Mercer Transportation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good about answering questions, getting good loads, etc.
OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 24, 2016
Dispatchers are always helpful. Could have better communication on weekends. Nothing bad, really, just sometimes hard to get in touch with someone during non-traditional 8-5, M-F, hours. Overall, great company.
Pros
Great with continuous loads
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place For Truck Drivers
Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  louisville, KYSeptember 12, 2015
I loved working here. I had to leave due to family issues at home and did not want to be over the road anymore. Would definitely recommend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Billing and Auditing department
Billing and Auditing Department (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 31, 2015
Filing
Data Entry
Auditing
Preparing bills to be mailed out.
I enjoyed the job as it was a third shift position.
The management at the time was very poor.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Poor Mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a job
Truck Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 10, 2015
a typical day is finding truck drivers loads from one location to another. I learned about different regions an cities. management was never there when you needed support. co workers were fun an helpful, hardest part about a job was finding a load from CA. The most enjoyable part of my job was talking with the truck drivers an making them the best living I could.
Pros
fun job
Cons
no support
Was this review helpful?Yes19No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Truck Driver Class (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 8, 2015
Mercer is a company that you lease your truck onto. No benefits. Mercer is a great company if you like driving 48 states. Mercer was a safety oriented company. They taught me hazmat and DOT rules.
Pros
get to see the lower 48 states
Cons
away from home alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They pick favorites. Not much room for advancement.
Truck Pay Settlement Clerk/Billing specialist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 13, 2014
I was a truck pay settlement clerk then went to the billing department and I was fired over a system message about a harassing driver because he did not label his paperwork. It is a decent place to work until you find something better but that's about it. It is plenty of room for advancement if you're part time but that's it. After becoming a full time employee 90% of the opportunities there are lateral. Which means no immediate pay raise to go to another department. The chances of you becoming a supervisor is slim to none so it's not like you're moving up the career ladder. Being disrespected by drivers is normal there. It is about who you know there. If you know the right people you will make it far but other than that it's a hipocracy.
Pros
a lot of decent co-workers
Cons
no advancement, the disrespect, jealous co workers that know the right people
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR Flatbed Heavy Haul Assistant
Material Handler / Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COJuly 16, 2014
Load, Secure, Tarp, DOT Elogs and all tasks involved in over the road transportation.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Broker Leads Call Center Associate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 4, 2014
I worked with great people there. The job itself was not that much fun, but was easy and management was very appreciative of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Phone Operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 30, 2013
Mercer is a wonderful company with multiple opportunities to advance.
Pros
hours
Cons
i was part time
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Flatbed Driver (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 31, 2013
great company but rates were not paying well t that time.worked 4 a % of lds ...flatbed/stepdeck ld tarped if needed delv on time..workers were great and so was staff
Was this review helpful?Yes20No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
OTR Contract Driver, CDL Class (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 23, 2012
This was a great place to work with for what little time I was there. Dispatchers were some of the most professional people to run across and that saying alot for a trucking company.
Was this review helpful?Yes35No8

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture