Find companies:
Mercury Insurance Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

Mercury Insurance Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
Small Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Folsom, CASeptember 29, 2013
Mercury was a good job to work for, until they laid off almost half of their staff in 2011. The people were okay, most of the time they were stressed out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and very employee friendly
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 28, 2013
Mercury is a fun and detail orientated workplace. They are goal orientated and have alot of room for advancement. We take claim calls for auto and home owner polices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nurturing environment for learning to resolve claims.
Senior bodily injury adjuster (Former Employee), Brea, CASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: christmas bonus and underwriting bonus
Telephone adjuster resolving auto claims. Also worked in the coverage unit to determine if coverage should apply to the loss.
I also worked in the Vernon Hills, Illinois office gaining experience in the midwest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mertcury Insurance was awesome
Senior Support for Mercury Gulfcoast Branch (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLAugust 5, 2013
Pros: big family
Cons: the long drive to work
I had a great Manager with many fine people to work with.
Things would have continued .... An upper level Vice President wanted to splinter off from Mercury to start another company .
Kaos reigned and many people were laid off to down-size the company .I truly miss that Company.
I arrived early to get my branch ready for a full day of calls and claims. – more... Checks had to be printed and distributed to the adjusters for claim payment .I was in charge of KRONOS, the software for lateness and attendance. My team had 2 other support people and they reported to me and had separate dutys that I oversaw ...
Fileing and Supplys and Meetings to prepare for .
Many others Teams and Floors to work with and help each other .
There were 5 Branches in all, in the Building . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Subrogation Specialist I (Former Employee), Brea, CAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: advancement opportunities, competitive salary and benefits
Cons: heavy workload, communication issues
Mercury Insurance provided a number of opportunities for advancement and education. When originally hired, I knew virtually nothing about auto insurance. I learned quite a bit about the industry and enjoyed my work at-large.

The only negative I can think of is about the level of communication between departments. Customers were often told one thing – more... by claims that contradicted procedure of another department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
Support Specialist (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAJune 22, 2013
Pros: benefits, compensation, nice building, friendly staff, advancement.
Cons: short lunch break, mircomanagement
Mercury Insurance offers great insurance benefits for both you and your family. The compensation is also a great benefit. Most of the departments are micromanagement however like other work places there are always the good and bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Personal Lines Senior Underwriter/Supervisor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 13, 2013
Small group in Georgia office most productive per person as compared to other offices around the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice place to work
Underwriter (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILMay 28, 2013
I was employed at Mercury Insurance for 10 years. The culture is very laid back. There is a relaxed dress code where an employee may wear jeans daily. Collared shirts to sweatshirts are acceptable. The co-workers I worked with were all amazing. Helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. The most enjoyable part of being employed there was that everyone in the – more... office was competent and friendly. In 10 years, I learned the core values of underwriting. Mercury is a company with solid underwriting values. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little Opportunity for Advancement
Subrogation (Former Employee), Latham, NYMay 20, 2013
Pros: very relaxed work enviornment, casual dress.
Cons: poor commication between management, very limited opportunity for advancement, unhealthy work enviornment.
A typical day at work consisted of sitting in a cubicle and sharing common office equipment. There was no training when I started. I had a great supervisor and liked all of my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was not having the proper systems and tools needed to perform my job to the best of my ability. The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... being allowed to work in a relaxed work setting. The communication between the Corporate Office and the Branch Offices was extremely poor and delayed. If you were not working out of the California office, you were an afterthought. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviorment
Bilingual Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLMay 11, 2013
had to assist in creative ways to continue billing. assist bilingual customers with processing payments. hardest part was going to multiple managements.

May 16, 2013

I'm reaching out to former and current employees at the Clearwater, FL Office, where I have applied for positions numerous times. I have even entertained the thought of just arriving in person at the office in attempt to speak with someone in HR. However, the thought of being escorted out by security prevents that. In all sseriousness though, I am hoping that I may an opportunity to get past the front door and have an opportunity for an interview. Any suggestions??

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong company
Total Loss Claim Rep (Former Employee), FloridaApril 30, 2013
Work up files for each involved party, Florida, New York, New Jersey
Review claim for liability and insure that insured/claimants vehicle is a total loss
Evaluate the damages to insured/claimant vehicle and determine value
Companies that are used to determine value CCC, Kelly Blue Book, NADA, and others
Once vehicle is determined a total loss per Florida – more... Statues and/Policy Limits an offer is made.
Negotiate settlements.
Process storage and removal of total loss vehicles
Send file to salvage to process
Trained new and additional Salvage Reps
Salvage Rep May 2003-Dec 2004
Handled salvage for Florida, New York, New Jersey, and George
Ensure that vehicle has been moved to approved facility or salvage yard
Ensure that title and proper paperwork has been received from involved parties and/or Lien holder
Process all titles into Companies name
Negotiate sale of salvage vehicles with Salvage Yard (Auction)
Issue payments to necessary facilities and process salvage payments from vehicles proceeds
Send files to proper department for continuation or close files. – less

May 13, 2013

How can a company be strong when it has had 3 massive laid offs? Please enlight me, unless the laid offs posted on the web are not true

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people to work for.
Support Specialist (Former Employee), Brea, CAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: great benifits and employees.
Loved working there and hated to have to leave due to my relocation to another state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Software Developer (Former Employee), Brea, caFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: fair with time off, salary compensation.
Cons: not recognizing skill sets of employees, no culture, favoritism for select employees.
Good company. Mercury is quite the mix of nationalities, as people who have immigrated from all over the world work there, so, the net effect is that of a washing out of the corporate culture. Management can be trying when dealing in such a scenario as some could not speak English well which effects relationships with co-workers. The flip side is you – more... experience work ethics from around the world and meet many interesting people, not to give a negative tone as most were very nice people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Underwriter Assistant (Current Employee), Latham, NYFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: the job itself was a pro and also the people i worked with.
A typical day at work is to answer phones, examine policies and make changes where necessary. Provide support and assistance to about 6 Underwriters. Contact Agencies to follow up on missing information needed. Faxing coverage letters to Motor Vehicle for insureds. Renewing polices/Cancelling Policies, Coverage changes. Adding/Removing Vehicles.
Since – more... I've been at Mercury, I have learned about Peronal Lines Auto Insurance and I was also trained to make necessary changes to Homeowner policies.
Management was all very nice, co-workers were also very nice. I don't think there was anything hard at all about the job. I really enjoyed the job and learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work at
Underwriter for Personal Auto (Current Employee), Latham, NYFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: we have a company christmas party and free lunches during the year
Cons: healthcare
The days go buy so fast due to being so busy and I love dealing with the agents they are awesome. I have learned that being an Underwriter is like being a Detective you have to look throught the fine print before you determine how good a risk is and if you are going to keep the risk or transfer over to management to review for cancel. The management – more... is great they are always there to listen to your views. We are like a big family we all get along very well. The hardest part of the job is calling the agent and giving them bad news but the best part is i have such a great rapport with the agents that they stand by my decisions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work I took for granted
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: benefits, work hours, compensation
process bills, handle new claim (interviews/set appointments,reserves)review old/unfinished files, pay bills, answer calls as they come in,I learned the professional language of auto insurance, how to evaluate body damage and responsibility for an accident without being there, I learned that what i bring to an employer is not just my education but who – more... I am,Management went above and beyond to train, help and accomadate to my needs and learnining skills,proper note taking was difficult to evaluate how much to do, most enjoyable part was helping others and feeling appreciated as an employee – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work there at your own risk, you won't get the loyalty return you may think
Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: benefits, flex time
Cons: no employee loyalty, upper management can't be trusted, hr useless, lots of favoritism, and very low morale
After over 20 yrs of loyalty, this company has had laid-off its employees, twice! Both times without any warning, and appears to still be closing out other offices and/or moving them to other locations. Could this possibly be affecting even more employees jobs? There appears to be some serious management incompetency with this company. One day you're – more... going to work and next day you are unemployed, it's that simple. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Claims Specialist II (Current Employee), Tempe, AZFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: benefits and work schedule
A typical day at work includes about 4 to 10 new claims, answering phones, returning calls, checking emails and responding, investigation, making liability decision, collecting evidence, recorded interviews, talking with attorneys, resolving bodily injury claims. Working a Mercury helped me develop my communications skills to better resolve injury cases – more... at a fair values. The people that I work with are a pleasure to work with. The people have strong family values and great work ethics. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the heavy workload of daily and active claims. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping people and resolving the claims as soon as possible so they can be in a better place soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercury Insurance
Claims Specialist II (Current Employee), Vernon Hills, ILFebruary 4, 2013
Great coworkers. Unfortunately the company is consolidating 13 state offices into 3 "hub" locations. The Illinois branch is being closed in this consolidation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and clean workplace with large kitchen and ample parking
Subrogation Payment Specialist (Current Employee), Latham, NYJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: ample parking, quiet environment with helpful co-workers
Cons: healthcare benefits are lacking
A typical day at work involves posting payments received from other parties, negotiating payment agreements with claimants when they are having trouble getting payments in on time, copying files and referring them to various collections agency when claimants/insureds have ceased payment and are unresponsive, and helping co-workers out with their letters.

About Mercury Insurance Group

Named after the Roman god of commerce and travel, Mercury General hopes to combine the two. The company is the parent of a group – Read more

Mercury Insurance Group Photos