so have their drivers. Every load coordinator I have had have always been excellent and professional. I really have nothing negative to say about this great company. I advise anyone interested in becoming an owner/operator to seriously consider contracting with Mercer.
Pros
Good freight and reasonable pay.
Cons
They cease to exist m-f 12:30 to 1:30 eastern time and on weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult when it came to thinking outside the box
Driver (for contractor) (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 14, 2016
Underlings and general staff were great to work with but I found upper management to have moderate to severe issues with Egos and and communication they claim to have and open door policy and welcome new ideas but was exactly the opposite they would seem to find it necessary to exert there power to prove superiority which is not a good team effort when trying to resolve issues
Pros
great staff on the lower end to deal with
Cons
very difficult to communicate with management
Was this review helpful?Yes25No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting the truck drivrs
scanner (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 9, 2016
did not know why i was let go. but i like to see where the truck drivers have been and talking tothem on the phne and helping them out.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good about answering questions, getting good loads, etc.
OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 24, 2016
Dispatchers are always helpful. Could have better communication on weekends. Nothing bad, really, just sometimes hard to get in touch with someone during non-traditional 8-5, M-F, hours. Overall, great company.
Pros
Great with continuous loads
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes26No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a job
Truck Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 10, 2015
a typical day is finding truck drivers loads from one location to another. I learned about different regions an cities. management was never there when you needed support. co workers were fun an helpful, hardest part about a job was finding a load from CA. The most enjoyable part of my job was talking with the truck drivers an making them the best living I could.
Pros
fun job
Cons
no support
Was this review helpful?Yes28No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They pick favorites. Not much room for advancement.
Truck Pay Settlement Clerk/Billing specialist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 13, 2014
I was a truck pay settlement clerk then went to the billing department and I was fired over a system message about a harassing driver because he did not label his paperwork. It is a decent place to work until you find something better but that's about it. It is plenty of room for advancement if you're part time but that's it. After becoming a full time employee 90% of the opportunities there are lateral. Which means no immediate pay raise to go to another department. The chances of you becoming a supervisor is slim to none so it's not like you're moving up the career ladder. Being disrespected by drivers is normal there. It is about who you know there. If you know the right people you will make it far but other than that it's a hipocracy.
Pros
a lot of decent co-workers
Cons
No advancement, the disrespect, jealous co workers that know the right people
Was this review helpful?Yes22No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place For Truck Drivers
Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  louisville, KYSeptember 12, 2015
I loved working here. I had to leave due to family issues at home and did not want to be over the road anymore. Would definitely recommend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes39No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Truck Driver Class (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 8, 2015
Mercer is a company that you lease your truck onto. No benefits. Mercer is a great company if you like driving 48 states. Mercer was a safety oriented company. They taught me hazmat and DOT rules.
Pros
Get to see the lower 48 states
Cons
Away from home alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Billing and Auditing department
Billing and Auditing Department (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 31, 2015
Filing
Data Entry
Auditing
Preparing bills to be mailed out.
I enjoyed the job as it was a third shift position.
The management at the time was very poor.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Poor Mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
OTR Contract Driver, CDL Class (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 23, 2012
This was a great place to work with for what little time I was there. Dispatchers were some of the most professional people to run across and that saying alot for a trucking company.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Broker Leads Call Center Associate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 4, 2014
I worked with great people there. The job itself was not that much fun, but was easy and management was very appreciative of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No13Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mercer Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7