MetLife Employee Reviews

Found 1,463 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Financial services representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2017
I only worked here for a short time but the work was exciting. It was fun coming to work everyday, and the benefits were awesome, Shame they don't exist anymore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Budget Analyst - Conference & Event Planning (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJanuary 17, 2017
I started in this company young, 1997. Years After starting in Legal I moved to Finance and trained there. I learned all about accountability reports and account analysis, etc. From there they placed me in the Events department to handle the finances.
I continued to grow and learn in this company and loved the people i work with. I was sad to go.
Pros
Gym, friendly people, easy commute
Cons
busy, long hours some days but it still wasn't terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Business Process Consultant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 16, 2017
this is a good company and very laid back but the chance to move up in the company is very low. they have a ok health plan but it can be better for the size of this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work environment
FMLA Claim Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mount Prospect, ILJanuary 16, 2017
I had a wonderful work experience with this company. The supervisors were very knowledgeable and supportive. The company made provisions for the employees in business and personal matters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior IT PM, Global Sales and Services Platform (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCJanuary 13, 2017
This company is an industry leading company that promotes growth and ownership of responsibilities. Great work atmosphere and really dynamic teams of professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mmmm
CSC (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 12, 2017
The balance of work/ life is spoke about heavily, but its not real. Management discuss work from home, but the requirements are not the same for all employees.
Pros
free lunch, prizes
Cons
shifts, direct supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Customer Service
Broker-Dealer Margin Representative (Former Employee) –  Iselin, NJJanuary 12, 2017
Prioritize issues and documentation.
Generate proposals and marketing materials.
Reporting to senior management.
Team leader for administrative staff.
Serve operational standards.
Work in a friendly environment.(+)
Field customer inquires.
Pros
Semiannual Bonuses
Cons
Very high volume
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do unless your family commits to invest with you
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYJanuary 12, 2017
Sales Job, Metlife dose everything and as a result nothing really good. Leads are old and not worth the phone call.

Your better off getting your CDL.
Pros
Training is pretty good
Cons
No Money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training program
Telesales Agent, Tranzact (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJanuary 12, 2017
Typical day consisted of relating to potential policyholders. I learned to market prospective policyholder by phone. My management was effective. My co-workers were team oriented. The hardest part of the job was we were actually contractors which allowed us only so much control/ input in the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the needs of the consumers.
Pros
Supportive management and staff
Cons
Objectives could be ambiguous i.e. Growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Client Service Consultant (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ILJanuary 11, 2017
Excellent place to work with a great benefits package, along with compensation. Once you get in the door the average employee has been with Metlife 10 plus years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MetLife
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJanuary 11, 2017
MetLife Investment was a very fun place to work in; i was able to make ground breaking innovations in terms of Cloud Management and Point in Time Recovery for Disaster Scenarios and Complete DevOps Engineering Solutions
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Tight management deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun to work, but a lot of moving parts and changes
Internal Audit Director - Investments (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 11, 2017
Rapidly changing things, with the new CEO.

Change is for good as the environment in which we operate is changing faster.

Top Management has a vision to make it more efficient and improve productivity, and is taking significant steps to achieve its vision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJanuary 10, 2017
Pleasant work environment, good management involvement , training for work readily available, performance bonuses, co-workers helpful and friendly, employees appreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas Parties
Term Conversion Analyst/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 9, 2017
Come in mentally ready for work.Leave personal issues behind.
Learn from any errors in the past and apply them and learn from them.
Treat them with respect and courtesy as I will expect from them.
Greet acknowledge their presents as I will expect from them.
Partner up with senor associates on complex issues ie system issues etc.
Open communication is the key to a successful company and team.
Pros
Awards and recognition
Cons
The lack of Awards and recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive exciting work place
Disability Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 9, 2017
 Currently a member of the Transition Team, high profile project team to provide accurate reviews on national and small market accounts to improve MetLife Disability financial statements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, heavy workload
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJanuary 8, 2017
MetLife is a great company from many aspects. They offer a very competitive starting salary, the atmosphere is very relaxed. The company is flexible and offers options to work at home occasionally.
Pros
Great pay, flexible and relaxed atmosphere, casual dresscode
Cons
Heavy workload, not much room for advancement, frustrating communication channel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits; great co-workers
Appeals Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mount Prospect, ILJanuary 8, 2017
I worked there over 10 years and learned many things. I worked in claims and appeals; I found it very interesting/educational. I enjoyed going to work every day.
Pros
Benefits, flexiable hours
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Lead Business Intelligence Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIJanuary 8, 2017
to work or at least it used to be. They have underwent many org changes and with that the atmosphere has changed drastically. Senior Leadership is aggressive and continues to make bad decisions hindering performance and growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
TAM Coordinator Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, CTJanuary 5, 2017
I would not recommend this position at the Bloomfield location to anyone.

I worked in an inbound call center environment. While I greatly enjoyed what I was doing I did not care for the unsupportive and at times verbally abusive managers or customer service supervisors.
I heard this across the board from different teams, different departments.

Also the training was greatly lacking. No paitience, dismissive if you asked questions or needed to go over something again.

The one really good thing was that people would say hi to you or make small talk even if you didn't know one another.

I expected so much more professionalism from a company that has such a good reputation as MetLife does.
Pros
Pays more than most for a call center position, friendly employees
Cons
Poor management, Lack of good training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned
WebSphere Administrator (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 4, 2017
Metlife is my second job and this were i actually had a chance to learn the actual work culture.I also enhanced my soft skills here apart from gaining experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MetLife. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,160 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7