Find companies:
Mercy Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
330 reviews

Mercy Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concurr with all categories listed
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 19, 2014
Pros: emotional and moral support from colleagues
Cons: sometimes inadequate staffing
The nursing manager(s) always provided expertise to nursing staff in improving the quality of care,managing patient care, and providing educational opportunities by providing in-services on a regular basis. My immediate colleagues worked together as a team even though each nurse was responsible for patients in our respective districts. The most difficult – more... challenges came when integrating new patients into the milieu with current residents. Being able to observe clients achieve their therapeutic goals was the most rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Oklahoma CityMay 8, 2014
Pros: most doctors were nice
Cons: management-management
What started out as a good job turned into a total nightmare with a crazy manager. Constantly stressing everyone out by finding the smallest thing to complain about or to write them up with when the rest of the staff that wasn't under her could do the very same things with out recourse. Walking on egg shells all the time was nuts, she hated people and – more... didn't need to work in the position she had. Caused major damage to myself personally and professionally by making false statements and spreading rumors. Worst time EVER!!!!! Dont get sick or your job will be gone.

Tried to transfer with numerous job offers but she wouldn't let you go.
H.R. of no help whatsoever. – less

June 5, 2014

Just don't work in Resource!!! The rest may be ok but not that area.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Work
Registered Nurse, Telemetry/Step-down Unit (Former Employee), Town and Country, MOMay 6, 2014
Pros: was able to pick up extra shifts
The most enjoyable part of my job was taking care of a diverse population of patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to assist customers
Radiology Assistant/ Check-In-Receptionist (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 6, 2014
Pros: monthly company outings
Cons: no breaks. just a lunch break
Is the first point of contact for patients and therefore must represent
the hospital with the highest standard of customer service and compassion; and perform all duties in a manner consistent with high moral codes a hospital presents to its patients. Assistant must ensure accurate documentation of patients’ attendance for their examinations and must – more... verify patients to the correct test scheduled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out on Med/Surg floor, sent me to advanced classes to get to CCU which is actually a progressive care
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Devils Lake, NDMay 4, 2014
Made friends there, learned so much. they sent me to classes to better myself. Best job I ever had. I left there only because I was offered a management job at TCLC which meant no driving, better pay, and no holidays, weekends or nights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Associate Network Administrator/IT Project Manager (Former Employee), Portland, MEMay 2, 2014
Not sure what this section is all about. Not sure what this section is all about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun, easy-going place to work.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Fort Scott, KsApril 30, 2014
Pros: great work hours, great benifits, great employees and great patients.
On a typical day I will see between 75-100 patients. While working here, I learned how to cope with unhappy patients as well better pblebotomy skills. My coworkers are great. We work as a team to get the job done. They are very helpful. The hardest part of the job is making sure I always get the small details taken care of at the end. But the most rewarding – more... part of the job is seeing patients succeed in their health. I see them when they are sick and a few days or weeks I also get to see them well. It's the most rewarding part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is okay
Environmental Technician (Current Employee), Springfield, MOApril 28, 2014
Woke up early and cleaned rooms
management was okay and coworkers are okay
hardest part is not having weekends and holidays off

the enjoyable art is the benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love to work mercy hospital very funn place i love to help people
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee), chicago ilApril 27, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: short breaks
• Patrolled hospital facility to detect any suspicious activity.
• Validated ID of the persons entering into premises.
• Examined doors and windows to ensure security.
• Prepared incident reports for Supervisor’s review.
• Controlled combative patients in an efficient manner.
• Identified violators and provided warnings.
• Escorted patients to designated – more... areas when needed.
• Controlled people and vehicle traffics for ambulances.
• Performed all security related tasks and prepared reports of unusual activities and events.
• Participated in activities not directly related to Security operations as approved by Security Management.
• Performed facility lockdown as dictated and screens visitors and employees seeking entry after hours.
• Exhibited good judgment during critical situations and maintained a professional and authoritative demeanor at all times.
• Assessed situations with consideration for age of individuals involved.
• Gathered information pertaining to incidents such as thefts and accidents
• Handled emergency situations and security threats in a professional manner, following established procedures.
• Participated in investigations of security incidents.
• Performed rounds of the facility and campus at designated intervals.
• Completed paper work accurately, completely, and timely.
• Assured that offices and departments are secure when vacant.
• Monitored cameras and take appropriate actions to respond to any potential threats and unsafe incidents.
• Wide knowledge of law enforcement techniques and procedures.
• Outstanding customer service skills.
• Strong ability to work all shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Host (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 21, 2014
Loved working there. Great people and always something different to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Medical Records Clerk (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 16, 2014
Pros: i work with great people. i have a great boss
Cons: no benefits
• Record destruction of patient charts
• Retain and log patient information onto Microsoft excel
• File/fax patient charts
• Travel to different Mercy facilities as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow
Volunteer (Current Employee), Rockville Centre, NYApril 15, 2014
Pros: hi
Cons: wow
what can I say...................... was very its a very good hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch
A typical day at Mercy Hospital was go to the storage room wait for the nurses to call for the equipment that they need for their patients. My co-workers were very fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was getting the equipment to the correct place and on time especially when there was more than one thing to take to different places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Janesville, WIApril 7, 2014
A typical day at work was stressful. Co-worker and management was hard to work with. But i did. I loved my work there and the family and patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly enjoyed this job.
Financial assistant (Former Employee), Devils Lake, NDApril 5, 2014
Pros: working in familiar surroundings.
Cons: the job ended too soon.
I worked in a fun environment. I was able to help various departments with data entry and helped implement a new program for the hospital. That was very exciting. My co-workers were wonderful. There really was no hard part to the job. This job was given to me during a difficult time in my life and it was a true blessing. I loved working back in the – more... hospital that I was born in and being close to family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very proud of this hospital Named top 100 in the US
Assistant Nurse Manager/ER (Former Employee), Coon Rapids, MNApril 2, 2014
Pros: adored the work and wonderful satisfaction when turning a pt around
Cons: hours
Managed 132 RNs Handled patient complaints. Preceptor, worked the floor as charge when needed. Went home on beeper and was called in for traumas or codes. Never said no to the staff. Hardest part of my job was telling family they lost a loved one Earned respect from the physicians and staff. Helped formulate triage. Great patient advocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience. Everyone is like a family in the workplace.
Sonographer (Former Employee), Rogers, ARApril 1, 2014
Pros: great work environment and co-workers.
Great equiptment, co-workers, doctors, radiologist, and managers. This was one of my best experiences. Miss everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
resp. therapy
Airway management (Former Employee), Scranton, PAMarch 30, 2014
best job ever
great employees
geisinger bought
closed as inpatient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what it is.....
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 20, 2014
I learned more about myself. This is a business - there is no flexibility with this corporation. There is NO loyalty because everyone is "job scared". Whatever your title is - always have an updated resume
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Volunteer (Current Employee), Rockville, NYMarch 14, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Reviewed the Daily schedule
Retrieved equipment if needed.
Maintained and cleaned patient equipment.
Updated & Maintaind patient chart

About Mercy Hospital

The Scripps Research Institute is one of the world's largest independent, non-profit biomedical research organizations. Scripps – Read more