Metaldyne Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paul
Physical Laborer (Former Employee) –  Litchfield, MIJune 17, 2017
Be open to working lot of over time and to fix all your Machines when they go down they do not like to pay to fix the problem most the people there are kind supervisor is nice on 3ed
Pros
None
Cons
Don't fix things and some maintenance make you feel dumb
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast-paced environment
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Bluffton, INJune 16, 2017
Good pay good benefits management and supervisors don't care about the employees busy times are long hours and slow times they try to lay off or fire people lack of time training on equipmentt no effort put back into the machine or the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamburg, MIJune 5, 2017
It was my first job. Learning to work on a assembly line. Driving a forklift. Also learn about quality control, and QS9000. Learning my attendance was a great priority.
Pros
People
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was very poor
CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  North Vernon, INMay 9, 2017
I didn't feel like part of a team. The hardest part of the job was being around negative people, while the most enjoyable part of the job was when it was almost time to go home.
Pros
great pay
Cons
no management to stick up for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company has relocated back to Michigan and left the area
Tooling Analyst (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCMay 4, 2017
I was in charge of tooling for machines that cut auto parts, which included repairs, new orders, delivery to engineers of parts. It was a good company to work for. I enjoyed the fast paced production setting. The company relocated back to Michigan.
Pros
supplying exceptional tooling, close work with engineers
Cons
loud industrial setting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A long time ago
Senior Network Specialist (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIApril 10, 2017
Started at the peak of a company only a few years old, but which had bought several mature quality companies. CIO was wonderful guy, but he was put out in a cost-cutting push right before the recession. Infrastructure was then outsourced to Perot Systems, but the helpdesk, engineering systems, and applications support teams were not. This accentuated political issues which already existed.

Things may be different as they are now MPG.
Pros
Beautiful office
Cons
Lots of politics. Outsourced IT infrastructure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot and dirty
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  North Vernon, INApril 4, 2017
expected to work 7 days a week. not allowed to have time off. is only for a person with no life no children. they even have to work on Easter a givin family day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with friends and family
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Castle, INApril 2, 2017
I love working at Metaldyne made good money and the benefits was great but they moved to Canada and now have to start over. I like starting at the bottom and working my way up and showing them what I can do so I can provide for my family and make a great life for my son and i.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work automotive based production
Set Up Operator - CNC Tube (Former Employee) –  Fremont, INMarch 15, 2017
120 day probation period but worth the time after it is complete
company was just bought out by American Axle, MPG is now on the stock market . Seems to continue to increase in Value
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No leadership
Quality Assurance Associate (Former Employee) –  Bluffton, INMarch 6, 2017
This used to be a good place to work, now there is no leadership and a total disregard for employees. The culture of the plant has gone down hill in the past 6 months and with the lingering merger looming, all morale in the building has disappeared.
Pros
good people on the floor
Cons
horrible management and no leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Metaldyne?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Setter
Job Setter, Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  New Castle, INJanuary 23, 2017
Well I would get there a half hour early to get the machines running and make sure all the tools was changed from the last shift and make sure that the parts were in gauge and if not I would change the tools and get them set and I would gage the parts to make sure everything was ready to go when the guys came in to run the machines and than I would retool the old tools and get those set just in case one of the machines broke the tools and than we would go home at 2:30p.m. unless they asked us to stay over and than we would
Pros
Great people to work with that could run the machines and know what to look for so great team effort
Cons
The place closed after five years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Product Development Engineer- Engine NVH (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MINovember 23, 2016
Good work environment and supportive Management. Company was a good workplace for convenience and location to big three automotive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 9, 2016
Productive environment, fast pace. Have to be able to work independently, and also able to work in groups. Management is great, and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my career. I did not enjoy upper management.
HANDPACKER/CNC OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Saint Marys, PAOctober 1, 2016
I ran anywhere from 1 to 5 lathes on a daily basis.
I did quality checks, used a micrometer to size parts, and changed tools.
I learned how to do all of the above as well as use a comparator as well completing basic operator maintenance on my machines.
We had setups which tore down and rebuild as well as reprogram all of our lathes.
The management was less than poor.
The hardest part of my job was running all 5 lathes at one time and also running the "piston" department of the plant. No one ever liked to run this area.
I always enjoyed most of my co-workers, new learning experiences, and also running the "2pc." area of the plant... it was my favorite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bluffton, INAugust 1, 2016
If your willing to learn, they're willing to train. Friendly work atmosphere, great benefits. Safety is a big concern.
Pros
company picnics
Cons
dirty work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay with little work
Compacting Specialist (Current Employee) –  North Vernon, INMay 31, 2016
Hot in the summer and cold in the winter. Long days with higher ups being rude to you. Co-workers not wanting to help with training
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage was like family
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIMay 10, 2016
Metaldyne was a great company to work for!


Management supported the employees when they had family issues

Stress free

Very diverse
Pros
Family orientated
Cons
Lay-off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very safe workplace
Hand Packer (Former Employee) –  St. Mary's City, MDFebruary 21, 2016
Co-workers were very nice. Not much to really learn. Ha. management, you could never find them when you needed to speak with them. A typical day is sitting at a table inspecting and packing parts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agreat place to grow and get better
Materials Manager (Current Employee) –  Litchfield, MIJanuary 24, 2016
Metaldyne is a fast paced environment that requires more than a 9-5 work day to succeed. If you want to improve your skills of working in a fast paced environment, this is a good place to do that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work not many perks.
technical (Current Employee) –  North Vernon, INNovember 3, 2015
There is a lot of personal demand with poor compensation. There is not any opportunity for advancement. The business does not foster the development of its employees.
Pros
Some what convient locatoin.
Cons
Hi job demand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metaldyne. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 69 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

76%
21 ratings
Add your rating