Mercy Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-Throat Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 17, 2017
The illusion of a management structure is present in this facility. I would not recommend this place of employment unless you like to assume multiple units within your job responsibility. The Magnet recognition is a big joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of great people providing quality care
Manager - Plant Engineering (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHNovember 16, 2017
Workload was heavy as staffing was minimal. I learned much about critical care services, high pressure steam and chiller operation. Upper management is exceptional and the culture is very inviting in most departments. The most enjoyable part of the job was the compassionate care and passion for quality outcomes of clinical staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IA 52402November 15, 2017
Great sense of compassion and care. Great place to work. Everyone exhibits the "Mercy Touch". people are always willing to help and the staff members are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale poor leadership
Lieutenant Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD 21202November 14, 2017
I would never work for this company in the future I do not believe they allow you to supervise you are micromanaged and. they do not take the work of suupervisors
Pros
low parking
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgical an ER RN
Surgical and ER RN (Former Employee) –  Redding, CANovember 14, 2017
Best place to work in my opinion, very nice compensation for a very busy position that gave it's own personal bonuses. Top of the line training an hugely supportive staff.
Pros
Atmosphere, culture, existing staff
Cons
Rarely saw CNA's which hopefully is changing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catholic Based hospital
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHNovember 12, 2017
Learning curve is applied here. Many knowledgeable veterans of the field.

Upgrades on Abacus computer system implemented in the past year.

One set of sinks in decontamination.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer and help others.
Volunteer Trainer (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHNovember 7, 2017
A great place to meet new people while volunteering. It is a relaxed atmosphere with friendly coworkers. Enjoy a free meal after volunteering for four hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
ORDERLY (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 6, 2017
Fast paced place that tests the limits iof each employee. The night shifts are pretty slow and chill compared to the hustle and bustle of the day. I reccomend this job for anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prefer not to answer
RN, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IANovember 6, 2017
I had planned on staying with Mercy long term, and had planned on advancing in my role there. I was let go due to my area not having supervisors anymore, was not given any time to collect my belongings, was given incorrect information regarding my benefits post lay off
Pros
no comment
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hospital is a great place to work
Histology Technician (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD 21202November 5, 2017
When you start to work there the atmosphere of the hospital and the people appears happy and open. As you begin to work there the stress begin to drain that away.
Pros
Everyone says Good Morning
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iv chemo tech
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MANovember 4, 2017
The management is the worse, they are very unprofessional, they don’t care about their employees, very bossy... they don’t deliver what they promise. Make you work 16 hrs without even care for your health.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Horrible management, very unconsidered
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and scheduling great clientel
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Clinton, IANovember 1, 2017
Daily visits with clients in their homes, high expectations from supervisors to see 6 or more patients with travel in 8 hours or less. On call hours covered with expectation to begin next work day as usual. Enjoyed visiting with clients and getting to know them and providing trust and knowledge to help maintain healthy lifestyle and refrain from return visits to hospital if possible.
Pros
clients
Cons
long hours, high expectations, no quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get started
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIOctober 31, 2017
I got great experience as a new grad. I learned a lot about cardiac and nursing itself. I gained a lot a skills and knowledge in cardiac, respiratory, and dialysis nursing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees, Terrible Management
Scheduler/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHOctober 31, 2017
I enjoyed the people I worked with however, management was terrible. Manager expected you to know all protocols without them even being explained to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot about the computer
Labor & delivery Surgical Tech(travel assign) (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAOctober 31, 2017
Great place to work, enjoyed the learning as well as the staff. It can be hectic due to the moms in labor. Its either very busy or sometimes its not enough going on. The manager was fantastic
Pros
Very energetic drs and staff
Cons
Not guaranteed over time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Unit Tech (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAOctober 31, 2017
All aspects of patient care. Helping nursing, doctors, dietary, etc. With all needs. We all work as a team......... working with the patient was rewarding everyday. Hardest when saying good bye to a patient who knows they are dying..
Pros
room to grow
Cons
not enough staf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assitant manager (Former Employee) –  Rockville Centre, NYOctober 30, 2017
A typical day depends on how many patients you have to care for and their accuracy. It could be very busy and slow at times. Over all it is a great place to work and to build a lifetime career.
Pros
allow to voice opinions and concerns
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Acute Hospital Environment
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAOctober 29, 2017
The Respiratory Dept. is required to cover several buildings on the campus and this could become challenging during a very busy shift. Different experiences can be obtained at this facility as they are a full service hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacist
Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 27, 2017
I would staff the floor and had enough time to grab a lunch on most days, it is def a busy job and you are expected to work hard. Management is fair and flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun with the right people
Resource Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 27, 2017
I really enjoyed it. Now I'm just typing to basically hit the 150 character minimum, and I really hate typing just because it's a required field. I don't want to type all this!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mercy Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 409 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8