Find companies:
Metlife
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
768 reviews

Metlife Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible training and worst job I have ever had
Csr II (Former Employee), Minis burg ohioSeptember 10, 2014
When I was hired it was suppose to be A 3 month training course. They threw us I the phone in the first week. They used us to answer the phones just to transfer customers to another department. This made for angry customers because they were on hold for so long just to have us pick up the phone to find out who they wanted to talk to just to put them – more... on hold again. I have worked for many call centers I tried so hard to get in MetLife just to see what a terrible company they were to work for. The math is ridiculous! Most people didn't get it as well as the customers. They put you on the floor and do a review in a few weeks. They told me I was at a 74% and needed more help. They had a helpers sit with me for 6 hrs where all she did was text on her phone and gave me wrong information where someone had to step in and tell her she was wrong. A few weeks later they did another review and I was at 87% and I was fired for not being at 90%. They packed my things including my glasses with a bunch of junk (tools, someone phone case, lint, tacs, ect) that wasn't mine and just threw them in a box and mailed them to me ( even included some nasty cigar in it that wasn't mine). Very unprofessional! There was a class before mine and after mine which should have told me they go through people fast. My class had 25 and not 10 were left when I was let go. Gee and now they are hiring again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment
Sr. Manager (Current Employee), Somerset, NJSeptember 9, 2014
Excellent company to work for. Good work/life balance. Management is understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great building
Internal Sales Associate-Annuities (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 8, 2014
great atmosphere and culture... no room for real advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Advisor
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: local
Cons: pay structure seems to change every couple of years
The local agency is a descent place, with good support staff especially from advanced markets and investment specialist. New business processing is lacking talent. From a compensation standpoint one would definately take home more from individual production with an independent b/d. Since this is a large corporation compliance is heavily monitoring every – more... email transaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working on the computer.
customer service (Former Employee), Freeport, ILSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: enjoying talking to my co-workers
Cons: all the meetings.
learned sr22 and sr44 cards, reports and risk letters and the hardest part is not finding insured and mtg addresses to update the records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced, but a great company to work for
Customer Service/Resource/Elevated Representative (Current Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 6, 2014
I have been with the co for several years and I learn something new everyday. A typical day at work consists of taking incoming calls from policyholders and providing information or making changes to their existing property and casualy policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally open.
Solutions Delivery: Relationship Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 5, 2014
Good organization, allows for matrix leadership and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and practices open door policy
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: sometimes you were spread too thin with work load
I started in the call center and in my 20 years of service with MetLife Auto and Home I was able to advance and learn different processes that kept me challenged and allowed me to be a more valued employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with growth opportunity
Annuity New Business II (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits
Cons: retirement match
• Communicate with both technical and non-technical users from all levels of the organization.
• Process new business applications for all lines of business, AOC transactions, and 10-day free looks.
• Provides new business management reports and identifies trends and issues.
• Tracks new business orders and follow up on all requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large company
Underwriter/Loan Specialist III (Retail) (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZSeptember 3, 2014
Very large company.
got to learn about the peanuts characters and how they value the brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Technology Liaison (Current Employee), Oriskany, NYSeptember 3, 2014
I have enjoyed growing with this company and watching it evolve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
VENDOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS CONSULTANT (Former Employee), bridgewaterSeptember 3, 2014
great oppurtnity for the right person! I would recommend this company to anyone looking to work in corportate america.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work / Life Balance
Senior Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Freeport, ILSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: some flexibility for work hours
Metlife is a wonderful company to work for. The compensation & benefits are very good. Opportunity for advancement is available. Co-workers & peers are great to work with; very helpful, kind and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
metlife
Customer Service Representative I (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 31, 2014
Pros: try to get hired thru the company
great company to work for with great benefits but only if your a permanent worker no off days when your under contract some wiggle room it depends on your supervisor learned a lot about insurance and how policies work co worker were great to work with hardest part was working for a company for 2 years with no benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Associate Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Bridgewater, NJAugust 31, 2014
Ongoing reorganization. Controllers moved to Tampa. Still good company and great resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal work satsifaction
New Business Specialist -1035 Exchange Analyst III (Current Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 29, 2014
Pros: job security & professional development
Cons: difficult to advance
Great company to work for but has been kind of difficult to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atmosphere
Customer Service, Data Entry, Clerical (Former Employee), Johnstown, PAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: performance recognition- family atmosphere
Awesome place to work. Management always encouraged us to further our education and skills. Job training is very detailed. We were always recognized for our achievements and compensated. I was on the Engagement committee where we had at least 2 activities per month. This really helped boost morale and made it a fun place to work. We were like family, – more... always celebrating the good and comforting each other during the bad times. The only reason I am no longer employed there is I married and relocated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding and challenging work environment
Pension Benefit Consultant (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAAugust 21, 2014
MetLife is a great company to work for. It is a huge global company that believes in offering their employees a balanced work life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of my role at MetLife
Financial Consultant (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits
During both the month-end and quarterly close management reports for Universal Life and Variable Life products for two insurance companies were prepared which I am responsible for. Variance analysis is done (actual month to prior month, actual month to prior year's month and the a year over year) for each line on the financial statement. I was always – more... in Corporate Accounting and worked never in the Operational arena. This was a new arena for me to learn and management is very supportive of me in learning the products and process. My co-workers are very supportive of one another. This department moved from New Jersey to Charlotte, so most of my co-workers are new hires, like me. We are very supportive of one another. The hardest part of my job is analytics. I don't feel that I was properly trained in this area. The most enjoyable part of my job is working on monthly/quarterly spreadsheets that supported some of the numbers in the financial statements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been here a long time
Short Term Disability Case Manager (Current Employee), Bloomfield, CTAugust 19, 2014
Great company, hopefully you have a good manager that is willing to work with you and to help you excel.

1 2 3 4 5

About Metlife

The breadth of careers at MetLife offers unlimited possibilities for your professional life. More than life insurance. Much more. – Read more