Merck Employee Reviews

Found 846 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Application Analyst (Former Employee) –  Branchburg, NJSeptember 27, 2016
A very friendly management who encourages the team for continuous improvement. the end users and the vendors have a great relationship which encourages the team to go forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merck is ding great in Science.
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Kenilworth, NJSeptember 25, 2016
I love to work in Merck because it is strong in Science. it provides flexible schedule. The benefit is good. There're many friendly colleagues. We have good life/work balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for,
Representative II (Former Employee) –  TXSeptember 21, 2016
Great company to work for but no room to advance from field sales. No future drugs in pipeline was the downfall of Merck for Primary Care.
Pros
Benefits, salary
Cons
job security, company drug pipeline
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Specialty Biopharmaceutical Representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 16, 2016
Similar to other large Pharma companies
Good Culture
Great Benefits
Becoming a more specialty driven company
Oncology/Diabetes/Vaccines
Some growth opportunities
Not too many reps and good overall rep to manager ratio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was once a great place to work
Digital Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Whitehouse Station, NJSeptember 16, 2016
After the Schering/Plough merger it went downhill. High numbers of lay-offs but I assume it will level-off at some point. Early years in the research labs were exciting, full-of-innovation and a tolerance of risk. Of course the CEO was tremendous and the company was the Most Admired company for 6 years in a row. It's all about leadership and passion which departed in the mid 90's.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and fun place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mexico, MESeptember 9, 2016
Good place
good experience
the most enjoyable part is that people can build a solid business relationships with assigned customers
great leaders
great team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Associate Director Sales (Current Employee) –  MichiganSeptember 8, 2016
I learned a tremendous amount and it was a great experience. I had a lot of success at Merck and developed as a leader. I developed my coaching, understanding of the industry, and business analysis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Professional Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 7, 2016
Merck was a great place to work over 10 years ago. They provided very thorough training in many therapeutic areas. The benefits package was nice as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Vaccine Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 31, 2016
Merck's training is the best in the industry! You will be 100% prepared when you leave sales training. Great benefits and great people work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and team building
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 30, 2016
My direct supervisor was new to her position and obviously overwhelmed and there was only a team of about ten people. They had 32 OOS's that hadn't even been investigated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mail order pharmacy is for the birds
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 30, 2016
Didn't like mail order pharmacy. No face to face time with customers. Employees were all a number. If you did well for the company or didn't do well for the company, it didn't matter.
Pros
Stock options
Cons
Treated like a number
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and working with a lot of safety
Manufacture Operator (Current Employee) –  Las Piedras Municipio, PRAugust 23, 2016
What I do Daily is coating tablets, discharge tablet, cleaning, moving the products one side to other from the beginning to the end of the product.
We care about safety and security of the product cause is for patients to consume. Of Course the hardest part is that you have to be sure that the product is free of contamination and safe to consume for the patient. The most enjoyable part is that the product come out well and is for people who really need its.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work!
HR Analyst (Current Employee) –  Human ResourcesAugust 23, 2016
I enjoyed working at Merck. I obtained many useful skills to take along with me. The Manager had the most freely open door policy i have ever experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Associate Supervisor Global Clinical Supplies (Former Employee) –  West Point, PAAugust 22, 2016
good place to work, also good team from production to warehouse to distribution, upper management were out of touch to what was going on.
Pros
good pay
Cons
management did not listen to the people performing the tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work with
Senior Scientist, In Vitro Pharmacology (Current Employee) –  Kenilworth, NJAugust 22, 2016
Compensation is decent, with flexible working hours. Can learn a lot of skills from team and colleagues.
Job location is at Kenilworth, NJ.
Generally speaking, management is reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and meaningful place to work
Lead Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCAugust 19, 2016
Productive and meaningful place to work. Working to improving and saving lives. A great place to work, where hard work pays off
Pros
Changes with business demands
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but not much job security
Lab Animal Technician (Current Employee) –  Kenilworth, NJAugust 18, 2016
Good company to work for but too many structural changes in recent years make it hard to have job security. Great pay and good benefits still make it a desirable company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Myself
Senior Consultant (Current Employee) –  Lansdale, PAAugust 8, 2016
I have been working in Salesforce under various roles and it never stops fascinating me with all the new features it has got to offer.
I love working with technical teams mostly and brainstorm on any topic or requirement provided by business.
My Hardest part of the job is to convince the non-technical people or people from other technology about certain aspects , limitations in Salesforce.
Be it White-boarding, or a technical Meeting, or talkign to a end user about his experience, I love each and every part of working as a Salesforce Solution Architect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Point, PAAugust 8, 2016
Merck was a great place to work and meet a diverse group of professionals. The experience ans skills acquired will be a life long asset.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance but very political click of leaders
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  BranchburgAugust 2, 2016
Talented people are leaving the US hub because of ramp up of hiring in Prague. Products coming off patent means greater layoffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,218 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8