Find companies:
Mercy Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
362 reviews

Mercy Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the years that I worked for Mercy Hospital I got very familiar with most departments in the hospital
Admin Sec to the Director of Surgery (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 14, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits were great. childcare facility on-site.
I enjoyed being so busy. I enjoyed attending meetings with my boss. When he wasn't around, ex: vacation or out sick, I was left in charge. It was a great feeling. I handled many resumes, licenses, certifications, etc. My involvement with doctors, nurses, surg. techs, vendors and patients was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, but management problems
Materials Management Assistant (Former Employee), Devils Lake, NDOctober 10, 2014
Pros: co-workers, hours, pay, and benefits.
Cons: management, no overtime allowed, and no room to grow.
I really enjoyed working here. Management was the only real issue that I had dealt with. It is hard to learn something new every day. It is very repetitive. I felt like I was being held back from growing and learning within the company. The pay was great, benefits wonderful, and the people were amazing! I couldn't deal with the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bcak then, it was a Catholic Hospital and nice to work with the interdisciplinary team members and the coworkers.
Staff Nurse-Comprehensive Inpatient Rehabilitation (Former Employee), Coconut Grove, FLOctober 10, 2014
Pros: many good physicians to work with and able to pray with the nuns.
Cons: had to work on sundays
Received reports of the patients that had been assigned to me, from the night shift nurses. Quickly round and check all my patients to make sure that they were o.k. Reviewed the patient charts and follow up any stat orders. Checked the V/S of the patients. Administered medications, check labs and any diagnostic testing reports and communicate with the – more... involved physicians as needed. Check the physician orders and follow up. I learned about the med-surg and in-patient Rehab patient care and the importance of the interdisciplinary team approach and its effectiveness. The management team was o.k. I had good co-workers. The hardest part of the job was to deal with the shortage of staff and multiple medically complex patients were assigned to me or other co-workers. The most enjoyable part of the job was when the patients received quality patient care and effective outcomes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Work Environment
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Coon Rapids, MNOctober 8, 2014
Of all of the hospitals in the area that I worked at during my time as an agency nurse, Mercy was the hospital I chose to work for full time. The nurses and management create a fun work environment that is constantly changing and growing to oversee new medical standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coder
Biller/receptionist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 1, 2014
I am originally from Russia. I learned English and my knowledge of Medical Terminology is much better than some American nurses. ( Not really, i like to show off) But common, give me some credits. I don't like coding much because i have no exp in this area. I know billing and can code from doctor form only, but at Johns Hopkins School for Medical Coders – more... they show us how to code form a doctor reports and i was successful at that. I am a CPC Medical Coder ( very proud) I am also have a License as a Massage Therapist , so my knowledge of Anatomy and bones/muscles are very good.
Co-workers are saying that i am very reliable , responsible and fun to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pharmacy Technician III CPhT (Current Employee), Ardmore, OKOctober 1, 2014
I like working at Mercy, I have been here for 4 years.
New experiences every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workers
Par Ex Intern (Former Employee), Coon Rapids, MNSeptember 30, 2014
Great group of workers, helpful. Little busy but great place to stay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place with good benefits
Patient Care Associate (Former Employee), Branson, MOSeptember 29, 2014
A lot of options for over time. Friendly and helpful co-workers. Fast paced environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun department
Supply Technician (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: great benifits
normal work days lots of fun,learned a lot about medical supplys,great supervisors,the best coworkers everyone works as a team,hardest part of job would be decontam,knowing i gave it 100%,overall mercys is not a bad place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experience.
Gift Store Clerk (Former Employee), Rockville Centre NySeptember 24, 2014
I was very young when I volunteered here. The staff was very professional and they trained me for all things. I chose to work in the Gift Shop so I could speak to different people and help out with stocking and organizing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group in CCU
Coronary Care Unit Travel Nurse (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 16, 2014
Loved working in CCU in a great city. Even the telemetry was a good floor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very personable
Certified Nurse Aide1 (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: teamwork, family, helpful
Mercy is a reminder of integrity, family, and teamwork. It is an Orthopedic, Spinal, and Detoxification Unit that thrives off of making patients feel they matter in the up most part of their medical care. The coworkers are very helpful with teamwork, and very informational with questions that needed to be answered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but there was favorite
Housekeeper (Former Employee), council bluffs iaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: they had holiday parties
Cons: short lunch break
Cleaned offices
How to clean doctors offices and what to look for
management- nice but only like certain people
co-workers-good
the hours
working alone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Rural Hospital
Registered Nurse (RN) (Former Employee), Grayling, MISeptember 6, 2014
Mercy Hospital has a 6 bed critical care unit in which I worked for the past 11 years as a registered nurse. Many physicians that have come from larger hospitals comment on how busy this small rural hospital can be. In the critical care we have large volume turnover of patients as the most critical need to be transferred to larger institutions 50+ miles – more... away for specialized care not available at this hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pace environment
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: education benifits
Cons: on your feet all day
Lots of work to do. You start the minute you punch in running to get it all done. the day flies by the next you know its time to leave. Everyone gets along and helps each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MERCY HAS A NICE WORK ENVIRONMENT
FIINANCIAL COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 26, 2014
COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS ARE ADEQUATE I HAVE LEARNED A LOT THROUGH THE YEARS, WE ALSO HAVE A DIVERSE WORKFORCE. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS OF COURSE TO SEE A VERY ILL OR TERMINALLY ILL PATIENT AND DEALING WITH HIM/HER OR THE FAMILY IN SUCH A CRITICAL MOMENT. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART IS WHEN THE PATIENT IS RECOVERING NICELY AND YOU ARE ALSO ABLE – more... TO HELP HIM/HER WITH THE FINANCES. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MERCY GAVE ME EXPERIENCE AND KNOWLEDGE TO BECOME A VALUABLE TEAM PLAYER
Internship (Former Employee), FLAugust 23, 2014
A TYPICAL DAY AT MERCY WAS TO GET ASSIGNMENTS FROM THE INSTRUCTOR PREPARE THE O.R. FOR FOR PROCEDURE . DURING THE PROCEDURE EVERYONE IS TALKING AND COMMUNICATING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LPN
Staff LPN/Team Leader (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 22, 2014
Pros: recognition, for creating a slipper holder that housed on the bed railing for better access for the patient.
Cons: none.
A typical work day on med-surg floor, morning shift -focusing on pre and post care of adult patient-very rewarding for a newly graduate nurse. Got to make rounds with the surgeons, obtaining orders and implementing the orders .

I learned how to work and develope a professional relationships with seasonal Registered Nurses that nutured my nursing career. – more... Got to experienced other areas of the hospital such as ICU,CCU,EENT, medical, urology, GYN.

The management was professionally powered by the Nuns, who did daily rounds with a smile and hello to the staffs and patients. Great management.

The hardest part of the job was ensuring charting was completed in a timely manner for the next shift.

The most enjoyable part was knowing I had contributed to the well being of the patient and hearing a heart felt thank you from the patient and the family member. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Program developer & coordinator/Client Services (Former Employee), San Diego, CaAugust 21, 2014
Pros: easy place to work.
Cons: some tech managers could be quite demanding, never even allowing one to sit down and get ready for the next draw. but i deflected this, i let them know what i was thinking and doing.
I collected patient samples and specimens and brought them back to the lab for processing. Sometimes I would help in the processing. I learned more about team work, prioritization, and a greater sense of urgency. I became very efficient at the collection of specimens and planning my shift work. Management was involved in encouragement and in setting – more... priorities. Other then that, I was very self motivated as I worked with some good people, dedicated to their jobs. The hardest part was the multiple venipuncture's that I might have to do and maybe pass off to another tech. But I enjoyed the communication with my patients, trying to set them at ease, and with the banter of my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once was great...now, not so much
Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 14, 2014
Pros: beautiful setting on biscayne bay
Cons: hospital admin cares about profit, not patients
This facility was taken over by the largest owner and operator of hospitals in the country. Promptly after their take over, all long term staff was let go, moral dropped, cost containment was the name of the game and there was no concern for patient, physician, or employee satisfaction (or safety, for that matter). Administration is uncaring, cold, – more... and indifferent and profit is the only goal that I saw at this facility. The employees who remain there are miserable and looking...just ask some of them. – less

About Mercy Hospital

The Scripps Research Institute is one of the world's largest independent, non-profit biomedical research organizations. Scripps – Read more