Merchants Foodservice Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place that will teach you everything if needed
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 28, 2017
A typical day would involve finding damage items, we either repair the items, If necessary, or sell the items to restaurant vendors. The most enjoyable part of the job is the fun atmosphere the workplace creates for its employees.
Pros
Company discounts, long breaks, on-time schedule
Cons
Precaution lack
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganised
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Tifton, GAJune 25, 2017
4 complete mangement change overs in 2.5yrs.
Good Drivers quit on a Daily basis. The front door is a revolving door for Drivers.
There has been some really GOOD drivers come and leave, Merchants has no intentions on retaining drivers.
Pros
Little pay
Cons
High health cost, emloyee pays total premium
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent support from upper management
Shipping Manager (Current Employee) –  New berry scJune 23, 2017
The president and general manager always supportive and open to new ideas and chsnge.a all departments work together to achieve goals and profits.The benefits and pay are very competive with other companies.
Pros
Good support
Cons
Employee experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hostile working environment
Senior Developer (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 1, 2017
In the 25 years of working in the IT field, I've never encountered a place with such terrible working conditions. It's a revolving door, and I would never recommend to anyone that they go there. The IT managment lacks proper management skills and the politics are extreme. I was warned by a headhunter before i took the position that others had left with the same results. DO NOT GO THERE!
Pros
none
Cons
terrible location, bad working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 22, 2017
I work at Merchant Food Service in Jackson,Ms and be before you they for new management they use to cheat you out of your production so they wouldn't have to you what you was really worth..
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice fun
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MS/ meridian msApril 2, 2017
Im a hard working person easy to get alone with its a good company to work for im not unhappy just exploring my options im 47 years old just getting older
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money when schools are in.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALMarch 27, 2017
Very good money when delivering to schools. Some deliveries on Saturday, but only if you wanted to make extra money. Very hard work, not many drivers over 40 years old.
Pros
very good money if you had school deliveries.
Cons
very hard work, really a younger man's job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Merchants Foodservice
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 31, 2017
I loved working for Merchants foodservice. Every one is nice and treats you like family. I would recommend Merchants Foodservice to anyone looking for a sales position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just ok
Selector (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALJanuary 23, 2017
There are some great people that works at Merchants. They just got too big too quick I guess. Warehouse is big but not real organized.
Pros
Clanton
Cons
Clanton
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drivers Beware
Delivery Driver / Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLDecember 29, 2016
Very disorganized company. Management never properly communicates with drivers nor each other. Drivers quit on a daily basis.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report

Want to know more about Merchants Foodservice?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
A/R Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSNovember 2, 2016
Was a good company to work for, nice people, had a good work environment, the hours was nice and my co workers was nice i really enjoyed the work I did,
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, lots of good people
Freezer Selector (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALOctober 31, 2016
Long hours and rewarding results, pay selectors good. I wish I did not have to relocate. Far manager's and great peers.
Good pay
Good people
Strong leadership
Lots of cross training
Pros
Benefits, good people, good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging!
Delivery Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Tifton, GAOctober 30, 2016
I learned something new about the company each and every day I was there. It was never boring. It was quite stressful at times but that's with any job you have. I liked the fact that's it was a very fast pace work environment. The current GM is awesome, if you had a problem you could go to him and he would take care of it for you. The only reason I left is because I moved out of the area.
Pros
Fast pace environment
Cons
High medical insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Manager at facility in Clanton Alabama (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALOctober 14, 2016
Worst job I have ever held in my life. Nepatism, racism, sexism all exist oh and let's not forget favortism. Theft, liars and cheaters for management. Totally was against my morals and ethics, Do NOT sign up to work with this company totally unethical and unprofessional environment
Pros
Cant find one
Cons
Being a member of this organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary!
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 30, 2016
The managers are extremely good people and my colegues are extremely professional.
The customers are always happy with the experience from the restaurant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchants Food Service Tifton,Ga. -DC
Route Driver Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 29, 2016
This DC should close any day now.They Lost all there Florida Accts as of 09/29/2016.
The PFG rejects have destroyed another Food Service DC "Congrats" scott ingram & chris lane on your poor management.
Leaving 15+ florida route drivers hanging,about there Jobs.
Pay cuts & Pay shortages(they don't back pay) are a weekly occurrence.
Now there remaining Georgia drivers will be doubled up and worked 50hrs for a $300 pay check...
Poor equipment (500,000 mile roach infested tractors) with many breakdowns. 2003-2008 Kw's,Internationals,White/Gmc,Freightliners
Pros
none at this time-No Job security here.
Cons
expensive Health Ins with little coverages
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place sucks
District Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALSeptember 28, 2016
the shipping and transportation departments are awful. no organization there is always a wrong order or a misplaced item that never gets to the customer unless you drive your personal vehicle to the warehouse and pick it up yourself
Pros
free food at the monthly sales meeting
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchants Tifton Great DC!
Employee (Current Employee) –  Tifton, GASeptember 20, 2016
I really love my job and the people I work with. This DC is growing and changing for the better. They work hard to make sure all employees are happy! There is an open door policy that if you have a problem please come in and talk about it. It will be solved!
Pros
Great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work because of the people you work with
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 20, 2016
great place to work, team oriented, with a supportive management team. not any room for growth. The benefits only applied to certain employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned, good people, but poorly managed.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Newberry, SCJuly 4, 2016
Good intentions, but missing the mark on lot. Moving forward. No room for advancement and no room for wage increases. Employee evaluation system is inconsistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merchants Foodservice. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.5
Culture
2.7

Merchants Foodservice Reviews by Location