Find companies:
Metlife
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
804 reviews

Metlife Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice dBase software.
EA / Personal Marketing Assistant (Former Employee), Exeter, NHJuly 30, 2014
Pros: access to software and opportunity to learn insurance business.
Cons: wasn't much of a paycheck left after benefit deductions.
Worked for three great sales representatives in the wealth management division but were hired by them directly and not MetLife specifically (outsourced), therefore, my benefit cost were very high and what I got paid came out of the salesperson's own pocket. Love working with the software, great support network. Enjoyed learning the life and annuity – more... part of the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co-workers were very helpful!
Senior Annuity Service Rep (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: good work/life balance.
Cons: very tedious work.
Great hours with weekends off, however, very little opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Internal Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great enviroment, great management
Cons: my position doesnt have compensation
I enjoy working for MetLife and the people I work with. I work 930-630 daily, and spend my day assisting financial advisors all over the country desgin life and disability insurance policies for their clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 28, 2014
Provides advanced administrative assistance to staff in a business unit or office.

Maintains data in unit's database.

Researches and compiles data from various sources.

Selects appropriate data for inclusion in reports.

Reconciles new data to existing records; conducts analyses, resolves differences, and brings inconsistencies and problems to the – more... attention of senior personnel.

Produces and distributes routine reports according to a prescribed schedule.

Generates own correspondence and composes descriptions of results.

)May assist in the production of reports, presentations, proposals, etc.

May respond to customers' basic inquiries.
Perform ancillary support functions such as scheduling meetings, maintaining files, and coordinating travel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical claims environment
Senior claims adjuster, automobile injury claims (Current Employee), floridaJuly 27, 2014
high volume, friendly management and co-workers, established company, good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fantastic company to work for
Regional Analyst - RM6 Greater New York Region (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: too many to list
So far this has been the best job I've had thus far, people, management, compensation benefits and treated everyone as one of their own family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metlife is very fair and opportunities are great.
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee), VAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: self management
I totally enjoyed doing the job I was doing for Metlife and enjoyed working with all associates involved. Being newly retired military I was uncertain of my financial needs requirement and became leery of the straight commission status. I was offered a position with Q.E.D. and accepted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for
Was not a Sales Agent/Broker (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: enjoyed my work
Cons: n/a
Collected over million dollars in lost revenue for a client within their group Retirement Pension Benefit Plan. Manage all office communication processes. Develop Training Manuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't turn your back
Director- (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTJuly 23, 2014
You'll end up with a knife in it layed off. Zero loyalty to their employees here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Annuities Specialist (Current Employee), West Warwick, RIJuly 13, 2014
Pros: benefits are great.
Cons: pay is unsatisfactory compared to the job you are expected to do.
This is a very demanding place to work which allows for an environment of stressed out, unhappy people which is very bad work culture. Positions are not commensurate with salaries and instead you are rewarded with endless branding items which ultimately do not pay your bills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Auto and Home Licensed Sales Agent (Current Employee), Miamisburg, OHJuly 10, 2014
MetLife is a great and competitive company to work and grow for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Environment - High Pressure - High Turnover
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Springboro, OhJuly 7, 2014
Pros: you can do well and be rewarded
Cons: low management support and consideration for family schedules
The call center environment was high pressure, little training, lack of support and you must be on time, more then 4 minutes late counts as an absence, causing overall high turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build through Divestiture
Senior Program Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits and flexibility
Cons: divestiture o0f the division
Challenging and enjoyable to build an organization and be part of strategic intiitaives that make a difference to the culture and growth of the organization. Coworkers and management team was amazing to work with. Most difficult part of the job was taking apart all that I helped to build.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 6, 2014
I was only a temp worker but the employees & management were fair & friendly. I loved working there & was disappointed the assignment ended due to dept. being outsourced to another country
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero worklife balance no respect for employees
employee (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 5, 2014
Cons: the whole place
At MetLife Tampa the bulk of the work is done by a small handful of people while the majority of employees if they do show up spend most of their time goofing off. Those that do work are expected to work ridiculous hours while the others come and go as they please.

The systems are incredibly outdated and are always causing problems. Management has – more... no respect for the people below them.

Most promotions are based on who or what the person is regardless if they can do the job assigned to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the only thing good was the people i worked with
Customer Service Rep II (Former Employee), dayton, ohioJuly 3, 2014
I don't have anything good to say about metlife so I will keep it to myself...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
QA Automation Engineer (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 28, 2014
I really enjoy working here. I really like the management and my co-workers are very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MetLife is a good company to work.
Information System Consultant (Current Employee), NJJune 26, 2014
Business staff is good. they give chance to learn and grow. I have learned structured products extensively here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Java Developer (Former Employee), New yorkJune 25, 2014
It is really a place where i learnt many things and the management was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workers
Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 24, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: work might notbe that exciting
Good working environment and my boss was great.
I learned how to use lotus notes and working in a professional environment. My co-workers were good to be around.

About Metlife

The breadth of careers at MetLife offers unlimited possibilities for your professional life. More than life insurance. Much more. – Read more