Meredith Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and challenging work
Senior Video Producer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 7, 2016
Meredith is a enjoyable place to work. Management does a good job of letting you have a good work life balance. The positions I have worked in have been challenging and I have learned from my co-workers. Is great to work at a place where you job can be serious but you have fun while working.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its another job
Traffic Copy Editor (Former Employee) –  AZSeptember 12, 2016
The company itself is fine. Management isn't the greatest in this department. Just another typical office job. Nice people
Pros
hour lunch, free ice cream on fridays in summer
Cons
no consistency
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're committing career suicide if you accept a job in Atlanta! Don't do it!!!
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 25, 2015
Top 10 Reasons

1. Low paying jobs in a Top 10 market
2. No advancement
3. No job security
4. Low morale
5. Mediocre management
6. No innovation, creativity -- Constant change every other year!
7. Discipline first, ask questions later.
8. No training or mentors
9. Young staff with no veterans
10. Constant revolving door (management, staff)
Pros
Co-workers, new technology
Cons
See list below....apply at your own risk!
Was this review helpful?Yes17No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Culture
Marketing Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2015
Spent many years in many different positions in the company and have nothing but great experiences and memories. It's a smart forward-thinking company that continues to remain relevant in today's media landscape.
Pros
collaborative, culture, ability to move within company
Cons
lean and mean staff/budgets, don't give raises every year
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 27, 2015
Company treats you well with many benefits. Upper level management are accessible and agreeable people. Everyone takes work very seriously but most add fun within and outside the workplace.
Pros
Great benefits and work enviornment
Cons
Volitile field that has many layoffs and magazine closings
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Assistant to the Publisher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 8, 2015
Worked with the Publishing Director/Publisher of several shelter magazine. As his assistant, I managed his calendar, travel, expenses and other administrative work, as necessary.
I loved working with the PD as he was very knowledgeable, a forward-thinker, creative and caring. He allowed me the opportunity to work on several projects with the Marketing/Promotion department when I expressed interest.
There was an atmosphere of camaraderie throughout the office and this was one of the first times I experienced in publishing in which the Editor and the Publisher got along and had great respect for each other.
When the magazine was sold, I went with the Publisher to another publishing company.
Pros
creative; opportunity to work on different aspects of publishing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Freelance Video Editor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 14, 2015
After working in the news industry for only a few months it doesn't take much for you to become jaded by news. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and everyone was very friendly even during crunch-time. The pay-rate was nice based upon the job requirements that were asked of myself. It is a solid starting-job to have if you are looking to take the next step career-wise.
Pros
Co-workers, solidarity, work-flow
Cons
Lack of communication, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work; wish stronger job security was stronger
Editor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 3, 2015
- Lovely place to work
- Wonderful work culture
- Company is very active in the community
- Job security is not strong
- Not much room for job growth or upward movement
Pros
great work culture
Cons
job security is not strong
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meredith Has Potential
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 26, 2016
Meredith Corp has potential of being a wonderful company. The mentality of upper management is falling behind the times.
Mid-Level management competency is at an all-time low.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Integrated Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IllinoisSeptember 3, 2015
Learned everything about advertising with different publications. I was given the opportunity to learn digital. Also great benefits and compensation packages.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
not enough room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work day with kids
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 18, 2016
I have worked with many families and all great kids. I love being able to make a difference in their lives. Also be a support to the parents.
Pros
flexible weekly schedule
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IANovember 15, 2015
Supportive management, encouraging personal growth and development. Department Head was the most interesting and talented person I've ever worked with, and was inspiring to whole Division. Family-oriented company with fantastic perks!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high-energy work place where creative juices are constantly flowing!
Traditional Home, Associate Publisher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 4, 2013
Meredith Corporation provided an opportunity to move between its brands and to advance within the brands that I worked on. There is a good corporate culture with many groups working collaboratively to sell in programs and fulfill client needs. The hardest part of the job was finding enough time to develop and deliver the great ideas we had for our clients. The most enjoyable job was working with a great, dedicated team committed to doing their best everyday.
Pros
overall well-rounded company with many benefits
Cons
more resources needed in the marketing area
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Associate Image Producer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAFebruary 8, 2016
Great place to work for with fairly flexible hours. Friendly people and many different departments and room to grow and move around. The company also provides an in-house fitness center and a variety of classes throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very conservative company, very low tolerance for risk
Vice President of Finance (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 5, 2013
A typical day included providing financial guidance to the regional offices and general managers on both financial and business opportunities. On a monthly basis i provided a high level update to the CEO. Participated in evaluation of strategic acquisitions.
Pros
stable company with good benefits
Cons
No opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Meredith
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Lima, OhFebruary 23, 2015
A typical day would start off with cleaning all doorknobs, phones and light switches in all the offices. Then, dusting all furniture but not disturbing anything on the attorney's desks. Vaccumming the carpets was usually next. Then, cleaning the break room and the bathrooms.
I learned about hard work and the importance of cleaning every office (especially during cold and flu season).
I did not have to deal with management much, but when I did they were great.
My co-workers were my mother and sister. So, it was not bad working with them.
The hardest part of the job was the constant heavy lifting and moving of furniture.
The enjoyable part was being able to do the cleaning on weekends.
Pros
good environment, good pay for starting out
Cons
downtown Lima area
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major publishing/media company
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesSeptember 17, 2014
Sales executives are kings and are compensed well. The assistants and coordinator are not compensed or given bonuses.

Management does not support administrative staff and make unreasonable demands and at time with no compensation.
Pros
An established publishing / medica company
Cons
Revolving door for sales support.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and creative people
editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 13, 2016
I was surrounded by some great minds at this company and glad to have worked there when I did. The environment was a sea of beige, but we managed to look past that when creating content for monthly magazines. I will miss the views!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnant advancement and mediocore pay
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJuly 9, 2015
Fix everything that the news department breaks while being pulled away by numerous people paging you that they broke more things. Deal with 2 bosses that never talk to each other and they both think they are the ultimate authority about EVERYTHING. And....you're at half-staffing. Life's a peach.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Very unorganized management, terrible and overpriced insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New YorkMay 14, 2012
Management is hands on and you will learn a lot. You have the opportunity to interact with senior management and contribute to big client presentations. The corporate culture is laid back and friendly.
Pros
good hours, nice people
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Meredith Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8

Meredith Corporation Reviews by Location