Find companies:
Mercy Hospital Of Buffalo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Mercy Hospital Of Buffalo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling Surgical Tech.
Traveling Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYDecember 1, 2014
Pros: nice people.
Cons: horrid management
It was nice for a Travel assignment. I would NOT want to work here as a permanent person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment, great staff, opportunities for advancement and further education
REGISTERED NURSE (Current Employee), BuffaloOctober 16, 2014
I've been at Mercy Hospital for a few years and I really like it there. I've learned so much and it feels like my home away from home. Its a very busy hospital but manages to give great personal attention to patients and staff alike. Management is approachable with a firm open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable place to work
Nurse Assistant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: room for advancment
Cons: low starting salary
Secretarial and front desk duties including telephone, payments, mail and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly peopleCaring staff, clean and welcoming environment
Nurse's Aide (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 17, 2014
Friendly staff, caring people clean environment
Unionized
Diverse
Shared values
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice relaxing enviornment
Environmental Service Worker (Former Employee), abbott rdJune 15, 2014
Pros: all co-workers like a family
Cons: hours of work
keep store clean and stocked. felt there was always too little of employees there. did not like hours 5-midnight. everyone was close
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 14, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: no pay increases after 5 years of employment
Its never a boring day I learn something new everyday i go to work. Management is amazing but tough when needed. My co-workers are great team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very clean and updated inside
Health Information Clerk (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 17, 2014
management needs more skills, and training. Caring, compassion, core values stem from the top. If the top doesn't utilize their skill they why should they expect other too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I have ever worked
RN (Former Employee), Med surg and TeleApril 27, 2013
Pros: getting your feet wet if you are new in healthcare and can't get a job anywhere else
Cons: just about every aspect of employment there is a con
typical day at work involved being understaffed and getting no help sent. I learned that catholic health systems is anything but catholic, and hides behind the veil of a not for profit, while they find every way possible to overwork their employees. Management...what a joke, everyone from HR (which was especially horrible due to the fact that they don't – more... have a single clue to what goes on outside of their office) to the floor managers were quick to get rid of good employees based upon lies told by coworkers. Seen a lot of good employees let go for things that had nothing to do with their job performance. Coworkers- there were good and bad, but more bad than good. The bad ones make every situation into an overblown dramatic situation which almost always gets out of hand. The hardest part of the job was actually stomaching being an employee there and pretending to be happy with all the petty vindictive people who had nothing better to do with their time than talk trash about others, including patients, and at times making things up.The male employees there have it the worst, because if they dated anyone, they were a target. Even when they stayed single they were a target by the rejected females and their friends. The most enjoyable part of the job was leaving each day knowing that I did not have to deal with the headache known as mercy hospital. Not to be left unsaid the union there is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with, they are really fast to strong arm their members to push their agenda, but screwed the rest of the union on the most recent contract; the health insurance they voted on was changed without warning and they were given no choice in the matter; they also promised pay raises to the nurses aides, dietary and transporters, but when they were forced to vote on a lesser contract than the first time, which they lied to the entire whole of their members about the terms, there was no pay raise for those promised one!!! Then the union sent out letters saying they misinformed their employees about the pay raise, because after reviewing the signed contract those raises were not included! Oh lets not forget that they also cut the pay raises in half for the annual pay raise.All to save a pension that the hospital owes millions to and the union will never get! It's been almost a year since the contract was signed and they still have not given their members a copy of their new handbooks. Very shady union and hospital. My advice would be to NEVER work at mercy hospital unless you are desperate and do not care about benefits or fair treatment, and a reasonable patient workload. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible establishment to work for
nurse (Current Employee), 565March 13, 2013
Pros: the biggest pro that i see is not working there
Cons: horrible union and management lousy healthcare insurance and the list goes on
The absence of management with the exceptions of belittling and discouraging employees. Self evaluations where a manager who never sees you working but is quick to give a poor rating. at Mercy the new contract took away took away what little benefits there were 2 working there. Would never work for another purported Catholic health hospital. Between – more... all the drama and backstabbing it is a horrible place to work. Union thats only good for taking your money, and giving you little to nothing in return. Terrible staffing and always broken equipment. One of the worst places i have ever worked. – less

March 17, 2013

I agree with you 100% with exception on the health insurance. Lousy lazy union that have no concern for the employees best interest except grabbing that biweekly dues, and for what? I will never recommend this hospital to anyone seeking employment.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 14, 2013
I liked working at Mercy Hospital of Buffalo, because it was a busy hospital where i had the chance to rotate from unit to unit. very hard to get bored and lots of oportunitys to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment and great people
Porter (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 22, 2012
I've been working at Mercy Hospital for 7 years now and enjoy the work environment immensely. It is very easy to integrate with fellow co-workers, as well as management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a difficult place to work
Nurse assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 27, 2012
Pros: great pay an benefits
Cons: long hours
I loved working at the hospital while working there I learned a lot of different things about our body such as open heart surgery infections an what happens if you don't take care of your self .really didn't like the12hr shifts especially the night shift plus I was going to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sterile Processing Tech
Not affiliated at Mercy Hospital (Former Employee), Not affiliated at Mercy HospitalOctober 29, 2014
I would have loved to apply for this job but it was only open to current employees of the hospital. I feel they are missing out on the opportunity to diversify and find people that are just as talented, if not more, into available positions. They are narrowing their opportunity to get new, fresh faced and talented people to join their pool of employees.