Find companies:
Mercy Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
307 reviews

Mercy Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly & family feeling atmosphere.
OB Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort Scott, KSJuly 7, 2014
Pros: somewhat of a flexible schedule due to management position.
Cons: staff calling in sick at last minute
Mercy Hospital was an enjoyable place to work. C0-workers made eye contact in the hall and greeted one another. Most days were very busy in the OB dept. It was difficult managing the OB staff at times due to the unpredictable pt. census. I most enjoyed being involved in bringing new life into the world - participating in 'receiving' newborns and also – more... caring for mother's during postpartum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercy Life
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Janesville, WiJuly 2, 2014
I loved working here. It was one of the best job I have ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
telemetry job includes assessment, implementation and evaluation of pt care
Telemetry Nurse (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 2, 2014
basic jobs like connecting to telemetry monitor for vital signs, assessment of pt, following what the doctors orders, giving of medications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great patient care
NUCLEAR MEDICINE TECHNOLOGIST (Current Employee), cadillac, /miJune 30, 2014
The hospital has a wonderful mission statement and does a great job at honoring it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with the clients
Finance Counselor/Billing Representative (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 30, 2014
A very diverse clientele in an urban setting and i enjoyed helping the patient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, excellent learning environment
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJune 25, 2014
Pros: great learning opportunity
Worked here right out of school and learned so much. I am the confident therapist that I am today as a result of great mentors at Mercy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Medical Biller/Collections (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 23, 2014
great work hours
hour lunch
great people to work with
nice atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercy Pharmacy
Medical Reconciliation Technician - Acute Pharmacy (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJune 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lack of quality training, work week has no form of rotation, co-workers aren't too accepting of new people, nurses are very rude
Type of Management in this department lacks greatly
10 hour shifts
random throughout the week with no rotation
Have to really push to get additional training
Not a lot of room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment, always something to do
Food Tech 3 (Current Employee), Springfield, MOJune 19, 2014
Pros: i learned many new things.
A typical day at work evolves preparing patient meal trays, doing dishes, keeping the kitchen clean and well maintained. I learned how to work within a fast paced environment and how to get things done within an allotted amount of time to be prepared for the next tray line. The hardest part of the job was running out of items we needed in the middle – more... of preparing meal trays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place
Replenishment (Current Employee), Saint LouisJune 15, 2014
Cons: treated as a corporation not as a non profit
I am currently trying to leave this hospital. The nurses are treated as Kings and Queens and get away with a lot of work policy violations. If you are not a nurse or a doctor expect to be treated as lower class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Laboratory Assistant II (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 12, 2014
Short staffed, and always extremely busy.Co worker were always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various products Retail Store
Environmental Services (Former Employee), Joplin, MOJune 10, 2014
A typical day in this job includes cleaning up the store, putting out merchandise in the store, cashiering, and assisting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job I had hoped to retire from
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Fort Smith, ARJune 4, 2014
Pros: a job i truely enjoyed and hped to retire from one day
Cons: hot in the summer, but it was still ok
Relief the person on the line doing the job before me, and keep the line running at the regular pace . Or as a Utility make sure everyone is there in the dept at their job ready to get on the line on time. If not , find a replacement or do the job myself till a replacement could be found. As a Safety Rep. Get the information need that had been injured – more... in the last month, look up the person, ask them in their words what happened. Make a report and turn it in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
Supervisor (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJune 2, 2014
I set my expectations too high in the company and was very let down by the overall management & attitude of Mercy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful Staff
Student nurse (Former Employee), Muskegon, MIMay 28, 2014
The nurses were very helpful with students. I learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fact paced work place with attention and focus on the patient.
MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Gorham Primary Care-Gorham MEMay 28, 2014
Pros: helping others, great co-workers, excellant experience, fast paced work envirnoment
Cons: benefits, my drive
In a typical day I would room patients, take their vitals, set up any type of procedure, write down reason for visit with their symptoms. When provider was done I would discharge the patient, call in medications if needed. I would also take messages and sent them to the appropriate provider to review and advise me how to direct the patient. I have been – more... lucky to learn how to take specimens, drawn blood, run tests, how to use computer systems (allscripts and meditech). I have had the opportunity to work with great managers who always focus on the team and patient's. Co-workers are not just part of a team but we are part of a family. Hardest part is dealing with upset patient's, but I have been taught how to address the concerns and turn most negatives into a positive interaction. I love working with patient's and helping them with their healthcare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercy worklife
Transporter (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 22, 2014
Pros: ability to communicate with others
Cons: short breaks
Everyone at Mercy has uplifting spirits and is always happy. Working at Mercy is fun and a great experience transporting and communicating with the patients and nursing staff. Co-workers and Management teams makes it feel like we are a family and supportive in the decisions that we make.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Clerical Associate II (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 21, 2014
• Greeted and responded to requests from patients and collateral's who called on the telephone.
• Scheduled appointments for patients.
• Collected fees for services rendered and issued receipts to patients.
• Paged clinical staff, psychiatrists or managers as needed, or, requested.
• Reviewed release of information, consent forms for completeness and – more... signature.
• Processed medical record requests
• Distributed reports to staff
• Prepared and assembled charts
• Pulled/retrieved client charts for review purposes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concurr with all categories listed
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 19, 2014
Pros: emotional and moral support from colleagues
Cons: sometimes inadequate staffing
The nursing manager(s) always provided expertise to nursing staff in improving the quality of care,managing patient care, and providing educational opportunities by providing in-services on a regular basis. My immediate colleagues worked together as a team even though each nurse was responsible for patients in our respective districts. The most difficult – more... challenges came when integrating new patients into the milieu with current residents. Being able to observe clients achieve their therapeutic goals was the most rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Oklahoma CityMay 8, 2014
Pros: most doctors were nice
Cons: management-management
What started out as a good job turned into a total nightmare with a crazy manager. Constantly stressing everyone out by finding the smallest thing to complain about or to write them up with when the rest of the staff that wasn't under her could do the very same things with out recourse. Walking on egg shells all the time was nuts, she hated people and – more... didn't need to work in the position she had. Caused major damage to myself personally and professionally by making false statements and spreading rumors. Worst time EVER!!!!! Dont get sick or your job will be gone.

Tried to transfer with numerous job offers but she wouldn't let you go.
H.R. of no help whatsoever. – less

18pm7mujvak4gc85 – June 5, 2014

Just don't work in Resource!!! The rest may be ok but not that area.


1 2 3 4 5

About Mercy Hospital

The Scripps Research Institute is one of the world's largest independent, non-profit biomedical research organizations. Scripps – Read more