Mercury Insurance Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 179 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An unfortunat experience.
Senior Underwriter /Underwriting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 15, 2017
While the compensation and job security are not bad, I was not happy with the changes that I experienced in my time with Mercury. Perhaps management could have moved in a more positive direction but I found myself very disappointed in the organization and the way I felt about my experience with Mercury before finally making the decision to leave the company after 18 years of service.
Pros
Regularity of schedule and good benefits and retirement plan if you take advantage of it.
Cons
Office politics & gossip with limited opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work life balance
In-House Trial Attorney (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 7, 2017
No billable hours is nice. Company car. Large caseload but easy cases to manage. Very laid back management for an insurance company. Best insurance defense job I have had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate culture that is stuck in the 1980s
Senior Director (Current Employee) –  Brea, CAJuly 25, 2017
Mercury is in a very competitive property and casualty market, and there is some question whether there is commitment to expand the business outside of California
Pros
Relaxed dress code
Cons
May not be able to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercury Insurance Group
Sr. HR Assistant/WC & LOA Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 21, 2017
Mercury’s primary focus is auto and homeowners insurance, however, the company also writes personal liability policies (umbrella), business insurance, mechanical breakdown protection (similar to an extended warranty for your vehicle), renters, service line protection, home systems protection, identity management protection and ride-hailing insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Experience
Support Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAJuly 18, 2017
Mercury is a very family oriented environment to work in. The people you will end up working with will make the job. Unfortunately, the management is a little uneven. They provide little training so be prepared to go with the flow and learn fast.
Pros
Family oriented work environment.
Cons
Immature management. Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked With Mercury Insurane for 1.5 yrs as Automation Tester
Automation Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 7, 2017
Supportive Management.
Good Response from the management for each Employee.
Good Working environment.
My first day of work was Awsome.
Most enjoyable part of the job was getting multiple tasks from team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guidewire System Integration -
Business and Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Brea, CAJune 29, 2017
Guidewire System Integration - The global goal of the project is to rewrite the existing legacy based Underwriting, Policy Center, Claims Center and Billing Center applications to Guidewire providing a set of rich Graphical User Interface based features. Lines of business focusing on Private Passenger Auto, Business Auto/Commercial Auto, Homeowners, Earthquake, Dwelling and Fire. Upgrading from Mercury Agent Application to IVANS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i wish i wouldn't have left this company
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 28, 2017
Great staff, great people , great company, great benefits, i wish i would have never left this company to follow my husbands dreams at that time. i have yet to find a great job like this one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Sr. Claims Representative (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJune 22, 2017
The pay is not great, even if you have a college education, but they are very flexible with your schedule. They also have a great work atmosphere. The managers do not hoover over you, once they trust your work they basically let you be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercury Insurance
Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJune 16, 2017
Mercury was a great place to work. The people were knowledgeable and I learned a lot. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get into the insurance market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Billing Representative (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 13, 2017
professional and supportive. The company values its employees. There are opportunities to advance within the insurance company. Voted Forbes top 100 places to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims worthy
Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Brea, CAMay 27, 2017
I had no idea what I applied for when entering this position. They provided training and taught the claims basics right from the beginning. Management was helpful and the work environment was pleasant. They also provided us with fun team building experiences periodically. Advancement is available for those that have potential.
Pros
Benefits, wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Casualty Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Brea, CAMay 18, 2017
Great company but very robotic.
Everyone goes to work at same time, goes to lunch at same time, and leaves at the same time.
Don't try to stay and work OT they turn the lights off and you are to leave even maybe not done.
Was in a "satellite office" so not sure if the corp office works this way or not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 15, 2017
Processing home, auto and business claims.
I learned a great deal insurance and claims process.
My managers were great.
The culture prohibits the advancement of certain people.
Feeling unappreciated or valued.
Learning and working to solve customer issues.
Pros
great customers
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited room for growth and advancement
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAMay 1, 2017
The only benefit of my career at Mercury Insurance was the paycheck, which honestly, was not much to talk about. It was a very stressful and unfulfilling work environment.
Pros
Holiday Pay
Cons
Stressful work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging place to work
Property Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Folsom, CAApril 18, 2017
This is a challenging job, Very busy daily activities. The ability to multi-task is required. Great work environment. Annual Holiday bonus to every employee.
Pros
Holiday bonus
Cons
High volume
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run as fast as you can
Claims Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 18, 2017
Management was not approachable
Very stressful
Work was overloaded
Employees had no voice or say so
The expectations were unrealistic
Most people feel uncomfortable
Pay was not good
Benefits were awful
I always felt sad for the customers, because work load would not allow for that time to help them in the manner I would have liked to.
Pros
There are none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
QA Tester (Former Employee) –  Brea, CAApril 13, 2017
My over all experience has been good. I approve of the CEO and the company's direction. There were some changes in the company as a result of the new direction, but it was all good in the end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Senior Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brea, CAApril 8, 2017
You have to take the initiate to get promoted however there are many opportunities if you seek them out. The workplace culture is diverse. I do not have complaints other than seeking more pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a positive place to work
Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAApril 5, 2017
* Workload impossible to complete without shortchanging the customer.
* Veteran employees that helped build the company, now seen as dispensable and in fact let go.
* Very hostile work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mercury Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 179 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6