Find companies:
Mercy Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
330 reviews

Mercy Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very personable
Certified Nurse Aide1 (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: teamwork, family, helpful
Mercy is a reminder of integrity, family, and teamwork. It is an Orthopedic, Spinal, and Detoxification Unit that thrives off of making patients feel they matter in the up most part of their medical care. The coworkers are very helpful with teamwork, and very informational with questions that needed to be answered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but there was favorite
Housekeeper (Former Employee), council bluffs iaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: they had holiday parties
Cons: short lunch break
Cleaned offices
How to clean doctors offices and what to look for
management- nice but only like certain people
co-workers-good
the hours
working alone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Rural Hospital
Registered Nurse (RN) (Former Employee), Grayling, MISeptember 6, 2014
Mercy Hospital has a 6 bed critical care unit in which I worked for the past 11 years as a registered nurse. Many physicians that have come from larger hospitals comment on how busy this small rural hospital can be. In the critical care we have large volume turnover of patients as the most critical need to be transferred to larger institutions 50+ miles – more... away for specialized care not available at this hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pace environment
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: education benifits
Cons: on your feet all day
Lots of work to do. You start the minute you punch in running to get it all done. the day flies by the next you know its time to leave. Everyone gets along and helps each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MERCY HAS A NICE WORK ENVIRONMENT
FIINANCIAL COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 26, 2014
COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS ARE ADEQUATE I HAVE LEARNED A LOT THROUGH THE YEARS, WE ALSO HAVE A DIVERSE WORKFORCE. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS OF COURSE TO SEE A VERY ILL OR TERMINALLY ILL PATIENT AND DEALING WITH HIM/HER OR THE FAMILY IN SUCH A CRITICAL MOMENT. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART IS WHEN THE PATIENT IS RECOVERING NICELY AND YOU ARE ALSO ABLE – more... TO HELP HIM/HER WITH THE FINANCES. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MERCY GAVE ME EXPERIENCE AND KNOWLEDGE TO BECOME A VALUABLE TEAM PLAYER
Internship (Former Employee), FLAugust 23, 2014
A TYPICAL DAY AT MERCY WAS TO GET ASSIGNMENTS FROM THE INSTRUCTOR PREPARE THE O.R. FOR FOR PROCEDURE . DURING THE PROCEDURE EVERYONE IS TALKING AND COMMUNICATING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LPN
Staff LPN/Team Leader (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 22, 2014
Pros: recognition, for creating a slipper holder that housed on the bed railing for better access for the patient.
Cons: none.
A typical work day on med-surg floor, morning shift -focusing on pre and post care of adult patient-very rewarding for a newly graduate nurse. Got to make rounds with the surgeons, obtaining orders and implementing the orders .

I learned how to work and develope a professional relationships with seasonal Registered Nurses that nutured my nursing career. – more... Got to experienced other areas of the hospital such as ICU,CCU,EENT, medical, urology, GYN.

The management was professionally powered by the Nuns, who did daily rounds with a smile and hello to the staffs and patients. Great management.

The hardest part of the job was ensuring charting was completed in a timely manner for the next shift.

The most enjoyable part was knowing I had contributed to the well being of the patient and hearing a heart felt thank you from the patient and the family member. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Program developer & coordinator/Client Services (Former Employee), San Diego, CaAugust 21, 2014
Pros: easy place to work.
Cons: some tech managers could be quite demanding, never even allowing one to sit down and get ready for the next draw. but i deflected this, i let them know what i was thinking and doing.
I collected patient samples and specimens and brought them back to the lab for processing. Sometimes I would help in the processing. I learned more about team work, prioritization, and a greater sense of urgency. I became very efficient at the collection of specimens and planning my shift work. Management was involved in encouragement and in setting – more... priorities. Other then that, I was very self motivated as I worked with some good people, dedicated to their jobs. The hardest part was the multiple venipuncture's that I might have to do and maybe pass off to another tech. But I enjoyed the communication with my patients, trying to set them at ease, and with the banter of my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once was great...now, not so much
Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 14, 2014
Pros: beautiful setting on biscayne bay
Cons: hospital admin cares about profit, not patients
This facility was taken over by the largest owner and operator of hospitals in the country. Promptly after their take over, all long term staff was let go, moral dropped, cost containment was the name of the game and there was no concern for patient, physician, or employee satisfaction (or safety, for that matter). Administration is uncaring, cold, – more... and indifferent and profit is the only goal that I saw at this facility. The employees who remain there are miserable and looking...just ask some of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional atmosphere, good team work
Physical Therapist Assistant (PRN) (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 14, 2014
Pros: professional atmosphere, helpful employees, great team work
Worked with a great team of other PT's, OT's, and COTA's. It was a very rewarding job as we helped patients work toward independence in their mobility and ADL's so they could return home; or if not possible, then to an environment where they would receive continued care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Clinical Experience (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 11, 2014
Excellent place to work for.
The location is perfect, allowing for breaks by the bay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching hospital
Staff Sonographer (Former Employee), Mason City, IAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch, great benefits, career advancement
Cons: no lunch or breaks on busy days
I received my ultrasound training at Mercy North Iowa.
This hospital supported a three year family practice residency program and a radiologic technology program( which I also attended).
I performed all my clinical's at this site under the guidance of skilled registered technologists and sub specialty radiologists. Mercy is a growing system with great – more... management! The hardest part of this job was the call rotation between 3 technologists. I enjoyed all the opportunities for growth including extensive training in maternal fetal medicine and fetal echocardiography which helped implement the Perinatal Center of North Iowa. I am very happy to say this is where I got my start. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with respect
CNA Telemetry (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 8, 2014
working in the medical heath is very nice specially when there is respect in the institution between workers and of course with the patient. it gives the hospital a big positive impact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercy Hospital is an excellent hospital.
Certified radiology nurse (Former Employee), Fairfield, OHJuly 29, 2014
Pros: pros: multiple learning experiences
Cons: long hours
* A typical day at Mercy involved multiple areas of patient care.

* I learned my background in critical care and emergency room nursing assisted me in radiology nursing. Being involved in multiple aspects of nursing improved my management skills.

* Management is a continuous work in progress, it encourages you to evaluate all aspects of issues involving – more... patient care, staff, budgets etc.

* Co-workers are essential part of the team work required for excellent patient care.

* The hardest part of the job was the time constraints.

* The most enjoyable part of the job was the learning experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty decent
nursing assistant (Former Employee), coon rapids, MinnesotaJuly 29, 2014
Pros: good pay, pto, healthcare coverage, clean work environment, and nice staff.
Cons: short breaks during the day and sometimes you have no time for one.
We'd get on shift receive reports and start vital signs. Then between then and the end of the shift we'd do hourly rounds, turning, changes/ hygiene, stocking, and more vital signs. The most enjoyable part of my job is my patients getting to help them and get to know them is an amazing experience it really makes the work worth it. The staff itself is – more... great atleast on the shift I worked they're all helpful and kind. The hardest part would be when we're short staffed and we run around a lot. I've learned so much while on the job between employee forums and on site training of new equipment and infection control procedures. The management varies on every floor. I worked in the float pool and my manager was typically on the ball about bringing forth any concerns or problems with anything. The only downside of management is there is a lot of favoritism towards people especially those who are apart of the nursing program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Nursing Staff
Mercy Hospital (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 21, 2014
I worked with some very awesome nurses who served as great mentors!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working envrionment
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Coon Rapids, MNJuly 17, 2014
Pros: learning new things every day.
Cons: not being able to complete my task all the time.
Interacting with my patients, and hearing them tell me how good a job I perform.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and perfect work ethics.
Surgery Technician (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: the place to serve the needs of the community.
Cons: learn ways to manage uncertain challenges, at momments notice.
Its an helpful environment, well kept community based healt facility to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 14, 2014
Medical billing, customer service, office duties. staff and management was very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have only worked at Mercy Hospital as a volunteer.
Volunteer (Current Employee), Volunteer Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2014
Mercy Hospital – Volunteer
(09/2013 – Present)

As a Volunteer, I have worked in various departments onsite and offsite at Mercy Hospital executing tasks to ensure accurate records management and quality service delivery. i.e. Oakwood Community Clinic, Out-Patient Rehabilitation Center, Mammogram Unit and Vitas Hospice Care Unit.

I have learned to – more... function in a fast pace environment whereby needs to be met varies from day to day. Also, how important it is to have cultivated communication and interpersonal skills which enables you to operate within the cultural diversity of patients and employees. It has allow me the opportunity to grow as an individual learning about my own abilities to give willingly of myself and demonstrating what it takes to effectively work in ministry of helps as a servant. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Mercy Hospital

The Scripps Research Institute is one of the world's largest independent, non-profit biomedical research organizations. Scripps – Read more