Find companies:
Metabolic Research Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Metabolic Research Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weight Loss Specialist
Weight Loss Specialist (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXJuly 23, 2014
-Sales support for weight loss clients
-Proven track record in sales and client care
- Management pushed us learn how to close sales and connect with clients on a deeper level.
- Co-workers all had to work very well together and back up each other up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding to help others reach their personal goals.
Satellite Manager (Current Employee), Alexandria, LAJune 17, 2014
Pros: very rewarding to help others reach their personal goals.
Cons: long hours, no benefits, no support
Very rewarding to help others reach their personal goals.

Very rewarding to help others reach their personal goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
consultant (Current Employee), TexasJanuary 30, 2014
Great team approach working to help individuals change their life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to get stuck at
WEIGHT LOSS CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAJanuary 23, 2014
Management was terrible. in the 2years 9months I was there, I had 7 different managers. We never got 40hrs a week until we didn't have a manager or someone was out. There were no benefits, no way to move up in this company. it was really a mindless job. A trained monkey could do it! But the program does work if you follow it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programs are Wonderful
Weight Loss Consultant (Former Employee), Palm Coast, FLDecember 11, 2013
Pros: discounts on products.
Cons: compensation
Very busy with assisting clients on their weight loss journey. I was able to obtain knowledge about numerous vitamins and supplements as well as long term health management. The most difficult part was dealing with many changes of management and co-workers. The most pleasant part was working with the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Weight-loss Company
Weight-loss Consultant (Current Employee), Lubbock, TexasDecember 10, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: schedualed every weekend
Metabolic provides a program that works great and a program I truly believe in. I have expanded my dietary knowledge which has coincide with my experience in physical training and my degree in Sports Science. I have some of the best co-workers I could ask for. They are truly encouraging and motivating people to be around each day. Management was fairly – more... good but lacked consistency. The most enjoyable part of my day is to get to sit down and help these people that have struggled with weight most or all of their life and providing the answer they desperately needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy and challenging work
Weight Loss Consultant/Manager (Current Employee), Ocala, FLOctober 6, 2013
Pros: customer relationship building, critical thinking, problem solving, flexible hours (as part-time)
Cons: healthcare, inconsistent management, distance to travel
Consult with and assess new clients to determine the appropriate weight loss program for optimal success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales / Customer Service, Nutrition Consultant
Weight Loss Consultant (Former Employee), Tyler, TXOctober 2, 2013
Pros: commission and bonuses
Cons: lack of communication from corporate
Open up center, make care calls to clients not scheduled to come in. Greet clients and uplift them and support them through journey of their weight loss. Sale and encourage to purchase products to do achieve.
Management of Office which achieved their sales goals and beyond every month in 2013. The hardest part were the clients that would not work the – more... program. The best part of the job were the clients that smiled and came in and were excited to see you. I loved the people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for... Don't bother
Former employee (Former Employee), UnknownSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Horrible company to work for. Company that offers weight loss and advises you not to work out. That's how they get their business because once you lose the weight an get
Off their program, your weight comes back because no exercise. Their protein drinks that are a must to buy does NOT preserve lean tissue mass. in fact it does nothing at all except – more... make them money. With the mound of paperwork to sign when hired, among them one states that employees MUST not give owners name. It's because Jan C. Has worked for other weight loss companies and has a legal issue going on with them. Not worth the time or headache so keep moving because if you are not fake and anorexic they will not keep you on. This is an unfair, discriminating company that talks bad about their employees and their clients. All they want and care about is your money in their pocket. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help other people on their weight loss journey
Consultant (Former Employee), Cary, North CarolinaAugust 19, 2013
Pros: suupportive team
Cons: lacked enough hours for full time work
Upbeat and pleasant
Support clients and team work ethics
Supportive management
Keeping the clinic busy full time
Helping others achieve their personal goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful high pressure sales.
Consultant (Former Employee), MelbourneJuly 8, 2013
Pros: job was physically easy.
Cons: very stressful
Consulting with clients, always selling more program time,more herbs and vitamins,more required drinks. Down time is spent on the phone trying to get old clients to come back. I learned that I don't like high pressure sales. The people I worked with were nice but under pressure to make sales quotas making them self absorbed when their numbers were down. – more... The hardest part of this job is the fear of losing it due to numbers. I enjoyed being part of clients weight loss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing Interviewing Process
Job Candidate (Former Employee), Colorado Springs/Castle RockApril 5, 2013
For anybody who's possibly looking to work for the Metabolic Research Center, I'd just like to relay my disappointing experience. They brought me back for THREE interviews for a counsellor position. Each interview went just fine, although I had a hard time getting concrete information from them. They refused to give me an hourly rate of pay or allow – more... me to take home their diet plans so I could study them and decide if I could whole-heartedly get on board and become an ambassador for their products and services. I then started looking for anything I could find on the internet and I got some pretty unsavoury answers there. What I determined is that the hourly pay rate is so low, $10 per hour, that consultants are forced to sell very high-priced, commissionable supplements in order to make a living. As a result, the poor clients often experience high pressure from the consultant to buy, buy, buy these products which they could easily purchase at much lower prices elsewhere. This made me feel very uneasy. Meanwhile, I was told by my interviewers that a decision would be made on the hire within one week. Sadly, I never heard from them again. After taking so much of my time, over THREE interviews, they didn't even have the professional courtesy to email me and advise me of their decision NOT to hire me. I came away from the experience not feeling very respected and without a good feeling about the Metabolic Research Center's true care for the needs of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair job and room for growth and development
Senior Weight Loss Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAApril 4, 2013
Pros: freedom to be creative
Cons: write ups for not meeting quota
Team work is a must. Growth in the company is expected of you both personally and professionally. Management was not consistent and that was one of the only downfalls. I learned a lot about myself during the year I was employed at MRC. Most importantly, I strengthened my communications skills working in a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging and motivational
Weight Loss Consultant (Former Employee), Southlake, TXFebruary 24, 2013
Working here has taught my a lot about myself while helping other people lose weight and grow their self-confidence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE
Manager & HR specialist (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXJanuary 29, 2013
This company is a great company. I loved my time there. I wish I could have stayed with the company but I unfortunately moved somewhere where they are not located.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Controlling, Restrictive "Employment Agreement"
Weight Loss Consultant (Former Employee), INDecember 27, 2012
To work here, employees are required to sign a lengthy stack of papers/agreement. It will require increasing your auto insurance- if not up to par and showing the company proof each time the auto insurance is renewed. Should the position not work out, you are required to sign that you will not accept unemployment paid by the center. There is also a – more... form that states if you are asked who owns the company, you can only say 3 words, "There are officers." This statement alone is a huge red flag. Employees are routinely checked for their BMI (Body Mass Index) and if it is a few points off, the employee is to do the company's weight loss program and is "encouraged" to take their supplements. The employee is to pay half for the costly supplements. Employees are also told what they can and cannot say on social networking sites. Also, if it is determined the employee leaves and "shares" their weight loss "secrets" the employee signs that he or she will pay a substantial amount of money (if I remember correctly, I believe it was over $100,000). All for a beginning wage of $9.00 an hour- part-time. If an employee refuses to sign and give the employer this power- over their bodies, supplements, and future, the employee is not hired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client success is rewarding upper management is horrible
Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 13, 2012
Pros: helping people achieve their goals
Cons: long hours, no benefits, small amount of pto, upper management
My experience was positive and negative. If you love people and truly want to help them achieve their goal you will love the job. It is commissioned based so you do have to fend for yourself. There is long hours involved and Metabolic has the worst benefits package. Really expensive insurance, pathetic paid time off, and no retirement. Upper management – more... does lie, and demand a lot from their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with commitment to improving people's lives
Center Manager (Former Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 22, 2012
Pros: professional, yet fun company with great leadership
Cons: no insurance
This company really cares about it's clients and it's employees. There is extensive and continued training. There is a great opportunity to grow as a leader, but also as a person, making positive changes towards your goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review of Metabolic Research Center in Melbourne, FL
Consultant/Sales (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: amazing clients, decent pay
Cons: management, employees, work environment.
Overall, it is a horrible place to work. They hold your weight over your head and weigh you in once a week after you've been there 6 months. Co workers are vultures that are sneaky and try to take your clients from you, and it is viewed as alright from management as long as it's specific employees. Management is caddy and unprofessional, talking about – more... certain employees personal information to clients and other employees. The most enjoyable part of this job are the clients, they are wonderful and caring people that just need to feel as though someone is listening, if they knew that the employees and management at MRC were talking about them behind their backs and speaking of their personal lives to others, I highly doubt they would continue to spend their money there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job helping people change their lives
Manager (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: rewarding
Cons: no benefits and long hours
We work hard to help people learn how to change their eating habits and maintain a healthy lifestyle.