Mercy Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 920 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, poor management
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, MOAugust 24, 2017
Loved working and seeing the patients, extremely rewarding. Terrible management, gave you paid time but would not let you schedule them to actually take time off. Training was also very low quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive ,friendly
Patient Escort and EVS(housekeeping0 (Current Employee) –  Iowa City, IAAugust 24, 2017
Love working there everyone is helpful and friendly. I am just worried about some of the changes that have taking place. We are going through a lot of staff and it worries me . Some employees have lost there jobs and not sure if more will.
Pros
friendly, benefits
Cons
changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYAugust 23, 2017
Everyday there was something different to deal with. I enjoyed meeting the new hires and doing orientation for them. I liked the people there and looked forward to going to work.
Pros
people
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very heartwarming working around the patients
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Uptown fifth avenue pittsburgh,paAugust 21, 2017
Mercy Hospital was a Eye opening experience for me being around sick patients.it gave me experience with the elderly people that were there.it gave me a passion to want to clean for the elderly but could never persue that passion without the funds nor equipment to do it
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital was taken over by geisinger.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Mercy Wilkes- BarreAugust 20, 2017
Was the best hospital I ever worked for. Sad that the CEO back in 2005 decided to close the nursing units and move the services up to Geisinger Wyoming Valley. So many good nurses lost jobs as well as other employees of the hospital.
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
overtime hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and energetic workplace
Nursing Student Clinical Rotation (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 18, 2017
my initial exposure to what clinicals would be in the nursing field. lots of hands on experience and competent nurses willing to teach future RN's. patient care was always the top priority.
Pros
work environment
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst hospital i have been to
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARAugust 16, 2017
there is no back up in the administration. they just let you fail and don't care. the place is so short staffed you cant learn properly. the patient care is at the bottom of the list.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to start a career
Clinical Partner/Dietary (Former Employee) –  26th at King DrAugust 16, 2017
Nice working environment, offered on the job training classes were six weeks, Worked on trayline in Dietary very fast pace may be a challenge for some
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Travel time may be a challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The office personnel were very informative during my internship.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Ozark, ARAugust 15, 2017
During my internship at Mercy the office personnel were informative and polite.I was allowed to work in various administrative departments. All whom I came in contact with were welcoming and open to discuss the importance of each job in the hospital.
Pros
Such a vast variety of positions in which I could work with my grade.
Cons
Just not enough time to delve deeper into the various positions during my internship..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAAugust 13, 2017
you have to be able to multitask and be able to move quickly and thoroughly. Once they see that you are willing to work, they usually work with you on allot of things
Pros
meeting different people
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent health for all people regardless of ability to pay
11-7 med tech (Former Employee) –  Laboratory Toledo ohioAugust 12, 2017
I worked at Mercy for a total of 20 years as was givin the opportunity to advance based on skills, dedication and hard work. I would work for Mercy health again without reservation.
Pros
Excellent advancement opportunity
Cons
Long hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 11, 2017
Productive
peaceful
fun
management is really good
supervisor very respectful
learned a lot in the pathology lab doing citology and histology
also in the administration field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attractive environment for a walk during break in the sky way or outside
Resident chaplain (Former Employee) –  work/trainingAugust 11, 2017
Great place to work and develop work skills and ethics in addition to experiencing persons of diverse beliefs, life styles and backgrounds. Mercy Hospital is a great place to experience interdisciplinary team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
PCT/ Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 10, 2017
great company with great people to work with, great benefits, awesome schedule to work and great place to grow future in this field to expand in the medical field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful culture and caring nurses
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOAugust 8, 2017
I was able to fulfill my life's desire as a care provider in a faith based institution. My values were in line with the culture of the organization. I felt as I was a part of a close knit family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at mercy
ER Admitting Representative (Current Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARAugust 8, 2017
I like working here, I work in the emergency department one of the most stressful departments in the hospital bu I enjoy every moment I am here I rather work more over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment for new employees
RN Circulator RN in the operating room (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOAugust 5, 2017
The OR there has a really high turnover rate of new employees due to a group of people that bully new employees. Everyone that started when I did also quit for these reasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Server
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 4, 2017
As a food server for Mercy Hospital, I worked in the front line serving the tray and dishes of food to the elderly people who came through the line every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not challenging
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 3, 2017
I worked for mercy as a unit secretary. We also took patients to the prep area to get ready for surgery. I liked that part of the job, the front desk part got to be too Boring for me, once we finished our data entry (which was minimal) we would put together charts. When that was done, it could get pretty boring.
Pros
Working with patients
Cons
Management was not willing to let you advance in any way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Reprocessing Technician (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 2, 2017
this company treated the employees like family they worked hard to keep employees happy the treated the customers like they were family as well. it was a wonderful place to work
Pros
good benefits
Cons
not enough work places like this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mercy Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 932 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

81%
288 ratings
Add your rating